Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner!, 7 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
I purchased this book having heard much hype about it from fellow artists over the years, however I found it quite hard to understand some concepts and found myself re-reading many chapters in order to make sense of them. The book assumes a lot of previous colour theory knowledge on the part of the reader, which is understandable at the time it was written, but for artists today that are not taught colour theory in such depth at universities it can be tough going, but I advise you to persist. In order to get the most you can out of the book, it is best to do all of the exercises. These are done with coloured paper instead of paint,(make sure you have a large selection!) which really trains your eye to see colour and am now converted on using coloured paper for working out ideas beforehand. It would help if the illustrations were next to each chapter rather then all being placed at the end, as you will need to look at them to get a better idea of what Albers is referring to. So, it's best to flick to the illustration as soon as you've read each chapter.
On the whole, it is an important book for any artist interested in colour theory, but for beginners I would recommend starting off with Betty Edwards:Color: A Course in Mastering the Art of Mixing Colors 2004,which really helped me get my head around colour theory and who has used this book in formulating her course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic in color practice for artists, 14 Sept. 2010
By 
K. M. Keane "Skaperlyst k m keane" (oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
this for me is a work book, a book with exercises that one has to work through to get the knowledge it presents.
Excellent!
One needs a fairly wide selection of coloured papers to do the exercises. But that shouldn't be too hard to fint. Get coloured papers for kids and add some samples from magazines - there you are.
A good thing about Albers examples, is he recommends using papers, not paint. this means you don't have to be a painter to understand and work with. Albers colour theory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
This is a classic book in color theory. Recommended for anyone who wants to understand how color works. A must for any artist's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Albers. Interaction of colour, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
Timothy N. Mason "Artspeak" (West London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
A very useful and fascinating insight to the teaching of Albers. Well illustrated with examples that show how colours interact with each other.Text is kept to a minimum and plenty of good colour reproductions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most helpful and interesting forall artists working in colour, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
Jscambler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to any person who was interested in colours and matching them together. All artists would benifit from reading this book if they are beginners or if they are very good artists themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but the images are great and very topical since the blue and black, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
The text style is somewhat difficult, a manual of how you would try out colour combining with a class, but the images are great and very topical since the blue and black dress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Paula Browne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
Was recommended this book, lots of information to help and think about. It really opens your mind to the world, never mind the artistic elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
Cool book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interaction of color, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. Aj Russell (hastings uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Interaction of Color (Paperback)
I am enjoying dipping in and out of this book,it's all I expected it to be and more.I would reccomend it to anyone interested in painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interaction of Color
Interaction of Color by Josef Albers (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2006)
Used & New from: £13.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews