Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£27.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2004
Brilliant. If only there were comparable Danish and Swedish versions. I have been using this dictionary for 20 years in my work as a translator and quite honestly it is the best dictionary on the market. My only quibble is that the typeface is very small, but the range of vocabulary is beryond reproach. After 20 years my copy has finally fallen apart and I am ordering a new copy.
11 comment23 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
Not a book for the complete beginner, but if you want to progress in Norwegian (which is a diverse family of dialects), this is the most important dictionary you need. Use English-Norwegian/Norwegian-English dictionaries by all means, but there is nothing on the market which comes close to the Green Book. Indispensable: you won't be able to properly translate without it. The only Norwegian-English dictionary to include both Bokmål and Nynorsk, as well as dialect words. If you're serious about learning Norwegian, you can't go wrong with this. No praise high enough.
11 comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2009
This Norwegian-English dictionary is essential when trying to learn more complex Norwegian. Once you get past the "Hello" and "How are you" stage you'll find that you need something like this to decipher the vast differences in dialect throughout the language.

As well as including slang, swearwords and differences in spelling, the dictionary shows examples of the word in context. This is the best reference I have found for improving my Norwegian vocab and understanding of the language.

Note- This dictionary only translates from Norwegian to English
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
This is a must-have dictionary if you're learning Norwegian. It has EVERYTHING - Bokmål Nynorsk, all verb forms, alternate versions. When you're reading Norwegian and find a word you don't know, you will find it in this dictionary. This is the only dictionary I've seen that can boast this. Another advantage is this book includes American English vocabulary, not just British English vocabulary. The author lived in the USA. A disadvantage is that it is only Norwegian to English, but the advantages of this dictionary outweigh that easily surmountable issue.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This is an excellent dictionary. It is about the only way of coping with the numerous changes that have taken place in Norwegian spelling over the last 150 years or so. My only criticism is that the binding of my copy was so bad that pages started to fall out after less than one week of very careful use.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
a well worth while purchase, I have been to Norway and will find this very helpful when I need help to translate in more remote areas
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
A brilliant book to help the new and advanced learner cope with the confusion of dialect words he or she will meet each day in Norway.
0Comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2007
I bought this dictionary thinking it would be useful. I found that first of all it only translates one way i.e.. from Norwegian to English. When I needed to find a word from English to Norwegian it became completely useless. Second, the book doesn't have all the word endings or tenses but directs you to other words which can be laborious and if you're unsure of what you're supposed to be looking for because you don't understand the language (this is why I bought the dictionary after all).

After two days of despair I bought an English/Norwegian Norwegian/English dictionary and am happily translating and discovering this fantastic language.
22 comments7 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Still the best available for Americans in Norway.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
good dictionary and a good price
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse