Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blitz-read
This book was written in German and first published in 1937, but if you're expecting a turgid and dated account, think again! The writing is crisp and pacy, and soon sucks you in to the author's absolute passion for his subject.
This book describes the theory of "Blitzkrieg" as we now know it (although this word is a journalist's invention), and explains how the...
Published on 22 Dec 2002 by Mr. R. J. Jepps

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dated classic
Seeing the other reviews here I wonder if we read the same book, but mine was bought here and shares the same picture so I will confidently review it :)

First off this book is propaganda where Guderian promotes his ideas on the use of tanks. More than half the book is Guderian's rather liberal interpretations on tanks in World War 1 and to be frank these...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by Gisli Jokull Gislason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blitz-read, 22 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. R. J. Jepps "Richard Jepps" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This book was written in German and first published in 1937, but if you're expecting a turgid and dated account, think again! The writing is crisp and pacy, and soon sucks you in to the author's absolute passion for his subject.
This book describes the theory of "Blitzkrieg" as we now know it (although this word is a journalist's invention), and explains how the theory was developed. The tank engagements of the Great War are analysed in detail, and the contribution of other branches of the army, and to a lesser extent the air force, examined.
Guderian argues convincingly for the mechanization of infantry and artillery - in contrast to the narrow parochial arguments of the majority of his contemporaries, and considers supply, transport, paratroops (also untested in 1937), smoke and chemical weapons etc.
The most fascinating thing about this book is that although it reads like an incisive historical account, it was actually written BEFORE the start of the Second World War, when the arguments contained in the book were more or less pure theory.
There are perhaps a few places where Guderian exaggerates his case, but in the context of a still contraversial theory which had yet to be generally accepted, his sales pitch is remarkably restrained.
The maps tend to be sketch quality, however there are some nice black and white plates (about 40 photographs) mostly depicting early armour. These must have been added later as one of the photographs shows the 1940 paratroop drop on Rotterdam.
A thoroughly remarkable book that predicted the future with remarkable accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Achtung Panzer, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
A must read if you are planning a lightning invasion of Poland or France just don't deceive yourself it is going to work in Russia as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 21 Jun 2005
By 
Thomas Black (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This book is a great buy for anyone with even a passing interest in tank warfare. From those who do it for a hobby to the serious military historian, this book is recommended to anyone who either want to see why the German Panzers did so well in the 1939-1941 period, or wish to study how the tank became such a dominating force in land warfare for half a century, or simply want to read how the tank turned from a slow, unreliable, subbordinate arm of the army to the fast, decisive force it became. The editor's introduction is helpful in giving pointers for Guderian's main points, as well as clarifying for the confused reader what Guderian was saying. A must-buy for any budding military historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the collection, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Brought as a gift for son who is studying. This just adds to his vast collection.
Nicely packaged and fast service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A prophete, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Magnificient book in which Gen.Guderian draws the conclusions from the 1st world war and prophetise the way war would be done in the next decades.
His theories applied would win most of Germany's achievment in WWII.

A must read for anybody interested in military history, but probably too technical for general history readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Book, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
This is a great book . It is little wonder that France fell in a mere six weeks in 1940 given that the French High Command had the author of this book as its adversary ! This book is a classic of military history . Guderians thoughts as to how blitzkrieg would be carried out are fully developed and laid out in this illuminating textbook of how to conduct 'lightning war' - what a shame this book was little read outside of Germany during the 1930s . While Guderians observations on how a future war should be fought are the most important aspects of this book , an interesting aside is his analaysis of British tank deployment in the second half of World War One . This is a book every student of military history should read . Heinz Guderian is one of the most important figuares in military history : it is vital to read the thinking that earned him his place in that history .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 31 Aug 2009
By 
KJ Lyons (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Guderian puts across what at the time were revolutionary ideas in an easily read book, written in just a few weeks. This is an excellent insight into the thinking of probably the most influencial tatician of the 20th Century and accuratly predicts methods that became commonplace in conflicts from France in 1940 to the Iraqi desert in 1991 and 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Achtung, 23 Nov 2007
By 
Luis Miguel Vale (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Magnificent book, even if it's written before the war. It's amazing how someone ideas can be put to work so sucsefuly. One of the great generals of WWII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but boring at start, 29 May 2012
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Seeing the praise the other reviews gave 'Achting-Panzer!', I immediately jumped at the opportunity to purchase it. It seemed like a revered classic, the first true book about the basis of modern tank warfare, and the personal handbook of the infamous panzer commanders throughout the second world war. However, the book was not everything I expected.

For the first part, the first 160 pages of the book seemed like history, and were the vessel of the actual reason why Guderian wrote this book: to promote the tank to the higher command so that more would be ordered and the panzer arm of Germany would grow along with the other arms of the army. Thus, he commonly quotes times and battles in the first world war (E.g. Cambrai) in order to show the higher command that the tank was one of the factors that forced Germany into submission, and how only by learning from their defeats and using this new technology will Germany be able to conduct a viable land campaign.

It is really only on page 160 when he starts going into detail on how formations should be crafted, and also puts great stress on the necessity of how all arms of the military should co-operate with the tanks to achieve a total and complete victory. It is from here on that I started to be truly interested in the book and learned a great deal about the original tactics of tank warfare.

All in all, I would recommend this book to a wide range of audiences that are interested in history of WW1, the development of tanks and their tactics, or both which definatly gives this book a good rating. However, I believe that the actual interesting tactical information that I was actually after was crammed into less than 60 pages at the very end of the book. Although to some degree justifiable (as his whole theory of tactics were simply theoretical reasoning), this fact did disappoint me somewhat so I am only prepared to give it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dated classic, 9 Feb 2010
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Paperback)
Seeing the other reviews here I wonder if we read the same book, but mine was bought here and shares the same picture so I will confidently review it :)

First off this book is propaganda where Guderian promotes his ideas on the use of tanks. More than half the book is Guderian's rather liberal interpretations on tanks in World War 1 and to be frank these chapters have aged badly and are more arguments to support Guderian's ideas than a serious study in themselves. I almost gave up on the book during these chapters. The book changes during the last 40 or so pages and here we find the genesis of Blitzkrieg which would turn warfare on its head and give the Germans a head start in World War 2 with the quick and decisive victories of 1939-1940 (Note; this was not because Achtung Panzer was revolutionary but because of the study of future warfare but the German General Staff. Guderian is reflecting on their thinking and draws from their experiments and development. No doubt he did help promote these ideas as presented in the book but he is by no means a sole pioneer).

The book is greatly helped by chapter notes by Paul Harris who puts things into context and elaborates on Guderian's notes. Harris even goes so far as to clarify and correct mistakes or misconceptions and even if I am not knowledgable enough to judge the correctness of these comments they sound true.

Added to this Guderian was a genius of this new type of warfare and put into practice what he had written makes this book interesting. In fact at the end on page 212 Guderian's own words are "Actions speak louder than words. In the days to come the Goddess of Victory will bestow her laurels only on those who are prepared to act with daring."
This he indeed did with impressive success and the German Tank Warfare concept was far superior to that of any other nation.

I have a few problems with the book however. First off I did not find it any fun to read. A large part of the book is about the use of Tanks in World War 1 and is far from a serious study but Guderian looking for arguments to support his own cause and allows for very liberal interpretations of events. Secondly Guderian is presenting theory, not fact at the time and frankly the book is very dated. In fact I am wondering who this book is best suited too? A casual military historian will find his time better served reading memoirs and history books, a military professional will find his time better served reading modern theory and research and a fan og Guderian might want to read in for completion but would be better served by a biography about Guderian.

Cassel Military Paperbacks should be praised for offering an English translation of this book but having read it I don't forsee recommending it to anyone, and in the unlikely event that I would I think readers should go straight to "The Tactics if the Panzer Forces and their co-operation with the Other Arms" - p178 (out of 212 aside from index and notes). Military wargamers will find the book of little or no use.

That this book was of historical importance and Guderian was a great military general there is no doubt. But there is no real reason to read it word for word unless you are a serious scholar or a completist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Achtung Panzer!: The Development of Tank Warfare (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
9.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews