Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh You Wicked, Wicked Earl, You
The Earl of Rochester lived a life worthy of Tom Jones. He was indeed a deabauched libertine, slightly less worthy of censure than the Marquis de Sade. Yet he was something that De Sade was not, a great wit. Though nowhere near the range or genius of Pope or Swift, he nevertheless compiled a great body of satirical poetry in the Juvenalian tradition. His "Satyre Against...
Published on 21 Feb 2003 by Bruce Kendall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very informative
This book was everything I expected it would be, my copy was a little ragged round the edges but the material within was Wilmots, and I dive in and out of his work frequently.
Published on 16 Sep 2012 by Matt H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh You Wicked, Wicked Earl, You, 21 Feb 2003
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
The Earl of Rochester lived a life worthy of Tom Jones. He was indeed a deabauched libertine, slightly less worthy of censure than the Marquis de Sade. Yet he was something that De Sade was not, a great wit. Though nowhere near the range or genius of Pope or Swift, he nevertheless compiled a great body of satirical poetry in the Juvenalian tradition. His "Satyre Against Mankind," Like Swift's Houyhnhnms chapters, present human beings in their true place in nature, despite all the panegyrics and biblical references placing us at the top of the chain. If you are lover of satire, as I am, and don't mind observations that place us amongst the lower orders rather than atop some Parnassian peak, give this volume a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out of date.... but, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
The Pervy Earl's unique and exquisitely fabulous phrased love poems on impotence, dissipation and erotic obsession are steeped in wisdom and passion- Those who are offended by John's works are just utterly prudish! Whilst the "C" word maybe used a lot, amongst other lewd and fabulous words..... This is ART. Profound, shockingly truthful wonderfully clever, sexual satirical, bawdy, debaucherous, scandalous.....

Oh how dull life t'would be without The Earl of Rochester!!.... A genius. I adore his work, call it what you will.... however, tis anything but dull. For those who call him just plain disgusting- you need educating! For a more up to date correct version (confirmed by my historian literature specialist friend) see "Rochester's Selected works" -penguin books

♥ As from the moment I read his poetry I fell for the one and only John Wilmot, our Lord and second Earl.♥
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty Boy, 23 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
John Wilmot's poetry is great and so is this publication which begins with an excellent short summary the saucy earl's life which unfortunately was equally short.

I bought this wonderful volume because the book which follows The Archivist (Duntisbourne Hall) features the painting of the Earl with his monkey. It seemed appropriate that the legacy left by this troubled and witty young man should resonate through the centuries and spawn a brilliant artefact for the Dywenydd Collection. Even today it is hard not to laugh out loud at his courage as he lampoons the king and his court as well as his own burgeoning sexual desires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 16 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
This book was everything I expected it would be, my copy was a little ragged round the edges but the material within was Wilmots, and I dive in and out of his work frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Get real !, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Petar A. Cannon "P.A.C." (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
Yes, Rochester is a poet who is well worth reading but this edition is, quite simply, hopelessly out-dated & thus really inaccurate & all but useless. Given Harold Loves' much more recent and fulsome edition for O.U.P & Nicholas Fischers' forthcoming revision of Walkers' edition for Blackwell one really can't recommend this dated piece of rubbish.
(By the way, Loves' edition is now accepted as the standard text by most scholars.)(Addendum:Fischers' edition is now available.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for a friend, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
bought this for a friend and he is over the moon with it.I may well order more for him. very satisfied customer, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene) (Paperback)
I was very excited when I received this book in the post yesterday. And not only because it's a book I've been meaning to get for a while. This book cost me under £2.00 (plus P&P) and yet was in perfect condition. Haing been described as 'used, but like new', I at least expected a creased spine - and maybe a few folded corners to the pages, but it had neither of those things. The book was in superb condition! I love it! Thanks Book Depository!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Poems of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester (Yale Nota Bene)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews