Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real discovery, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend insisted that I read this. It didn’t sound like my sort of book but I gave it a go and, boy, am I glad I did. It’s hard to describe as there is such variety: stories galore, even jokes woven throughout a wonderful tour of the Jewish people as seen through words and text. . This book is not only for Jews but also for people like me who want to better understand them . I had never realised that text so strongly defines the identity of the Jews. Women feature strongly which interested me.
The authors – father and daughter – don’t always agree but their exchanges are lively and loving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light and well-written, 20 Oct 2013
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short and pleasant read, with lots of striking insights into Jewish culture and belief. The two authors describe themselves as atheists in awe of the Bible and its cultural riches. I learnt some new insights into the Bible and it's peppered with humorous quotations like Aleichem's line: 'No matter how bad things get, you got to go on living, even if it kills you.'

I got the hardback copy which makes a good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sent this to a friend as a birthday present and they enjoyed the book and was very informative to someone who wanted to know more about their back ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jews and Words (Paperback)
Item arrived quickly and as described, excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book. I can't get to the end because ..., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jews and Words (Paperback)
Brilliant book. I can't get to the end because I keep returning to the page, or paragraph, or chapter before because it was so good. Thank you to both authors, the historian and the novelist; I am learning much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jews and Words (Paperback)
as soon as I finish writing this sentence I am getting back to it......captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very honest & direct knowlegable but..., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is almost scientific while it uses too many "high" words and language which makes it (in English at least) difficult
and heavy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jews and Words
Jews and Words by Fania Oz-salzberger (Paperback - 4 Mar 2014)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews