Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2012
I have been chasing John Minnis for several years asking when this book would be published and now I have it in my hands and have dipped in I am not disappointed. It draws on a rich vein of research at English Heritage and balances fascinating analysis with copious photographs and illustrations. This will be a favourite to read slowly from end to end and then dip into again from time to time.

A fascinating book and well worth buying.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This book combines my love of the car along with another favourite, architecture. Surprising how far the garage, car saleroom goes back, and it is great to see that a fair proportion of the early buildings are still in existence with preservation orders to protect them. This large volume might be classed as a coffee table book, to be dipped into again and again with many areas of the motor industry covered. The central theme is the car, with manufacturing, sales, maintenance, filling up, parking, scrapping,
driving around the country, hospitality, traffic in towns, and all the attendant buildings or site's involved.
The text is very informative, and photography, both old picture's in black and white together with modern colour is very good. We probably take for granted the modern filling station or service centre, but it great to understand how these have evolved over the last century +. Excellent book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This book is very well-researched and illustrated, and is much more interesting than the subject might suggest. Aspects such as car manufacture, sales, servicing, parking and so on are each handled separately, in chapters covering from the earliest days until now - this approach works well. Hundreds of black and white and colour photographs greatly add to the interest. The thoroughness and comprehensive coverage will make this book the standard work on its subject. I have no connection with the authors or publisher, if you wondered!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
A fascinating way of looking at the Car throughout the ages. It is a splendid book for the coffee table!
So far I have only sampled it for about three chapters - but it can be put down and picked up later on anyway.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
A beautiful book covering the impact of mass vehicle usage on the built environment. Fascinating in that it gets you to think differently about the "why does it look like that?"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
This is a sumptuous book, with superb illustrations, which covers in great detail the effect of the buildings of the landscape which the car has made since the earliest days. It is well researched, and extremely scholarly. The only disadvantage is that it is physically very heavy! Not a book for reading in bed. Most strongly recommended for anybody with even a passing interest in the car in society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Beautifully produced, and illustrated and exceptionally well written this is a book for anyone interested in modern Britain and how the modern car has shaped our everyday lives
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
A brilliantly researched, written and beautifully illustrated book dealing in a new way with a topic that has previously been a subject for execration rather than celebration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
An interesting tome ! Lots of detail (eg names of architects of car factories) but for us travel anoraks, comprehensive cover of the whole topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
This is not a photography book, rather a history of motoring, roads and architecture in the UK with fantastic photographs to illustrate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)