Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great work made better
Aubrey Burl's previous works were showing a wee bit of dating. As carbon dating become more accurate, you are seeing these ancient rings grow older in age instead of younger as they anticipated. While Burl's previous works were amazing, this long awaited "update" of this information, as well as addition information on more recent excavations make this is must. Yes,...
Published on 28 Nov 2004 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited, but detailed
Excellent detail on the stone circles that are included; I had hoped for a more comprehensive "list" perhaps. But what is present in the book is excellent in detail, history and explanation.
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by Kizzy J


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great work made better, 28 Nov 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Aubrey Burl's previous works were showing a wee bit of dating. As carbon dating become more accurate, you are seeing these ancient rings grow older in age instead of younger as they anticipated. While Burl's previous works were amazing, this long awaited "update" of this information, as well as addition information on more recent excavations make this is must. Yes, it's expensive. But it's worth every penny. There are new insight in the the purpose of the rings of stone, a new interpretation of Calanais (sorry, as a Scot I refuse to call it Callanish!) and Stonehenge
The beautiful book is loaded with hundreds of photos, explores the ancestry, methods of construction and why they were abandoned after thousands of years of use.
Marvelous work made even better by bringing the information up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Reference to Stone Circles - Masterful., 10 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Aubrey Burl has the credentials and credibility to author this, the best reference to the stone circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany, with gusto. It is a powerful masterpiece which is long overdue in the world of prehistoric antiquarianism. It surpasses all contemporaries in the field with no difficulty. While many others, Julian Cope's tome included, are wonderful texts in themselves, none come close to the mastery of the subject area that Burl exhibits here.
The information shared with the reader is truly remarkable. Everything you will ever need to know about these stones is here, from the swirling myths and legends which surround such phenomena to historical, geographical, geological, astronomical and archaeological facts. The only thing left is to actually follow the maps and go and see them for yourself. It is one of the cheapest, most leisurely and yet interesting activities any one could ever do. The hefty price of this book is well justified.
It is the big brother of "A guide to the Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland, and Brittany", which is the smaller version or gazetteer to be carried around while tramping over the hills and moors searching for these elusive shrines. This book is a tad too big for space in the rambling haversack.
Every circle doesn't make it. "Bedd Gurfal" here in North Wales doesn't make an appearance, neither do a few other smaller rings, but all of the larger rings are not only mentioned, but are positively dissected with words, diagrams, pictures and academic hypotheses.
If you ever want to purchase an all knowing, all telling book on this subject, you need not look any further... Expensive, but truly magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but very little on Brittany. Misleading title., 26 Oct 1999
I bought this book because I have found very little in English about the stones of Brittany. I was disappointed with that aspect of the book as there are only 11 pages on this area in a book of over 260. I do not think that the material warrants the inclusion of 'Brittany' as equal billing in the title and the title is therefore quite misleading. But the material on the sites on britain and Ireland is detailed, including map references, and very well presented. The book is small enough to go into a pocket and has hard-wearing covers. So, with the above qualification, I would rate it as very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION - Hardback and Paperback are NOT the same book, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A word of warning - Amazon appear to have created a confusing situation here.

A. Burl has two books with very similar titles. The one shown here (Hardback) is "The Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany" an updating of his 1976 "The Stone Circles of the British Isles".
The paperback listed under other buying options is "_A Guide to_the Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany" the 2005 (very slightly) updated version of his book of the same title first published in 1995.

Do not make the mistake I did and buy the paperback listed here expecting the content shown above! I have rated the book 5 stars in the hope that people will see this warning - I have yet to.

It is very disappointing that Burl (and Yale who publish all the books mentioned) has given two quite different texts such similar titles though Amazon should really pay better attention.

Note that all the attached reviews for 'paperback' will be for the other book also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative, 3 Nov 2009
By 
S. Kingston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany (Paperback)
This is a book full of useful information and history. My one objection is that the photos are somewhat drab and, given the fascination and beauty of stone circles, they should not be. Clearly the book would be much more expensive if it had a lot of colour pictures, but I feel something is lacking in presentation with this book.

Having read the book more carefully, I'd like to praise the author's knowledge and fascination with his subject which have increased my appreciation of the book. The 'false' stone circles (18th and 19th century AD) are delightfully described at the end of the book and I was unaware that any such existed (although Will Self apparently built himself a megalithic monument in his garden after spending time exploring the amazing chambered cairns of Rousay, Orkney - Excuse irrelevant comment).

I still regret the lack of enticing photos in the book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent format, but not a comprehensive list, 8 Aug 2002
By A Customer
I've used this book on many visits to English and Irish sites, and the layout of the book, directions to the various sites, and descriptions are excellent.
However, I was under the assumption that every significant site was listed, but during my last visit to Ireland, I visited 2 superb stone circles not even listed in the book. Why?
It's still worth every penny, and I know I'll use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth carrying in your backpack!, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
Last summer I trekked all over the wilds of England looking at Circles, trotting over moors seeing Quoits and crawling into fougus. This book was a superb resource and worth twice the price. I am putting together a website about the journey and this book is like being back there again. My scribbled notes in the margins make me smile when I read them. f you are about to scamper off to Merrie Olde England, I strongly advise you order a copy of this book. I am glad I did. ~Amaneris~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars walks with a purpose, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany (Paperback)
a useful book to keep with you on your travels. It's not pretty with lots of coloured photos, but it is very comprehensive, covering all the British Isles and Brittany too. Probably best for those who are serious about archaeology and ancient monuments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know about Stone Circles, look no further than Aubrey Burl., 18 July 2011
By 
Mr. W. Bailie "Warren" (N.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This comprehensive text encompasses all there is to know about the stone circles of the western fringes of Europe. Read about the links between NE Scottish circles and SW Ireland circles, and the links between north of Ireland circles and those of western England. Although there is no definitive known function for these enigmatic monuments, they clearly map cultural links in our prehistoric past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Indispensable Field Guide, 16 May 2011
This review is from: A Guide to the Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany (Paperback)
Whilst it is not quite a complete and comprehensive compilation of every stone circle in existence, this book has nevertheless been an indispensable field guide when seeking out the marvellous sites that it describes. I do not always agree with the subjective opinions of the author when he states specific preferences or dislikes, but his descriptions are more often than not interesting, helpful and insightful. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this book to those of you who like to see these places for yourselves. To me, its faults are so minor and its usefulness is so great that I can only give it the full five stars. As a bit of general advice though, not due to any failings on the part of the book but simply because landscapes change over time, I would highly recommend the use of an up-to-date OS map in conjunction with this great reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Guide to the Stone Circles of Britain, Ireland and Brittany
£15.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews