Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop now Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2012
The recipes are pretty technical and take some time, but that's what you'd expect from recipes written by a Michelin starred chef! We have cooked recipes from this book for special occasions and have been very pleased with the result! The recipes are divided between seasons which is a clever way of doing things as you make sure that all the ingredients will be available. The book itself is also very nice with lots of history from the restaurant and cooking tips! I would definitely recommend this book!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
Having aquired this book over 9 years ago it still stands the test of time..
And there are recipes that have been "tweaked" that are over 40 years old amazing!
Here are some reasons why..
The creation of Albert and Michel Roux, Le Gavroche opened in 1967. At the time, it was the only restaurant of its kind in London, serving classical French food with the highest standards of cooking and service. As the River Cafe has set the standard by which Italian cooking is appreciated in Britain, so Le Gavroche represents the finest classical French cooking. Now run by Michel Roux Jr., it retains its two Michelin stars, and continues those high standards for which it has always been famous. Michel Roux Jr's style is 'modern French' - classical French cooking with a lighter and less rich approach, and subtly influenced by Mediterranean and Asian flavours and ingredients. This book is a slice of culinary history - a selection of the best of Le Gavroche's cooking over the last thirty years with 200 seasonal recipes carefully chosen for cooking at home.
It will be very accessible for a decent standard home cook and the end results is just to die for..
Enjoy
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
As a recipie book, it is accessible to the experienced home cook, rather than those starting out. However, it is equally an historical document, providing an insight into the blueprints of one of the greatest ever restaraunts.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2010
I bought this for my friend who is a great cook and loves experimenting - she was thrilled with this book and would recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2001
There are cookbooks by celebrity chefs, and then there are lessons in culinary pleasures by professional chefs who enjoy well-deserved notoriety. Le Gavroche Cookbook is definitely about pleasure! Whether simple or extravagant.
Chef Michel Roux Jr. continues the Roux legacy of culinary guidance to readers worldwide, with the long anticipated release of his first book. His restaurant and its renowned staff have, this spring earned two of the top awards for London Restaurants.
Dispelling the mysteries of Michelin Star cooking, he stresses the need for advanced planning as the key to any success in the kitchen or dining room. The recipes are neither long nor pedantic. They are in an easy to read format, and select dishes include wine recommendations and exquisite color photos that illustrate his eye for details of color, texture, form and balance of flavor. From restaurant style plating, to 'in the pot' shots, they provide the reader with an image of the finished dish. These are not trendy, experimental recipes. Chef Michel's straightforward approach demonstrates his personal and professional passion for food of all types and for all 4 seasons. Beginning with a short history of Le Gavroche, planning and prep for a dinner party, and a chapter on wine selection-- He moves to the 'jewels' of the evening-- Canapes and Petits Fours. There are no instructions on how to mince a shallot, for example, because he goes straight to the 'meat' of the matter-- Straight to the recipes. He does include tips on acheiving results for garnishes and other timesaving methods. But if you possess a modicum of culinary knowledge and a few extra quid, you'll be creating these works of genius in no time flat! His unadulterated philosophy is as fresh and wholesome as the ingredients he encourages readers to take pleasure in selecting-- Not whacking gobs of ultra expensive ingredients, just enough to elevate the base ingredients to the next level of excellence-- Because THAT is where it all begins! A simply decadent spring dish of 'Brie Stuffed with Truffles', accompanied by a lightly dressed salad of Mache and toasted slices of Pain de Campagne... To a Pacific Rim influenced 'Seared Peppered Tuna with Caviar Vinaigrette', garnished with potato galettes, dried tomato and fresh lightly dressed spinach leaves, becomes a plate of symmetrical perfection and an explosion of color. Recipes include meats, game, poultry (preferably free range and organic),fish, shellfish, sides, salads, soups, terrines, stocks, pastries and sauces-- sweet and savory and more-- To stunning desserts for every taste and menu. He covers all methods and techniques of cooking, with an eye for lighter fare, peppered with hearty cold weather dishes meant to warm and satisfy. Le Gavroche Cookbook is a glimpse into the creative mind of one of London's finest chefs, who puts a radiant smile into everything he undertakes, as we all should! So pour yourself a flute of your favorite champagne, and delve into the world of Le Gavroche. Celebrate Nature's bounty! For those occasions when you want to feel really accomplished... Roux Jr. is your perfect guide!
11 comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Excellent cook book with a brilliant listing of classic recipes.

Michel Roux Jr's book does assume that you know understand the basics of preparing meat / fish, but most of the relevant information can be found on the internet.

The directions are basic, but the results are very enjoyable!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Thanks for giving me the opportunity to give some positive feedback on this brilliant book. With so many cookbooks out there that are full of recipes that oddly don't seem to work when you try them, it therefore make's a mockery of all those so called celebrity chef's and there reputation. Ive tried a few of the recipes in this book and they work. Infact they are sublime and I happen to know a former chef of the year and a current holder of 3 AA Rosette's, that has this book in his kitchen and refer's to it on a daily basis. Fantastic book and a must buy for any aspiring chef.Le Gavroche Cookbook
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
I knew the book would be just as imagined with Michel Roux's wonderful cooking illustrated for me to try to emulate! A relative recently had a memorable meal at Le Gavroche and commented - "It doesn't get better than that." I am certainly enjoying trying to re-create the recipes in my own kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
The book was used but actually looks new, so it deserved my highest rating.
The book is elegant, compact and solid, particularly indicated as a niche gift.
It is excellent for those who like haute-cuisine, recipes are well described and pictures introduce you to a different level of cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
I was pleased to un-wrap this book for my birthday. I genuinely feel an improvement in my cooking skills as a result of using the recipes contained in this cookbook. I recommend this to anyone that wants to take their cooking to a level above the standard celebrity style modern cookery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.