Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and inspirational
Ceviche Peruvian Kitchen is, simply, stunning. One of the best cookery books I've ever read and one I'll go back to again and again.

Martin Morales writes with passion; it's reflected in the recipes and the presentation. The book is filled with a sense of zest for life and vibrancy and many recipes use zingy, spicy ingredients which mirror that pizzaz! The...
Published 4 months ago by Bookie

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I only like the cover!
Despite being called 'Ceviche', this book has only a handful of basic Ceviche recipes. A great disappointment. The 'tiled' cover is the only redeeming attribute. If you saved The Saturday Times recipe supplement where 'Ceviche' was highlighted, the ceviche recipes are all you need. Don't waste your money 'Ceviche'. Even though I don't have any recipe books with dishes...
Published 6 months ago by Andrew Esposito


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and inspirational, 2 May 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Ceviche Peruvian Kitchen is, simply, stunning. One of the best cookery books I've ever read and one I'll go back to again and again.

Martin Morales writes with passion; it's reflected in the recipes and the presentation. The book is filled with a sense of zest for life and vibrancy and many recipes use zingy, spicy ingredients which mirror that pizzaz! The photographs alone are almost tangible. They not only tempt, they inspire.

It's a privilege to read the stories behind many of the recipes. It's a book filled with memories which add a whole different depth and dimension to the cooking side. Every recipe has a story about family life or Peruvian culture. There's a real sense of history and insight into the many influences, for example Chinese, Italian and Latino, which have shaped traditional Peruvian cooking.

There's a real energy to the recipes; ingredients are tasty, colourful and often packed with nutrients. But the cooking style is easily achieved in any home kitchen. Martin Morales has compiled a selection of dishes and drinks which can be prepared by anyone and look as if they've been served by a professional. They're impressive but practical. No way out ingredients or endless hours of preparation so it's the type of book which should happily grace the shelf of anyone with even a remote interest in cooking.

This is one of very few cookery books which have totally blown me away. I love it and it's one I'll be working with for a long time to come.

My thanks to publisher, Ten Speed Press for a review copy via Netgalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal cookbook? Quite possibly..., 26 July 2013
By 
M. Agar "Wild Rooster" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
The moment you unwrap this book, you can appreciate the time, thought and effort that has gone in to creating the definitive Peruvian cookbook. The 'padded' cover is wonderful. Clean, fresh and inviting, like the tiles of a Peruvian cafe.

Once inside, the book is packed with delicious sounding recipes and beautifully photographed dishes, printed on heavyweight paper to give the whole package a feel of quality. As for the recipes, the ingredients and steps are laid out simply and clearly.

Having spent some weeks in Peru earlier this year, enjoying the fresh local seafood and the delicious mountain cooking, I searched for a clear recipe book that would allow me to enjoy a taste of Peru in the comfort of my own English home. Until Ceviche came along, I searched in vain. But it was worth the wait.

Ceviche is quite possibly the ideal cookbook, allowing you to prepare and enjoy good quality food from your own kitchen, with just the right level of adventure to spice up any evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Fantastic book. Looks stunning and loved the insights into life as well as just giving recipies. Really makes the recipes come to life by giving them context.
Recipes are varied and easy to follow and easy to make.
Best book of the year by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An easy book to follow, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Yummy recipes.Clearly described.An easy book to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... recipes - husband loves cooking them and we all love eating, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Gorgeous recipes - husband loves cooking them and we all love eating them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Recipes, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as described and delivered prompty, interesting. book - just need some BBQ weather to get going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ceviche made easy for beginners, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Ate in the restuarant, bought the book, cooked the food. Excellent experience all round. Worth a visit to Shoreditch for a lunchtime menu trial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peru, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Having recently visited Peru we were keen to see if food in the Uk was just as good.
After visiting Ceviche in London we can say it is and the book details all the favourites that we tried.
A well illustrated easy to follow cook book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ceviche: Musical Food For The Soul, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
I first saw Martin Morales on James Martins Saturday Kitchen and loved the meal he cooked. It looked amazing! On a rare visit to London I managed to get a table at Ceviche and had the most delicious meal EVER!

Obviously once the book came out, it was purchased and was put on the shelf with rest of the dust gathers - but this is different! I don't like fish, or rather I didn't like fish - i do this way marinated in Tigers Milk!!

If you want something a little different to WOW your dinner party guests I wholly recommend this book.

Now I just need to get back to London and eat there again ... sigh happy thoughts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen (Hardcover)
Great Food! Great Recipes! Great Pics! And above all: very genuine. Even if your cooking bookshelf is overflowing already, there must be a little more shelfspace for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen
Ceviche: Peruvian Kitchen by Martin Morales (Hardcover - 4 July 2013)
£26.70
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews