Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace book for children and teens to boost their interest in science
The 256 pages and 40 chapters of this book are written by an expert in the history of Medicine and it shows with a decided bias and more expert opinion on the biological and chemical parts than the physics engineering and maths.
Every aspect and age of science is included from Babylon to Silicon Valley with wonderfully short concise chapters of about 6 pages each...
Published on 10 Mar. 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was a present for my mathematicall;y inclined grandson
I gave it to my grandson. It was well received by his parents, but I can tell you no more than that.
Published 24 months ago by Adrian Stear


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace book for children and teens to boost their interest in science, 10 Mar. 2013
The 256 pages and 40 chapters of this book are written by an expert in the history of Medicine and it shows with a decided bias and more expert opinion on the biological and chemical parts than the physics engineering and maths.
Every aspect and age of science is included from Babylon to Silicon Valley with wonderfully short concise chapters of about 6 pages each. Hows that for our modern short-attention span teens? All relevant facts are there with many more I didn't know about, including the 'forgotten scientists' and also-rans who didn't make it into mainstream history but were equally valuable as the superstars of science. Many amusing anecdotes of the scientists are included as an interest-grabber. A few mistakes in one chapter (relativity) seem to indicate that this chapter either wasn't checked by someone in the know or simply not checked at all (I think it's the latter). Although not explicitly stated it implies that the precession of the perihelion of Mercury, as predicted by Einsteins theory, was actually Mars! No photos or pictures (a kids' book without pictures!!??), but a genuine bargain for the hardcover at about £12. If it doesn't kick off a few careers in Science I'll be surprised. Geoff .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction To The History of Science, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The intention of this book's author is to look at science as a human endeavour to understand the world by taking a time journey through it's history of great thinkers, adept experimenters and people of expansive curiosity. The author does this using scientific advances starting with the age of Babylon and Egypt through to the digital age of modern computerisation enabling scientists to tackle questions as diverse as human genetics to global warming. Within these extremes of time, Professor Bynum uses each of the 40 short chapters, (totalling 256 pages), to deal with a different topic or major figure presenting the facts along with interesting anecdotes or details about their life or work, often quirky and humorous. The impact of developments from one age onto the next is clear along with challenges to the works and beliefs accompanying them.

Most of the major figures of influence are here including the Emperor's doctor Galen, Galileo and astronomy, Harvey and the circulation of blood, the theories and works of Newton, Darwin and Einstein. Topics include engines and energy, atomic physics and the computer age. All are written in a lucid and understandable way. This is not a science textbook. It is, as the title says 'a little history of science'. This should provide a grounding in the subject aimed more for the younger reader and hopefully will stimulate further inquiry. It may also appeal to adults who may find it's content sufficiently interesting without feeling it condescending or lacking sophistication. An entertaining introductory read into the history of science and medicine.
(HARDCOVER not Kindle version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for youngsters and adults alike, 31 Jan. 2014
This review is for the Kindle edition. A most informative and interesting book, suitable for children and adults too, in that it's not at all condescending to the younger reader. It covers a wide range of topics and is a marvellous read for the inquiring child. Only one caveat though, is that it would benefit from more illustration, not to divert attention from the text but to enhance it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little History of Science, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book for my teenage son aged 14 and he (normally not an avid reader) loves it. A concise very readable summary of key moments in the history of science up to most recent times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Explained Clearly!!, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Ms S. M. Hildred "redcat" (york.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little History of Science (Paperback)
Very good book, interesting and does not "talk down" to the reader. I found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little History of Science (Paperback)
I love all these 'Little' books, gives me information that I can understand, very readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was a present for my mathematicall;y inclined grandson, 29 April 2013
By 
Adrian Stear (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave it to my grandson. It was well received by his parents, but I can tell you no more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little History of Science
A Little History of Science by William Bynum (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews