Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly readable analysis of the malaise affecting the West today
Definitely a book worth reading for a succinct analysis of the malaise experienced by the west, and for the ability to put it in the wider historical context. Simple, straightforward and jargon free it is the ideal introduction to reading about the challenges which we'll have to overcome if we want to continue prospering
Published on 27 May 2013 by l b

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising much but delivering less
Frustrated by politicians' refusal to admit that western economies may be in permanent decline, and their wrangling over austerity versus stimulus as the key to restoring growth which may be a chimera, I leapt eagerly on King's topical book.

I like King's rejection of economists' recent preoccupation with obscure models, and his concern to take historical,...
Published on 12 Jun. 2013 by Antenna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, wide ranging sources, and fluently written, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
This book is topical but not simplistic. The author mis a polymath and this is not a dry piece of economic and soulless text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
Good analysis , good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly a spell-binder, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
P. W. Burton (Pangbourne Berks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
I am really interested in the whole topic of international finance, but this book somehow didn't keep me spellbound, although it is a tough subject on which to keep the reader on the edge of their seat. I think he could perhaps have talked about the dual threat of low growth and higher inflation on the West in more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 May 2015
By 
Mr. Kjp Lindsay (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When the money runs out, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
This is an entertaining book and well researched, only disappointment was the answers in the final chapters? I would recommend this to all other "PermaBears"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious read, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
Interesting take on the financial future of the country.
Need to read in chunks to take in and process th infomation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting analysis of the problems we face but the proof reading is poor., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only really wrote this review because I'm fed up of buying Kindle books and finding the proof reading is so poor - spelling mistakes, words that are obviously incorrect making the meaning hard to work out etc. In fairness this isn't the worst Kindle edition I've had but why should electronic editions suffer from these faults. We pay almost the same price for the ebook as for a conventional book and I don't ever find this problem with paper editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book that never came, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
The remarkable thing about this book was its total lack of substance and its limpid transparency. I finished it before I even started it, and found that I simply could not put it down. One asks oneself - What is the point of buying books from Amazon when they don't even materialise?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence
When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence by Stephen D. King (Hardcover - 18 May 2013)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews