Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
Broad look at the work of Gary Winogrand with some never before seen pictures.
Not one single picture spans the gutter - horay!
If you have a remote interest in street photography then you need this book.
Cant wait for the exhibition to arrive in Paris - Boo that it isn't coming to UK.
Published 14 months ago by Simon

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A freeze dried remnant of the San Francisco exhibition
Summing up a very productive artist's life is impossible, so the title is deceptive at first, but I suppose that "Garry Winogrand" was the name of the exhibition at the SFMOMA, thus fitting in the context; for this book is less of the story of Garry Winogrand's career as a photographer but more of a freeze dried remnant of the San Francisco exhibition. It is...
Published 7 months ago by Isak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
Broad look at the work of Gary Winogrand with some never before seen pictures.
Not one single picture spans the gutter - horay!
If you have a remote interest in street photography then you need this book.
Cant wait for the exhibition to arrive in Paris - Boo that it isn't coming to UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper elsewhere, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
This book is actually about 10 cheaper in Waterstones so I promptly returned and purchased there instead. Amazon, having largely beaten the high street competition over the past few years, likely believes the world has given up on shopping around and is subtly jacking up its prices. Would suggest shopping around prior to purchase, but this collection of Winogrand's photographs is fantastic at any price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 7 Jun 2013
By 
M. A. Markey "Absonus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
Comprehensive is how I would describe this book with detailed ,interesting essays.
Perhaps only for those who already like Winogrands work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
I'd been a fan of Winogrand every since first seeing his work inthe early 90s... but had always struggled to find decent and acceptably priced publications. So I was really excited when I saw this catalogue available.

It certainly won't disappoint. A mamouth book with hundreds of images and some great writing. (Especially as regards posthumously printing Winogrand's work).

I bought this at it's inital price (as soon as it was available) and I'm still happy I did. Simply fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tour de Force, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
With more than 400 photographs, this is a tour de force. There are several illuminating essays about Winogrand's life and work that are written with the depth and diligence that only American researchers and curators can achieve. As a long-time admirer of Winogrand I was especially interested in his last years in Los Angeles, where apparently he lost his mojo. This book, which includes plenty of previously unpublished pictures, gives a few pointers to the reasons why. Essential reading for any serious student of street photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy retrospective, 3 Jun 2013
By 
David H. Bebbington (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
A huge book, which it needs to be in order to even attempt to cover Winogrand's huge body of work. If you want to get to grips with this, this is the book to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A freeze dried remnant of the San Francisco exhibition, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (Hardcover)
Summing up a very productive artist's life is impossible, so the title is deceptive at first, but I suppose that "Garry Winogrand" was the name of the exhibition at the SFMOMA, thus fitting in the context; for this book is less of the story of Garry Winogrand's career as a photographer but more of a freeze dried remnant of the San Francisco exhibition. It is competent gift shop material, and that is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art)
Garry Winogrand (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) by Sandra Phillips (Hardcover - 5 April 2013)
46.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews