Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent how-to book
I'd like all how-to books to be made this way. It just tells you everything you need to know in a clear manner, and moves you on the way of leatherworking through projects of increasing difficullty. If you wanna know about leathercrafting, you can't use your money better.
Published on 19 Oct. 1999 by stefano@sbcweb.com

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not quite what I was after
This book looks good if you are interested in making hard leather goods, brieficases, boxes etc. I was more interested in making soft leather goods such as handbags or purses that can be sewn on a durable sewing machine which isn't the focus of this book. All the projects look great and there are some great purses and book bags that I would like, but probably won't end...
Published on 15 Jun. 2011 by JB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent how-to book, 19 Oct. 1999
This review is from: The Leatherworking Handbook (Paperback)
I'd like all how-to books to be made this way. It just tells you everything you need to know in a clear manner, and moves you on the way of leatherworking through projects of increasing difficullty. If you wanna know about leathercrafting, you can't use your money better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leatherworkers Handbook, 4 Jun. 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Leatherworking Handbook (Paperback)
A breath of fresh air! It has been a long time since a book about Leathercraft held my interest like this one does. I have worked in this field for more than twenty years and books on the craft are fairly hit and miss with the subject.
Valeries book is well layed out and very informitive. Good descriptive text and pictures, make the projects therein, a breeze. Although it is a small selection of how to skills for the Leathercrafter, the selection is different and challenging. Highly recommended for schools etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the beginner, informative yet accessible., 1 Oct. 1999
By 
p.new (Swindon, Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Leatherworking Handbook (Paperback)
From fumbling blindly and trying to learn the basics of what seems to be a dying skill I was delighted to discover Valerie Michael's book. It is well written and illustrated clearly, the background information is useful without being baffling to the novice, and the projects are easy enough for developing essential skills but challenging enough to maintain interest. I feel I am no longer fumbling blindly, and know how to direct my practice of this enjoyable craft. Well done Valerie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 16 July 2003
By 
Marc Whiffen "Marc Whiffen" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leatherworking Handbook (Paperback)
It is often difficult when you approach a subject with little or no knowledge as to the best place to start. This was the same with me and leatherworking.
However, this book has proved to be invaluable to me. It is clear, concise and easy to follow, taking you from the basics to advanced with confidence. There are no corners cut and the manner is authoritative without being intimidating.
A thoroughly good manual and an essential for anyone taking up this fascinating craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read and learning, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
P. Gerstle "Locke22" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book for advanced beginners and those selecting their preferred craft methods. There was an insert for 2010 courses, which is great, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT - GREAT FIND, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended to me to buy when I took an interest in leatherworking, and it was out of stock at the time from a different seller and I was told to come to amazon for it and lo and behold amazon had it. So bought it quick smart and I must say that I love the content as it has clear directions on how to use leather and mould it into the shape that you want - which was what was crucial to my being able to work with leather. The explanation on the type of leather to use and which is the best and worse kind is also a bonus. Valerie wrote a great and valuable guide to this craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good - just what I was looking for - recommended, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book after previewing parts of it using Amazon's "Look online" feature. Glad I did, as it is very well laid out & illustrated, with good photos, in black & white and colour, and clear line drawings, but most importantly it contains a lot of the information I was looking for, as a novice.

For example: tables showing the normal thicknesses/weights of leather (UK & USA), their uses, the types of leather, what tanning is all about, the standard cuts of leather and their respective pros & cons, advice on how to buy leather, the tools (basic and more advanced - but not the head knife). Excellent, concise advice on sharpening tools (I have read many descriptions on sharpening but none better than this). It provides a lot more besides (see table of contents in on-line preview) - enough to keep me busy for quite some time.

If, like me, you want to hand-sew veg tan (saddle type) leather in the traditional (high-quality, high-strength) English style, this is a very good book. It describes leather crafting from a traditional UK hand-sewing perspective and consequently it makes a good complement to English Master Leather Craftsman Nigel Armitage's excellent Youtube video series (his 2 saddle stitching videos, for example, cover the finer details of saddle stitch in far more detail than the book can; ditto his excellent awl sharpening video). Oddly, Nigel strongly recommends braided, waxed polyester thread over linen thread, while the author strongly recommends linen over polyester threads - such differences are common among leather crafters.

I'm absolutely delighted with this book. :)

UPDATE: Having now been through the book a few times now, I would now liked more information/detail on several areas - but perhaps that would have unnecessarily cluttered & spoilt this attractive, very readable & browse-able book "entry level" book. By the way, this book is a good complement to the classic "The Art of Handsewing Leather" by Al Stohlman (& Stohlman's tool book), rather than a replacement for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book for beginners. Great purchase!, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is laid out in a very easy to understand fashion. It's written in plain terms which makes it easier to understand. There are many illustrations which are helpful. Videos are about the only thing that would make this book better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book well worth the money, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book lots of excellent tips on tools and techniques including hand stitching, and types of threads. Also useful reference guide to choosing suitable grades and cuts of leather most appropriate to your end product .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Order from the author and receive a signed copy - very fast delivery very well wrapped and a very clear exposition style many others would do well to copy a first class book thoroughly recommended for all abilities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Leatherworking Handbook
The Leatherworking Handbook by Valerie Michael (Paperback - 1 Dec. 1994)
Used & New from: £14.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews