Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly readable analysis of the malaise affecting the West today
Definitely a book worth reading for a succinct analysis of the malaise experienced by the west, and for the ability to put it in the wider historical context. Simple, straightforward and jargon free it is the ideal introduction to reading about the challenges which we'll have to overcome if we want to continue prospering
Published 14 months ago by l b

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
I did expect from S King a slightly more in depth and nuanced approach, especially since his style as a professional economist is very interesting and insightful. Therefore I was slghtly disappointed with shallowness of this book for someone following the current events from economic and political point of view.

This book is probably written for a wider...
Published 10 months ago by jukka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly readable analysis of the malaise affecting the West today, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely a book worth reading for a succinct analysis of the malaise experienced by the west, and for the ability to put it in the wider historical context. Simple, straightforward and jargon free it is the ideal introduction to reading about the challenges which we'll have to overcome if we want to continue prospering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting read and a convincing argument, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
This book presents the most convincing argument I've read so far on the trajectory of Western economies. In my opinion, this book is aimed at people with a greater than average understanding of finance/economics and so provides a new way of looking at the economic theories that we were brought up on at university. Other books can be repetitive or spend too long presenting the basics, unlike this book which gets to the point succinctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
I did expect from S King a slightly more in depth and nuanced approach, especially since his style as a professional economist is very interesting and insightful. Therefore I was slghtly disappointed with shallowness of this book for someone following the current events from economic and political point of view.

This book is probably written for a wider audience, hence the level of detail is kept fairly superficial on purpose. Mr King could have writen a more elaborate story. Therefore professional investors and market watchers probably find this book slghtly flat reading, hence ***'s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money.”, 2 Oct 2013
A well written and researched book that clearly explains the enormous hole the West has dug for itself.

If this topic concerns you then you will also love Mark Steyn's 'After America: Get ready for Armageddon', which it lighter on facts, but the humor and wit is unmatched. Both are great reads and highly necessary during this current crises of Western identity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising much but delivering less, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
Frustrated by politicians' refusal to admit that western economies may be in permanent decline, and their wrangling over austerity versus stimulus as the key to restoring growth which may be a chimera, I leapt eagerly on King's topical book.

I like King's rejection of economists' recent preoccupation with obscure models, and his concern to take historical, political and social factors into account, although I think some of his analyses would make academics in these disciplines wince.

The most original aspects seem to be his comparisons between the current situation and previous events, such as the decline after a period of promising growth of both Argentina and Japan, the bubble of "subprime" investment in the original American railroads, or the crises of the 1990s from which "Tiger economies" like South Korea or Malaysia, recovered quickly owing to their lack of a sense of entitlement, or so the author claims.

His examination of the recent financial crisis is clear, but has already been well-covered elsewhere. Yet his approach to economic terms seems inconsistent: the "loss aversion" which occurs in periods of stagnation is defined at some length, but I am not aware that he explains at any point how bond yields work, or the difference between monetary and fiscal policies, all crucial to an understanding of the economy. A glossary of economic terms would have been useful.

There is a good deal of space-taking repetition and some of his observations seem unduly subjective and perhaps a little confused, such as frequent references to the guilty role of "baby boomers" who are "having their cake and eating it". Does he expect this group to opt for early euthanasia so they can hand their ill-gotten share of resources on to the next generation?

I was disappointed by his recommended policies, which are presented in a rather rushed and woolly fashion in the final chapter. Some, too complex to explain fully here, on say, rating creditors for the quality of their decisions, or setting up "fiscal clubs" or encouraging more mobility of labour seem too theoretical, taking little account of the realities of nationalism, democracy or the implications for local services. Other policies seem based on flimsy arguments: I am unconvinced that banks have been forced to pursue risky ventures promising higher profits by the need to subsidise such "social commitments" as ATMs, or telephone and internet banking services for small savers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The money is running out, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
Very deep but mentally stimulating. We in Britain need to take note of what may happen in the future if our politicians do not get it right. I recommend this book to those who need to know what is happening and why the measures taken so far by the government have not been successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good summary of where we are, 10 Jun 2013
By 
N. Thorne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
A nice summary of where we are today. Some good suggestions going forward. I only hope policy makers are reading this and can find a way to present it to the voters in a way that it has a chance of being implemented. Otherwise the inevitable 'selling off of the family silver' will make life increasingly hard for the younger generation. Plenty of mention of the baby boomers, called 'the selfish generation'.
Only three stars as in my opinion it doesn't go into enough depth on fixing the situation.
Here's an idea for a follow up: "Preventing democracies running up overdrafts".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
Good analysis , good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear & convincing, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and engaging. Very accessible and plausible on the interactions of economics, politics and the social contract. Unfortunately the least convincing elements were the recommendations to start dealing with the challenges we in the UK and the wider world face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence (Hardcover)
Another great book by Stephen King. I just hope some of his predictions turn out to be too pessimistic. If not ' we are doomed' !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence
When the Money Runs Out: The End of Western Affluence by Stephen D. King (Hardcover - 18 May 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews