Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (216)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character
"I Am Malala" Malala Yousafzai is the book about a brave girl in difficult times, a girl who opposed the injustice and almost paid for that with her life.

Inside you'll find her story that starts with the Taliban occupation of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, and all the unpleasant changes that have occurred due to that for women, and especially female...
Published 10 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable girl but tiresome written
I really do admire Malala and her courage and her whole story and work.
But I got a bit worn out by the narration in this story. A lot of background in the first part in a bit tiresome language despite it being co-written Christina Lamb.
Still; an important story to know.
Published 7 months ago by Christina


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character, 7 April 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
"I Am Malala" Malala Yousafzai is the book about a brave girl in difficult times, a girl who opposed the injustice and almost paid for that with her life.

Inside you'll find her story that starts with the Taliban occupation of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, and all the unpleasant changes that have occurred due to that for women, and especially female children.
Malala Yousafzai refused to be quiet, she wanted to go to school, she fought for her education and future.

Unfortunately, one day when she was returning home from school with the bus, she was shot in the head and although it was hard to expect that she'll survive, she didn't only do that, but a lot more.
She recovered, and due to her bravery she become symbol of oppressed women fighting for education and other human rights, she spoke in United Nations and become youngest ever nominee for the Peace Nobel Prize.

Therefore, if you want to read a story about courage, about the impossible that could be achieved, becoming even harder if you are a child, I can fully recommend you to read this book.
It will inspire you and show you that the human spirit cannot be suppressed by any prohibitions, because thanks to him we as human beings have become the only intelligent beings in this world.

And no matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character, as was the case with a young Malala.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest biography ever, 21 Nov. 2014
this is one of my favourite books ever. it is basically malala's life story and includes a lot of the history of pakistan in it. i would highly recommend it for alk ages - i first read it when i was 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible girl, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
An incredible brave, intelligent and strong willed girl, hard to believe she is only 16, talks about her past in her home town of Swat Valley. An interesting read about how life is like in that part of Pakistan, life under Taliban rule, the endless corruption in all areas of their government and an incredible story about her father. Malala wouldn't be the girl she is today (minus the shooting) without the help of her father and she conveys this a lot in her book. She talks about the freedom of thought and expression he allowed Malala to have even though his first born was a daughter (a girl being born in a Pakistani family is sometimes looked at as 'unlucky' by others whereas when a son is born in to a family there is a big fanfare, congratulations and gifts). It was interesting to read, towards the latter of the book, about the shooting, the conditions of the hospital and the two Doctors from Birmingham who were 2 of many that helped save Malala's life.

It was a great read and certainly made me appreciate how easy we have it here when it comes to School's/College's and how we take that for granted. Its only when something is taken from you that you realise how much it means to you and this is what one of the things Malala talks about in her book. I finished this book within a couple of days. How life was in Pakistan under Taliban rule really gripped me that I couldn't put the book down.

I am glad that she has appeared on numerous talk shows in America and spreading the message of education for all boys and girls as their basic rights in countries, such as Pakistan. I fully recommend this book to young adults/teenagers and maybe they'll realise that they have something incredible in this country where they might not have had this privilege in a third world country to achieve their full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gained deeper understanding., 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read, gained a lot of insights and some unexpected facts that the western media never reported at the time. Malala is an excellent role model and her story is so important. I bought this version primarily for myself, although I wanted to see if it is suitable for my daughter - it's not. Lots of political history, violence and things she won't "get". Will get the other version for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Courage, Friendship and Faith, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
This book should be a 'must-read' for everyone! Not only is it a story of courage and inspiration as the first reviewer wrote, it also describes the richness of friendship in a family and among friends of the Yousafzai family. The book is well-written and interesting and I couldn't put it down! The background to events in the Swat Valley is valuable as are the descriptions of ordinary life in Mingora, if you can call it 'ordinary' with the threat of Talibanisation.

Another valuable point of the book is its insights into Islam as it is practised by a devout but not fundamentalist family and their emphasis on prayer. I have always found that prayer unites people of any creed and 'I am Malala' confirmed this opinion, (I write from a Christian perspective). I hope that faith and community uphold the family now in their new home and that they will continue to be ambassadors for Islam as a religion of peace - needed in our multi-cultural society today.

Thank you, Malala, for a wonderful courage and a witness that the pen and the word are far mightier than the sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Inspiration, 11 Oct. 2013
This is not only the incredible story of an amazing young woman but that of her whole family and what life was/is like under the Taliban. It is truly an inspirational account of their courage in standing up for their beliefs in the face of incredible strain and adversity.

Heart-wrenching, thought-provoking and moving, this is a book everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspiring, and not to be missed!, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to read this book as much for curiosity as much as anything - I remember the news reports about the shooting. So glad I did! An amazing book, about a courageous young girl, determined to carry on with her education despite threats from all quarters. It is also a history of Swat valley, where Malala grows up, about problems of corrupt government, on which the Taliban pounced, promising to eradicate the corruption with a view to improving life in Pakistan. Sadly, it was not to be, and this was the way they enviegled their way into people's lives, in order to replace leaders with their own corrupt leaders, and thereby beginning the Talib rule, closing schools, enforcing curfews etc. This is a history of which I was totally unaware, as well as how the Taliban came to take things over in such a complete way. But at the head of the story is a truly dedicated, brave little girl, who loved learning, loved her school, and learned the ways of the coming destruction by sitting in on meetings that her father had with other teachers and leaders. She was determined to continue her schooling, and continue fighting for her, and other childrens' rights to education. It's hard to believe that this young brave girl is still only 17, a winner of the Nobel Peace prize, as she is a born teacher and diplomat. I felt truly inspired by this girl's story, and felt the power of her words in a way that no other story ever has!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner......very informative and interesting read., 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Malala tells her story in a fresh and honest manner. Her descriptions of where she lived is vivid and you can feel her love and respect for the country she grew up in. At the same time you can sense her sadness witnessing and experiencing all that is wrong with her country as well. It was great to read how she points out the difference between culture and religion. It is so heartwarming to know that from a very young age Malala realised the importance of education, and how the root cause of all the ills the world over is caused by ignorance. Reading her accounts of village and tribal life in Pakistan explains why there is so much of constant warring in the country....and as long as that exists there will never be justice and peace in Pakistan....there is too much corruption and bribery. Would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable girl but tiresome written, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
I really do admire Malala and her courage and her whole story and work.
But I got a bit worn out by the narration in this story. A lot of background in the first part in a bit tiresome language despite it being co-written Christina Lamb.
Still; an important story to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gender Inequality in Asia, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
The book was very worthwhile reading. It describes the historical background and current situation, which help the reader comprehend the lawlessness, backwardness (contrasting with the pre-Partition era when the rate of literacy in Pakistan was high) and oppression in Pakistan which, in the name of religion, deny the female population access to education. Malala is an exception thanks to a very enlightened father. Her miraculous survival after the near fatal shooting have given this brave and very articulate child a very sympathetic world-wide audience. One is uncertain how effectively this will resonate with the population of Pakistan, who are unable to look at themselves objectively in relation to the rest of the world's progress, which is owed to Education. Proceeds from the book go to the Malala foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews