Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny walked along the line and frequently crossed it, but nevertheless will remain forever in the memory...
"Johnny Cash: The Life" by Robert Hilburn is a biography of this distinctive musician who throughout his entire career attracted attention due to his music but also due to his behavior, which was anything but conventional.

Although I don't consider myself being great fan of Johnny Cash there are many of his songs that I like to listen. And due to the fact that...
Published 8 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mega Boring
Sorry, I kept trying to wade through this, but after reading a third I had to give up or draw in my last frustrated breath to sigh one last tired sigh and throw the Kindle out of the window. Somebody must enjoy this book, but sadly I am not one of them. Too technical with endless recitals of road trips made and who was on them. I read for information and entertainment...
Published 5 months ago by ByFloSin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny walked along the line and frequently crossed it, but nevertheless will remain forever in the memory..., 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
"Johnny Cash: The Life" by Robert Hilburn is a biography of this distinctive musician who throughout his entire career attracted attention due to his music but also due to his behavior, which was anything but conventional.

Although I don't consider myself being great fan of Johnny Cash there are many of his songs that I like to listen. And due to the fact that I learned most about his turbulent life from a great movie "Walk the line", in which he was exceptionally well-acted by Joaquin Phoenix, I wanted to read this biography.

Inside, reader can find good overview of Johnny Cash's private life and music career that start from his youth he spent in Arkansas, time he spent in the Army and his ups and downs during the exciting music career that somehow ended with his moving "Hurt" video.

The fact is that the author doesn't beautifies things about Johnny's life, revealing some truths that won't appeal to those who previously weren't familiar with this information, for example when he's telling about his first wife Vivian cheating with other girls than June, on cheating June with her own sister, or the real truth how serious drug addict he was.
But as well, he had done some good things like getting Glen Sherley paroled or giving his money to charity.
While telling his story, both good and bad things, the author doesn't take either side nor gives his attitude. Instead he is just telling the facts and leave judgment of Johnny's life to each reader for her/himself.

Sadly, this book confirms what was seen in the movie that the roots of his violent and unpredicted behavior lie in relation to whom he had with his father who preferred his tragically deceased brother, and looked on Johnny as unworthy.
This is especially evident in the fact how his character changed after the tragedy, compared to Johnny who was before quite different gentle boy who loved books.

The author was able to get to know Johnny well through his life, and interesting information is that he was the only member of the press who was at the legendary Folsom Prison concert in 1968.
Also, he interviewed both Johnny and June in 2003 which was their last interviews before they died.
Through many of his interviews with Johnny and other people who worked, lived with or knew Johnny Cash, the author exposed his personal and musical merits and demerits, and shows this artist as true icon of the music scene that despite all the failures in his life will remain forever remembered.

"Johnny Cash: The Life" is a well-made and informative biography not only for fans of this distinctive musician, but due to his contribution to the music scene, to all lovers of rock 'n roll and music in general.

Johnny was a man who was walking along the line and frequently crossed it, but nevertheless will remain forever in the memory...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
Very good interesting book, I bought it for a friend who is a Johnny Cash fan. He absolutely loved it, can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on johnny cash, 6 Nov 2013
By 
John Kane (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
Hi
this is the best book on country singer johnny cash that i have read,if you are a johnny cash fan then this book is for you,out of ten i would give it top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly fantastic read., 29 May 2014
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
Robert Hilburn has has managed one of the rare feats of creating a biography befitting of such a legend. This goes way beyond simply offering a blow-by-blow account of Johnny Cash's life and tries to offer a glimpse inside what made him the man he was and shaped the music he created. Not only a must read for Cash fans but a must read for music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down, the best biography of Johnny Cash I've read so far., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed both of Johnny Cash's autobiographies, and have a read a number of books about him by other authors. This one is far and away the most detailed and and seemingly unbiased account of his life. I'd recommend anyone, not just Johnny Cash fans, to read this. I'll be reading it again, and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash in the raw., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent biography. Having seen Johnny Cash live on 5 occasions and been a fan since 1959 it brought back good memories. I would have liked more cover on his time with the Highwaymen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had a good review and living up to its name., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
Good book. My son is still reading. It was a gift for Christmas and he has found several new facts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
THE BEST ONE YET ON MR CASH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JOHNNY CASH :THE LIFE, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
This book tells it as it was/is. i know as I have 20+ books on the man,& have been a fan since the 50s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present for my Husband, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: The Life (Hardcover)
I thought my husband had everything ever written about Johnny Cash, but he hasn't put the book down. On that basis I have bought another copy as a gift for his brother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny Cash: The Life
Johnny Cash: The Life by Robert Hilburn (Hardcover - 31 Oct 2013)
18.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews