Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Senior Service
Ben Wilson has written a magnificent book about the rise and fall of the British Navy. His previous books, for example, 'What Price Liberty' sold well.
The naval historian N A Rodger has written two massive books on the command of the ocean that cover the period 660 to 1815. The final volume of his masterly trilogy is eagerly awaited.

Meanwhile Ben Wilson,...
Published 12 months ago by Dr Barry Clayton

versus
6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars empire of the deep
This book is based on secondary sources, hardly any primary sources. The quotes are are rarely referenced, there are many errors. When listing the ships at Trafalgar,the ships names start in italics and then for 3 have the prefix HMS. A Southampton port official has dates that would make him over 100 years old.Much of the context has been lifted from other books and taken...
Published 10 months ago by peter john


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nelson spirit, 11 Sep 2013
By 
A. Collins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Wilson has produced an exciting, thoughtful and most readable history of the Royal Navy. Anyone with an interest in this huge subject will thoroughly enjoy this meaty book. From the earliest days of Viking raiders on England's shores through the glory and majesty of Nelson 's navy, to the eviscerated service we have today, the pace never slackens.
And who would have believed that the deadliest enemy the Navy has ever had to face is ... our very own Treasury!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the Deep, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
For anyone with an interest in the history of the RN this is a must for your bookshelf. A wide ranging & fascinating commentary of the rise of the RN with economic & political insights together with cameos of the leading figures of the times. It will provide a bedrock to widening an understanding of naval history and lead to further reading by way of providing a wide ranging list of sources. Ben Wilson has also pulled no punches in analysing the decline of the RN from the 60s to the present.
An accessible read of a complex and wide ranging subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
Puts flesh on the bones of all the Boy's Own stories about the Navy plus some of its less heroic moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the Deep, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
It took longer than expected but the postage was refunded which I thought was good. Having a husband who was in the Royal Navy for 32 years he was very pleased with the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
Vivid detail and written in compelling fashion. Lots to be learned from this one - would not be surprised to see this serialised on BBC at some point in the future - do hope so !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the deep, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Hodkinson (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book , makes history very readable ,charting the Navy from Viking days to modern times , well worth purchasing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, could not put it down, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read, well writen and very readable. A clear understanding of british navy it's origins and it's current demise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
good value not for me to read but went down well with recipient on his birthday as was requested
keep him quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
History of our past, written in a very easy manner, which makes for a most delightful story. Definitely recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master and commander? - an enjoyable history, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
Bought this for my partner who thoroughly enjoyed it. Authoritative and engaging. Top of his wish list - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy
Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy by Ben Wilson (Hardcover - 25 July 2013)
22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews