Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (187)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character
"I Am Malala" Malala Yousafzai is the book about a brave girl in difficult times, a girl who opposed the injustice and almost paid for that with her life.

Inside you'll find her story that starts with the Taliban occupation of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, and all the unpleasant changes that have occurred due to that for women, and especially female...
Published 8 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story but nothing new if you've read similar books about the taliban
I feel bad giving this book only three stars, I admire and respect Malala and have done since hearing of her attempted murder but having read similar books relating to Pakistan and Afghanistan I found much of the content to be old news. I was actually reading "Three Cups of Tea" around the time of the shooting, which also battles for girls education in this part of the...
Published 11 months ago by Miss Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character, 7 April 2014
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
"I Am Malala" Malala Yousafzai is the book about a brave girl in difficult times, a girl who opposed the injustice and almost paid for that with her life.

Inside you'll find her story that starts with the Taliban occupation of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, and all the unpleasant changes that have occurred due to that for women, and especially female children.
Malala Yousafzai refused to be quiet, she wanted to go to school, she fought for her education and future.

Unfortunately, one day when she was returning home from school with the bus, she was shot in the head and although it was hard to expect that she'll survive, she didn't only do that, but a lot more.
She recovered, and due to her bravery she become symbol of oppressed women fighting for education and other human rights, she spoke in United Nations and become youngest ever nominee for the Peace Nobel Prize.

Therefore, if you want to read a story about courage, about the impossible that could be achieved, becoming even harder if you are a child, I can fully recommend you to read this book.
It will inspire you and show you that the human spirit cannot be suppressed by any prohibitions, because thanks to him we as human beings have become the only intelligent beings in this world.

And no matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character, as was the case with a young Malala.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest biography ever, 21 Nov 2014
this is one of my favourite books ever. it is basically malala's life story and includes a lot of the history of pakistan in it. i would highly recommend it for alk ages - i first read it when i was 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible girl, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
An incredible brave, intelligent and strong willed girl, hard to believe she is only 16, talks about her past in her home town of Swat Valley. An interesting read about how life is like in that part of Pakistan, life under Taliban rule, the endless corruption in all areas of their government and an incredible story about her father. Malala wouldn't be the girl she is today (minus the shooting) without the help of her father and she conveys this a lot in her book. She talks about the freedom of thought and expression he allowed Malala to have even though his first born was a daughter (a girl being born in a Pakistani family is sometimes looked at as 'unlucky' by others whereas when a son is born in to a family there is a big fanfare, congratulations and gifts). It was interesting to read, towards the latter of the book, about the shooting, the conditions of the hospital and the two Doctors from Birmingham who were 2 of many that helped save Malala's life.

It was a great read and certainly made me appreciate how easy we have it here when it comes to School's/College's and how we take that for granted. Its only when something is taken from you that you realise how much it means to you and this is what one of the things Malala talks about in her book. I finished this book within a couple of days. How life was in Pakistan under Taliban rule really gripped me that I couldn't put the book down.

I am glad that she has appeared on numerous talk shows in America and spreading the message of education for all boys and girls as their basic rights in countries, such as Pakistan. I fully recommend this book to young adults/teenagers and maybe they'll realise that they have something incredible in this country where they might not have had this privilege in a third world country to achieve their full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Courage, Friendship and Faith, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
This book should be a 'must-read' for everyone! Not only is it a story of courage and inspiration as the first reviewer wrote, it also describes the richness of friendship in a family and among friends of the Yousafzai family. The book is well-written and interesting and I couldn't put it down! The background to events in the Swat Valley is valuable as are the descriptions of ordinary life in Mingora, if you can call it 'ordinary' with the threat of Talibanisation.

Another valuable point of the book is its insights into Islam as it is practised by a devout but not fundamentalist family and their emphasis on prayer. I have always found that prayer unites people of any creed and 'I am Malala' confirmed this opinion, (I write from a Christian perspective). I hope that faith and community uphold the family now in their new home and that they will continue to be ambassadors for Islam as a religion of peace - needed in our multi-cultural society today.

Thank you, Malala, for a wonderful courage and a witness that the pen and the word are far mightier than the sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Inspiration, 11 Oct 2013
This is not only the incredible story of an amazing young woman but that of her whole family and what life was/is like under the Taliban. It is truly an inspirational account of their courage in standing up for their beliefs in the face of incredible strain and adversity.

Heart-wrenching, thought-provoking and moving, this is a book everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gained deeper understanding., 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read, gained a lot of insights and some unexpected facts that the western media never reported at the time. Malala is an excellent role model and her story is so important. I bought this version primarily for myself, although I wanted to see if it is suitable for my daughter - it's not. Lots of political history, violence and things she won't "get". Will get the other version for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most certainly the most interesting and well written book I have ever read. Fabulous., 7 Nov 2014
By 
Geoff Brewer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without a shadow of a doubt the absolute best book I have ever read. What an absolutley spellbinding story, wow, has this young lady packed a heap into her life to date. An extremely beautifully written insight to the life of a young Muslim girl, her friends and family battling against the crass stupidity generated by a few who have a a misguided notion of what their religion is about and the subsequent disgraceful and shameful way they value and treat females in their society.

I do so hope this inspiring young woman is allowed to fulfil thebhuge potential she clearly has. Her family, particularly her dad most certainly also deserves commending as well. What a privilege to read about their life experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The horror of the Taliban, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Through Malala, story, comes a picture of life in a chaotic corrupt country, where women are virtually slaves, even though neither the Koran nor the constitution denies them their rights to equal treatment with men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth, and Inspirational, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Hardcover)
I am Malala is an easy to read account of not just Malala's life, but the context of her life which really helps the reader understand her journey. It encapsulates the journey of her family, a background into the events leading to Taliban influence in Swat valley and a first person insight into Pashtun culture.

For me it is a masterpiece in social history. It really gives a sense of how different a world Malala grew up, and of the struggles people face in Swat. Furthermore, it humanises, gives insight into the narrative of Taliban influence in the North West of Pakistan, something which - despite being an avid viewer of mainstream news - I didn't fully appreciate. And it brings to life the terrible struggle that the citizens of Swat valley have been subject to.

But the most important aspect of the book - in my view - is how genuine it reads. Written from the heart, by a young lady who is driven by her heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary story, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Malala is one of the most extraordinary people of our time. This book gives us an insight into the life of ordinary people of Swat, a place that seems so remote and exotic to me. What shines through is the heroism of her father, who must have been a huge influence on Malala, who was one of the few people who dared to stand up to the Taliban. Malala herself has always had a burning desire to help others less fortunate than herself and to get an education, something that is a basic human right for all: rich and poor, male and female, high status an low status. This is well worth reading, and certainly the best book I have read for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews