Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to the World of Opera
Charles Osborne has already written detailed accounts of the operas of Mozart, Verdi, Puccini, Wagner, and Richard Strauss, and here he gives us an overview of around two hundred operas, from Adriana Lecouvreur to Zigeunerbaron, and including the major works of all the main opera composers, as well as many lesser-known works. For each entry, Osborne provides full...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Paul D

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Super book
Just getting into opera and found this book extremely useful, giving lots of detail of MANY great operas and the plots, composers etc. A super buy for any opera fan.
Published 5 months ago by kitten 14


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to the World of Opera, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Paul D "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Opera Lover's Companion (Paperback)
Charles Osborne has already written detailed accounts of the operas of Mozart, Verdi, Puccini, Wagner, and Richard Strauss, and here he gives us an overview of around two hundred operas, from Adriana Lecouvreur to Zigeunerbaron, and including the major works of all the main opera composers, as well as many lesser-known works. For each entry, Osborne provides full cast-list, date and place of first performance, detailed synopsis and recommended recordings. Whether planning a night at the opera house, or an evening in with the stereo, The Opera Lover's Companion is the ideal guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars opera-lovers companion, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my wife received this book from me last xmas - she is delighted with it - just what she wanted - a succinct description of all our favourite operas - no flannel - an excellent companion indeed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opera Lover's Companion (Paperback)
I keep dipping into this as a fan of Beethoven, much of the information can be found elsewhere but this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opera Lover's Companion (Paperback)
I find this book invaluable. I am a latecomer to opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended handbook!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just been bitten by the opera bug - after attending The Barber of Seville in Venice - I wanted a handy volume so that
I can explore the basic story-line in advance of the performance. This lovely book fits the bill exactly - it is even handy to have as a coffee table book and already many conversations have centred around the book and the stories it tells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opera Lover's Companion (Paperback)
Just getting into opera and found this book extremely useful, giving lots of detail of MANY great operas and the plots, composers etc. A super buy for any opera fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opera Lover's Companion (Paperback)
Great book, full of interesting information. It is just what I have been searching for. I recommend it to any opera lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much appreciated gift, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opera Lover's Companion (Paperback)
Bought this for my opera mad uncle for Christmas, and he is still thanking me for it, for helping him unearth some more superb operas. I have not read it so can't give 5 stars, but from my uncle's reaction he is very taken with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Opera Lover's Companion
The Opera Lover's Companion by Charles Osborne (Paperback - 3 April 2007)
14.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews