Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book with necessarily limited scope, 26 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
This is a beautiful, sumptuous book, crammed with detail and excellent colour reproductions. Other readers mightn't go for all the technical information but I can't get enough of it. I also prefer the discussions of individual works which occupy a large part of this volume -- its companion, 'Dürer to Veronese', takes a more synoptic view, which tends to obscure the fact that these are surveys of a collection.
That's my only quibble, and it isn't really with the book, which is about as accomplished at it could be -- so good, in fact, that it's tempting to read it as a textbook of the whole period. Much of the material is of general relevance, of course; but don't forget that many of the major works from this period aren't in galleries at all: they're still in the places they were meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discussions of technique dominate the artworks themselves, 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
I have to say I'm really in two minds about this book. On the one hand, it explores the world of the early renaissance artist (primarily in Italy, the core of the Gallery's collection) in fascinating detail - the workshop, the methods and techniques, from the preparation of the panels through grinding the paints to the sequence of activities in preparing the finished work. On the other, it becomes almost possible to lose sight of the overall impact of the artworks in this welter of close-up detail. I don't for a minute regret buying this book; but I don't return to it as often as I'd hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giotto to Durer, 5 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
Not cheap, but excellent value for money for anyone interested in the period and especially those who can get to the National Gallery to look at the works in detail.
Well printed and with good illustrations. The text covers not only the technical details of art production but also provides explanations of the stories shown in the pictures, so it works well both for both beginners and more advanced readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giotto to Durer: early renaissance painting in the National Gallery, 1 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book for anyone at all interested in the art of the Renaissance and especially for anyone wanting to find out more about the processes of making that art and what is available to be seen in the National Gallery. A wonderful collection of expertise written by highly knowledgable art historians and with extremely good reproductions. Cannot recommend too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for OU History of Art, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Grampa (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
I bought this as a birthday present for my daughter to help with the above course. She seems to think it's very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the price was no better than buying it direct from the National Gallery (which ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know the book very well, because I have a rather battered copy. Which is why when I saw a hardback available on the Amazon site I ordered it. What I received was a paperback when Amazon's site clearly said it was a hardback. Also, the price was no better than buying it direct from the National Gallery (which I live only 15 minutes away from) so I sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book all artist should have, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
Fantastic pictures clear and explained
Had loan before which prompted me to buy
Would recommend to any artist who is looking for more than basic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A useful book to have, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
I found this generously illustrated and very instructive. It makes the case for a Renaissance in Northern Europe as well as in Italy and the cross over between the two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exqusite!, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
Wonderfully illustrated and a mine of information for anyone wanting to dig deeper into the world of Renaissance paintings, and our wonderful collection in the National Gallery. I bought it as required reading for my Open University module. Its a real treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Delivery, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. K. J. Marrable "Ken AVR" (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giotto to Durer: Early Renaissance Painting in The National Gallery: Early European Painting in the National Gallery (National Gallery London) (Paperback)
This book was for my Open University degree course on The Renaissance Reconsidered (AA351).... ordered it on line at 12.00 noon on 23rd December expecting delivery in the first week of January (no rush as the course does not start until 29th January 2011) but the book (1 of 4) arrived next day at 10.00 a.m. (22 hours after ordering). FANTASTIC. Is this a record for a Christmas delivery? A good self-induced Christmas Present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews