Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible life of an incredible woman!!
I am not an autobiography reader, but Joanna Lumley is such an incredible human being I had to buy this.
From an early age I have been a fan of Ms Lumley.
When I was a child she was captivating as Purdey in The New Avengers (as well as the famous hairstyle), then Sapphire & Steel, on to Absolutely Fabulous, and many more in between!! She is a fascinating,...
Published on 14 Oct. 2011 by S. Asher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Disappointing read. Many periods of her life skipped over too easily. What should have been an interesting read for such a full and exciting life left me feeling much had been left out or skimmed over. Too much held back for this to be a great read.
Published 15 months ago by Arnie Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible life of an incredible woman!!, 14 Oct. 2011
By 
S. Asher "Barbie Girl" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I am not an autobiography reader, but Joanna Lumley is such an incredible human being I had to buy this.
From an early age I have been a fan of Ms Lumley.
When I was a child she was captivating as Purdey in The New Avengers (as well as the famous hairstyle), then Sapphire & Steel, on to Absolutely Fabulous, and many more in between!! She is a fascinating, compassionate person. You need only read about her fight for justice for the Gurkhas! She continues to blaze a trail for women of all ages!!
Ms Lumley's current TV program "Joanna Lumley's Greek Odyssey" is must see TV!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Joanna Book, 13 Oct. 2011
By 
Shirley Brown (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I absulutely love this book, like Joanna it is "absolutely fabulous"! It is full of wonderful photos and stories about her life, she really is one of Britain's "treasures". She has done so many wonderful things in her life, so glad she has shared all this with us and that I have this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat and full of that Lumley sparkle, 22 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I thought it was a very wry account, full of the tongue in cheek, sometimes self depricating humour that makes Joanna Lumley so entertaining and real. I liked her tendency to pause and examine seemingly small details about episodes in her life. I also like the way she is interested in other people and their human situations, rather than focusing on herself all the time like so many celebrities do which makes them so tedious and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ab Fab book, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book, stuffed full of glorious pictures of Joanna, covering her life and career, I didn't realise how much she'd packed in until skimming through this lovely tome, picked it up in the bookshop and couldn't put it down, a must for all fans of this beguiling talented lady, couldn't recommend it more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia Oliveira, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have admired Joanna Lumley since I was a young girl. I have always thought that she was a very compassionate and openly expressive person. Having read her book, Absolutely: A Memoir certainly confirms these thoughts and I feel that she has let me get to know her personaly and I haven't been dissapointed in the least. Her personality is expressed in every word on every page and it has been a pure joy to spend the hours with her, travelling though distant lands that have been home for her for a great part of her life and sharing those deep affections for her close family members. I would happily recommend this book to anyone who wants to finish the read with that warm cosy feeling you only get from spending time with a true and close friend. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumley Absolutely A Memoir, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written & as dignified as the lady herself.A lot of family background information as she does call it a Memoir,I found that hard to keep up with at times & had to keep flicking back the pages which I do find annoying.If not for that it would probably got 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing read. Many periods of her life skipped over too easily. What should have been an interesting read for such a full and exciting life left me feeling much had been left out or skimmed over. Too much held back for this to be a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fans, 25 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
This is a must for all Ms. Lumley fans. The book is well put together full of interesting facts about her life so far including childhood, family, as well as career. The pages are full of lovely photographs. I would 100% recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Well say no more than Absolutely Fabulous!!! Could not put it down. Joanna Lumley is herself a National Treasure. Pictures to die for. Beautiful then and beautiful now. Her spirit and love for mankind also shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 26 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Absolutely: A Memoir (Hardcover)
A lovely collection of pics and memories that are from "my" era too.
a real treat and one to browse for weeks to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolutely: A Memoir
Absolutely: A Memoir by Joanna Lumley (Hardcover - 27 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews