Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for A level literature students, new undergraduates, and general readers
I teach literature at university and think this would be an excellent book for A level students and anyone about to commence a literature degree. One of the problems with the current curriculum is that there is a widening gap between the way literature is taught in schools, and the critical approaches that are required at degree level.

This book doesn't...
Published 15 months ago by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Golden boy put out to grass
Eagleton is logorrheic. Here he says things like 'It is important.. not to confuse fiction with reality' (hah! would Eagleton know reality if he fell over it?) and 'We should not be afraid to impute failings to the Bard'. The *Bard*?! In his shift-shaping oeuvre Terry's logorrheia is positively Whitmanesque. 'Do I contradict myself?/Very well then I contradict myself,/(I...
Published 13 months ago by Simon Barrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for A level literature students, new undergraduates, and general readers, 2 May 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Read Literature (Hardcover)
I teach literature at university and think this would be an excellent book for A level students and anyone about to commence a literature degree. One of the problems with the current curriculum is that there is a widening gap between the way literature is taught in schools, and the critical approaches that are required at degree level.

This book doesn't completely plug that gap but it does problematise some of the assumptions that students (and general readers) bring with them: that the narrative voice is that of the author, that authorial intentionality is the source of meaning, that characters can be thought of and talked about as if they were real people, that what is said is always more important than the way in which it is said, that `good' literature is necessarily the same across history and, essentially, timeless.

This is slightly rambling, but Eagleton uses examples of what he calls `slow reading', otherwise known as `close reading', to deconstruct some of these misunderstandings, and offer more reliable, subtle and productive ways for thinking about how literature works. Given that this is Eagleton, a Marxist scholar of critical theory, this is particularly good on modern and postmodern modes, though he certainly doesn't ignore earlier texts.

Eagleton's enthusiasm comes over well as does his wit - his ideal literary companions on a pub crawl, for example, would be Viola and Becky Sharp, but not Clarissa!

This is a popular book without any jargon or critical terms, so it is complementary to and a few steps down from Eagleton's Literary Theory: An Introduction. It's not a romp through well-loved books or a panegyric on reading but it fills a gap in the market.

Recommended for students of A level English (or other literatures) and as background reading for that crucial summer before starting a literature degree.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wears its learning lightly, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Dostoevsky is a better novelist than John Grisham in the sense that Tiger Woods is a better golfer than Lady Gaga'. The work is about how one arrives at the value judgements behind that rather nice donnish joke that is one of the delights in this volume. By discussing the use of language, plot and characterisation and finishing with some examples from his extremely wide reading, Eagleton approaches the answer to the title of this book. If the condensed version of the answer is 'carefully and closely', it is because the subject itself is as varied as its constituents, but along the way there is plenty to enlighten and to entertain. The style is easy, the asides are plentiful and amusing, the selections are wide-ranging. It's a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clog dancing with style, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Literature (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Eagleton approaches his subject with enthusiasm and gives detailed examples from well-known stories, poems and plays to support his points. Sometimes he is in danger of disappearing up his own argument but, as he suggests when analysing the opening of Orwell's '1984', readers should be encouraged to think for themselves. Usefully organised into 5 sections: Openings, Character, Narrative, Interpretation and Value, I think this book would appeal to both students new to the study of English literature in higher/further education and those who have completed degrees who perhaps need reminding what it was that attracted them to the subject in the first place. Eagleton's preface opens with the line: 'Like clog dancing, the art of analysing works of literature is almost dead on its feet'. This book makes the art of 'slow reading' accessible, enjoyable and thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Eagleton primer, 6 Oct 2013
By 
K. Lindsell (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Literature (Hardcover)
An excellent read for those who enjoy literature - novels, plays and poetry. Eagleton's opinions are very grounded and eclectic and are often expressed very amusingly. I shall be returning to some of my old favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy, enjoyable read, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Literature (Hardcover)
This book is aimed at general readers. It provides an opinionated account of what makes literature work (or not) and avoids the complexity and insiders guff of more academic works by the same author. Although you should be reasonably 'well-read' you don't have to have read all the classics to understand the points being made. Even if you don't always agree with what is said, the light touch and a strong sense of humour makes it immensely enjoyable. My only whinge is that it is a bit short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not a good referencing system, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The substance of the book and the correctness of the text is superb. I am disappointed with the indexing, following the link doesn't take me to the actual reference, so for study purposes it is a bit frustrating. Other than that I am very satisfied. Just realized that the pagination of an ebook will be different to a paper book. So in all liklihood will get used to it. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Golden boy put out to grass, 20 July 2013
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Read Literature (Hardcover)
Eagleton is logorrheic. Here he says things like 'It is important.. not to confuse fiction with reality' (hah! would Eagleton know reality if he fell over it?) and 'We should not be afraid to impute failings to the Bard'. The *Bard*?! In his shift-shaping oeuvre Terry's logorrheia is positively Whitmanesque. 'Do I contradict myself?/Very well then I contradict myself,/(I am large, I contain multitudes.)' Will o' the wisp, or mosquito? Who is this for? And are we witnessing the decline of the west, as I suspect, or merely that of one who peaked too early? (I see we're of an age, Terry and me..)

Googling Eagleton after penning this review, I see I'm late on the case; William Deresiewicz accused the man of prolixity ten years ago, besides calling him 'a Marxist with three houses'. Martin Amis (whom I have very little time for, but who is one of few able to match scorn with scorn) has aptly said of Terry that he is 'unable to get out of bed in the morning without the dual guidance of God and Karl Marx'. Would you buy a used theory from this man?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Read Literature
How to Read Literature by Terry Eagleton (Hardcover - 26 April 2013)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews