Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent language-lover's resource, 10 Jan 2001
By 
Mr. P. Lynch (Katoomba, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
Reaching back into English for some centuries and reaching through English as it's written & spoken today in many nations, this dictionary offers what seems a unique guide to the use of words and more particularly, phrases, that I can't find defined in any other work. Indispensable for those who really want to understand exactly what they're reading.
Nice touch: the editor's introduction comes complete with an e-mail address. Any reader who finds a usage that Jonathon Green doesn't know about, is free to send it in for future editions. But I personally find few usages that Jonathon Green doesn't know about.
Excellent work but, because of attention paid to "rude words", probably not a good gift for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent work of scholarship - and sodding funny!, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Laverne (Haywards Heath, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
This huge dictionary of slang is clearly a labour of love as well as a work of art. It is comprehensive too, covering filth and general swearing, but so much more too. It really is a good and hilarious read - you get led down all kinds of unexpected pathways. A deeply rewarding, educational book and just right for reading in bed (if rather heavy). Top book: well done that man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good source for everyday words, 7 Jan 2001
By 
Alexander Sebö "Alexander Sebö" (Regensburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
This is a good book to look up all those words by native speakers that you hear all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not conclusive, 4 Dec 2003
By 
Matt Probert (The Probert Encyclopaedia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
This is a very extensive dictionary of slang from the English speaking countries of the world. Unfortunately it lumps all West Indian countries into one, neglecting the variations in culture and language between them which are as varied as English local cultures and language (compare Dorset with Birmingham!). That said, it is a very good slang dictionary, though not exhaustive, if you're a serious researcher you will also require other specialised slang dictionaries. I say buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for reference, settling arguments or just plain fun, 18 July 2009
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
This is a huge tome - full of fascinating entomology of everyday sayings and slang terms. It's great to just dip into and for settling both arguments and your own curiosity. Some of the derrivations are fascinating - and it's amazing how many terms are traced back to the military. The Australian slang terms are particularly inventive and amusing.

If programmes like QI fascinate you, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic, 22 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
This is now the standard work on slang in the English language, and a dazzling scholarly achievement by our foremost lexicographer. It is astonishingly comprehensive, admirably clear and a pleasure just for reference or for browsing. A must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassell Dictionary Of Slang (Paperback)
If you have ever wanted to know where slang words of all shapes and sizes come from then this is the book for you. Very well researched and interesting to both researches and the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star turn, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A thing of wonderment (viz the seven meanings listed for breeze as a noun); worldwide in scope, it kicks Partridge, the previous opposition, but long a joke, into the long grass. Give the geezer (qv for some typical Partridgian whimsy) a knighthood! And no, you *don't* in my view need any bigger, better edition - there's always the internet for recent stuff (mazzy, anyone?); like Goldilocks' porridge bowl this is just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cassell Dictionary Of Slang
Cassell Dictionary Of Slang by Jonathon Green (Paperback - 13 April 2000)
£17.97
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews