Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cdr Ward
I served at RNAS Yeovilton where Cdr Ward was based with 801sqn. He had assumed almost legendary status even prior to the publication of this book. It was very apparent that if you wished to learn about the role of the SHAR his was the voice to listen to. This book is the voice of reason in an otherwise politically correct world. As a fighter pilot you HAVE to tell it as...
Published on 28 Feb 2006

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the updated edition
Interesting book but really needs to be read with an open mind - most people at the top of their game are idiots in most other respects, and Ward comes across no differently here. If you can get past that, then its a riveting read. In the same regard, I'd say Sandy Woodward's One Hundred Days: The Memoirs of the Falklands Battle Group Commander is required reading to...
Published on 7 May 2011 by Rory Mcgregor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cdr Ward, 28 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I served at RNAS Yeovilton where Cdr Ward was based with 801sqn. He had assumed almost legendary status even prior to the publication of this book. It was very apparent that if you wished to learn about the role of the SHAR his was the voice to listen to. This book is the voice of reason in an otherwise politically correct world. As a fighter pilot you HAVE to tell it as it is. This book does just that warts and all. A must read for any student of the Falklands war or modern air warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in air combat or the Falklands, 24 Feb 2007
By 
Fritz (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I read this book years ago and I dont agree with some other reviews slating Sharkey Ward for being arrogant and spoiling the book. This book is about the Sea Harrier, its operations in the Falklands war and the views of the man known as "Mr Sea Harrier". What you get is interesting insight into the development of this marvellous aircraft, the preparations undergone by pilots sailing to the Falklands, air operations during the war and the immediate aftermath. This a warts and all kind of a book. The behaviour of some parties was not up to scratch and the author makes no bones about it but does support opinions with facts. Was it right to think of court martialling a pilot for being shot down by a SAM? Was it right to have the air patrols at 10-15,000ft when attack aircraft were coming in on the deck? Was the RAF determined not to be "left out"? Sharkey gives his views on these. This book is great - you feel your are sat with this great fighter pilot listening to him talk. It is clearly his view on that aircraft in that war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant story of a true fighter pilot's war, 15 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I couldn't put this down! It is a great read. Sharkey puts his spirit and his passion into this book, as he must have done into his flying and fighting.
He delivers some great knocking copy against the RAF, so I bought Vulcan 607 too in the interests of balance. Sharkey goes to some length to knock the RAF's efforts in the Falklands - the Vulcan raids used up so much fuel to very little effect, but he does miss the point that the RAF's mission was as political and strategic as well as military. Also, he appears to have felt that the Royal Navy, the FAA, and the Sea Harrier didn't get enough respect before during and after the war. I hope that isn't true. From what I recall, the Navy played the major role, the Harrier was highly vaunted and the sailors and airmen regarded as heroes, and rightly so.

This book isn't pure history, but an excellent memoir from a true fighter pilot hero. Nice one Sharkey, and thank you for all you have done for you Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the updated edition, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Interesting book but really needs to be read with an open mind - most people at the top of their game are idiots in most other respects, and Ward comes across no differently here. If you can get past that, then its a riveting read. In the same regard, I'd say Sandy Woodward's One Hundred Days: The Memoirs of the Falklands Battle Group Commander is required reading to balance out Ward's account.

I would urge anyone thinking of getting Sharkey's book however, to buy the updated edition with the revised foreword. Here he acknowledges his lack of knowledge of who the "Flag" actually was (and Woodward's own observations on this in the 2nd edition of his book are particularly interesting), and Ward apologises to Woodward for presuming to know how things were being run.

Overall though, a good first-hand account of wartime naval aviation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 14 Oct 2003
By 
C. Martin "Chazsays" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This book proves that individuals who know their arena beyond all question have the moral, mental and physical fibre to do their very best and fight all the way within their sphere of influence... even when faced with ill-understanding of their purpose. An easy to read and enlightening account of incredible men, their machines and their belief in right over wrong... 8000 miles from home. Most will be able to draw parallels with modern day corporate life from the book. Inspiring stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good dit, but remember it's just one man's story..., 13 Nov 2001
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, and I thought it made a lot of important points, particularly in relation to the RAF Vulcan missions, as referred to in another review here. However, Commander 'Sharkey' Ward repeatedly displays some of the arrogance for which Sea Harrier pilots are renowned, and seems insistent that his is the only valid point of view. As I said, a good read, but I would recommend a comparison with another contemporary account, for example "100 Days" by Admiral Sandy Woodward.
Incidentally, his son is now with the Royal Navy flying Sea Harriers - strange how things turn out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking account of one man's war, 13 May 2003
By 
Tim62 "history buff" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Of all the many accounts written by those who took part in the Falklands war, Commander Ward's book is one of the most heartfelt.
He writes as he flies -- passionately and with his heart on his sleeve. Unlike, say, Admiral Sandy Woodward's Hundred Days, which is much more measured in its tone, 'Sharkey' Ward lets you know exactly how it felt to be a frontline Sea Harrier pilot onboard the aircraft carrier, Invincible.
I knew nothing of modern naval aviation operations before I read this book, and as I did so became acutely aware that perhaps the 'Silent Service' had been too silent for its own good on this score.
If you want to know what it feels lke to fly over water at night, trying to navigate your way back to a tiny, darkened, flightdeck, in the middle of a windswept South Atlantic --- then this is it.
Mind you, besides fighting the Argentine pilots, Commander Ward's opponents also include; 'the Flag'- his shorthand for Admiral Woodward and his staff onboard the flagship, Hermes; and 'The Light Blue' - the Royal Air Force, whom Commander Ward basically accuses of high-jacking the PR aftermath of the Falklands Air Warto such an extent, that they almost wiped out public memeory of the Fleet Air Arm's pivotal role in the campaign, as well as laying-on some very high-profile but basically ineffective long-rang Vulcan bombing of Stanley airfield from Ascenscion Island - Ward argues Sea Harriers could have done the job more effectively and at much lower cost.
I did wonder on some of these issues, whether or not this was just one man's view. But even if they were, it's still worth reading.
Comparing all the different Falklands acounts, what becomes clear is that how much of a strain the war was. Satellite communications was, in effect, in its infancy as far as the fighting services were concerned, and none of the 'in-the-field' commanders seemed to have enough secure communications links to be able to talk easily, directly and effectively to their opposite numbers, say, on other ships, or among the land forces.
It's only my opinion, but had there been better battlefield communications, then a lot of the arguments and disagreements that did occur, might have been nipped in the bud.
I really thought this book was worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the facts - no holds barred!, 27 Dec 2002
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
People who tell it like it is without holding anything back or sugarcoating or covering up is definitely someone to be respected. Sharkey tells of his mistakes and his successes and how the "Flag" nearly paralyzed the air defence of the fleet due to ignorance and pride/arrogance.
A great, detailed read with plenty of background of Sharkey, the Squadron and the Sea Harrier.
Pick it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron McGuffie, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
One of the best narratives of a Fighter and its Pilot S. Ward. His dealings with Commanders and the great navigation set up in this revolutionary Aircraft, its success are great reading. His writing style is similar to Robin Olds if you like Robin you will enjoy Sharkey Ward. the style of war in the Falklands was the first time that dissimilar jet Fighters were in combat Mirage v Sea Harrier. His problems with higher ups similar in detail to Olds, and he did the same to get his quarry. a great leader of men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharky ward, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Alot of people are commenting on the arrogance of sharky ward which i agree with but people that are the best in their profession usually are. i found this a great read especially the lesser known parts of the harrier and its early days in operation, for instance its great performance against on paper at least far better fighters such as the F-15. Also i cannot believe more has not been said about the poor tactics employed by the carrier hermes in protecting the sheffield and others which were hit, sharky highlights the reason for the sheffield being left open to attack and i could not agree more. My only slight critisism is sharkys constant insulting of the RAF which although deserved sometimes is undeserved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea Harrier Over The Falklands: A Maverick at War (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews