Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£49.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2013
Broad look at the work of Gary Winogrand with some never before seen pictures.
Not one single picture spans the gutter - horay!
If you have a remote interest in street photography then you need this book.
Cant wait for the exhibition to arrive in Paris - Boo that it isn't coming to UK.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
With more than 400 photographs, this is a tour de force. There are several illuminating essays about Winogrand's life and work that are written with the depth and diligence that only American researchers and curators can achieve. As a long-time admirer of Winogrand I was especially interested in his last years in Los Angeles, where apparently he lost his mojo. This book, which includes plenty of previously unpublished pictures, gives a few pointers to the reasons why. Essential reading for any serious student of street photography.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I'd been a fan of Winogrand every since first seeing his work inthe early 90s... but had always struggled to find decent and acceptably priced publications. So I was really excited when I saw this catalogue available.

It certainly won't disappoint. A mamouth book with hundreds of images and some great writing. (Especially as regards posthumously printing Winogrand's work).

I bought this at it's inital price (as soon as it was available) and I'm still happy I did. Simply fabulous.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This book is actually about £10 cheaper in Waterstones so I promptly returned and purchased there instead. Amazon, having largely beaten the high street competition over the past few years, likely believes the world has given up on shopping around and is subtly jacking up its prices. Would suggest shopping around prior to purchase, but this collection of Winogrand's photographs is fantastic at any price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Comprehensive is how I would describe this book with detailed ,interesting essays.
Perhaps only for those who already like Winogrands work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Some very nice vintage "street photography". Glad I bought this volume, it is certainly recommendable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Very well-received present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
A huge book, which it needs to be in order to even attempt to cover Winogrand's huge body of work. If you want to get to grips with this, this is the book to have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Summing up a very productive artist's life is impossible, so the title is deceptive at first, but I suppose that "Garry Winogrand" was the name of the exhibition at the SFMOMA, thus fitting in the context; for this book is less of the story of Garry Winogrand's career as a photographer but more of a freeze dried remnant of the San Francisco exhibition. It is competent gift shop material, and that is ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)