Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£32.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2009
Since this is the first such guide to group plaques by geographical area, a likely way for a Londoner to judge the offerings is to see who is `plaqued' in his or her own patch. If you live at the southern tip of Clapham Common and commute from Wandsworth Common mainline station your morning walk along Nightingale Lane will take you past or close to Gus Elen (music hall performer), H M Bateman (cartoonist), Charles Spurgeon (preacher) and Ted `Kid' Lewis (boxer), while a detour up or down Trinity Road before catching your train will give you Lloyd George or Thomas Hardy. A stroll along the north side of the Common provides more serious fare with two political activists (Fred Knee and John Burns) an editor of The Times (John Walter), a poet (Edward Thomas) and a writer of historical books for boys (G A Henty).
The subjects are from every social class and from all over the world: passers-by and long term residents. Canaletto, Sylvia Plath, Kwame Nkrumah, Natsume Soseki, Samuel Coleridge Taylor, General De Gaulle and Mohammed Ali Jinnah are among a wealth of guests and settlers.
One of the many delights in browsing this book is to study the illustrations: the Kinnocks unveiling Clement Attlee's plaque in Woodford Green; Gandhi surrounded by smiling policeman and children when visiting Bow in 1931; Enid Blyton, the governess, with her pupils at Chessington; a stunning 1857 photograph of Brunel's Great Eastern on the foreshore of the Thames; Ed Murrow at the microphone and P G Wodehouse in his study; Lady Ottoline Morell walking with her little daughter in Bedford Square.
This lovely book fully indulges the readers' fascination with people and with places and is a hymn of praise to the continuing and wonderful diversity of this extraordinary city.

773 words
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
This is not just another pocket book guide. For a start. it is 337 pages long and weighs heavily. The authors from EH have trawled the Blue Plaque archives and they reveal the arguments and infighting that often occurred as well as the changing criteria adopted and names the designers and contractors who made the plaques. The book is superbly illustrated both from archives and with new photographs and gives a potted biog of the individual commemorated. It is an excellent piece of research and a good example of book production from Yale. One error: for George Alexander entry - St James' Theatre was not in King St Covent Garden but in - er -King Street St James.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
I purchased this book as a gift for my husband who'd heard about it on Radio London. He is interested in architecture, period buildings, and people - and he is a world expert in door furniture (yes, really!). It's an excellent book - the the type you can refer to rather than "read" in a chunk. It has made us want to visit parts of London we don't know very well, to have see where this kaleidoscopic variety of people lived and worked.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
There have been previous attempts to produce a guide to the "blue" plaques marking the residences of the famous in London. This is the version against which any other attempt must be judged.

What is in this volume is comprehensive and definitive.

I would make three points:

It is a giant of a book, its size compounded by the heavy weight paper on which it is printed.
It is therefore can only be a reference volume (preferably with the help of a reading stand): a niche still exists for a travellers /tourist /pocketable version.

Blue Plaques are being added every year, indeed the most recent are covered in outline only, which lost the fifth star. A supplement (on line?) on a periodic basis would add to the continuing usefulness of this book.

Although nothing to do with the this volume (which describes all what is there) the choice of people to be commemorated seems at times a bit odd including many quite transient residents whose fame is in their homeland. Scientist and Engineers are under represented.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2010
There is some really interesting information in this book but it is so big that I struggle to imagine that I am ever going to get much from it. If you can spend a serious amount of time with this book then you will enjoy it.
I bought it as a quick reference guide and it isn't that but useful despite that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
This is an excellent reference book for anyone who spends time in London and is interested in history. If I'm walking through London and stop to look at a plaque, I can then look it up in this book when I get home and read the story behind it. Some might say that is what the internet is for but I find this book gives me a quick summary of all the facts and saves me wading through pages of biography.

A beautifully presented book that is a pleasure to flick through.

One minor complaint through - it would be helpful on the map page to have a list of names covered on that map. At the moment it has numbers on the map location and you then have to flick through the book to find out who lived there. A minor complaint though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Very detailed, and out of date as soon as you buy it because thankfully, although rising costs have meant it's been scaled back, the Blue Plaque scheme hasn't been stopped. Some fascinating stories and I now take more interest in, and a note of, the plaques I've passed to look them up when I get back. All too often, we pass buildings looking only at ground level. Remember to look up - you'll also see some lovely architecture above the ground floor!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Very interesting as a general history of London through its inhabitants and also good for background on individual plaques. Fab pictures. A bit big and heavy, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
This book has so much very detailed information set out in an easy to find and follow format. Having a hard cover means it will last a long time in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Very informative book but really heavy. I thought it was a little smaller but just have to do reasearch before leaving the house or on our return.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)