Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Senior Service
Ben Wilson has written a magnificent book about the rise and fall of the British Navy. His previous books, for example, 'What Price Liberty' sold well.
The naval historian N A Rodger has written two massive books on the command of the ocean that cover the period 660 to 1815. The final volume of his masterly trilogy is eagerly awaited.

Meanwhile Ben Wilson,...
Published 18 months ago by Dr Barry Clayton

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars empire of the deep
This book is based on secondary sources, hardly any primary sources. The quotes are are rarely referenced, there are many errors. When listing the ships at Trafalgar,the ships names start in italics and then for 3 have the prefix HMS. A Southampton port official has dates that would make him over 100 years old.Much of the context has been lifted from other books and taken...
Published 15 months ago by peter john


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Senior Service, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Dr Barry Clayton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ben Wilson has written a magnificent book about the rise and fall of the British Navy. His previous books, for example, 'What Price Liberty' sold well.
The naval historian N A Rodger has written two massive books on the command of the ocean that cover the period 660 to 1815. The final volume of his masterly trilogy is eagerly awaited.

Meanwhile Ben Wilson, originally a political historian, has written a major work of scholarship in a single volume of some 720 pages that focuses on the whole sweep of Britain's maritime history. He writes:'The British sense of national identity was in large part forged at sea'. He says we 'forget that at our peril'.

His book covers the period from the Saxons to the recent Defence Review, a review that has been widely criticised. He discusses, for example, in detail the Merchant Warriors, Defence of the Realm 1399 to 1509, the New Model Navy 1642-1652, The Science of War 1772-1779, Nelson's victories, naval matters in the World Wars, and the major naval events up to 2013.
His bibliography is superb and his illustrations and maps are of a very high quality.

Wilson tells us that Darwin was shown HMS Caledonia an enormous 120-gun ship of the line before he departed on his epic voyage in the Beagle. Darwin said that on coming near her:'her hum is like that of a town'. Darwin also described the state of below decks on HMS Beagle, 'everything was so clean that it put to shame many a gentleman's house'.

The author reminds us that the Royal Navy was, after Trafalgar,'an unassailable world force'. In his book Wilson concentrates on two major themes: firstly,the accumulation of centuries of training, fighting and tradition in the Royal Navy, secondly, on the many hurdles that Britain had to overcome in order to be the number one global sea power. He reminds us that Britain only achieved this status by a 'tremendous effort of political will'.

Along with the books by Rodgers mentione above and Sam Willis's excellent recent book:'Hour of Victory', Wilson's book provides a magisterial account of the Royal Navy.
It is to be hoped that at a time when its status is on the decline-maritime studies can no longer be studied at Cambridge University (in early 2013 the prestigious Vere Harmsworth professorship of Imperial and Naval History at Cambridge was awarded to an academic who specialises in the history of medecine and the environment)-Ben Wilson's book will stir national conscious about the importance of the sea to Great Britain.

This is a book to savour and linger over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the Deep, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Steve "Trajan" (Northern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
An excellent and comprehensive account of the English, then the British Navy. The only thing I would say that was skimmed over though was the War of 1812 as it just mentioned that there was a few frigate confrontations which the Royal Navy mainly lost. Apart from that, the book mentions most of the main admirals and battles as well as the times the fleet was laid up and often rotting away and neglected between wars. Lessons should be learnt by the politicians of this country as Britain is an island nation, dependent on the sea lanes for 96% of everything we import and consume. Around the world there are choke points such as the Gulf of Hormuz and the Suez Canal which can be blockaded. Only ships can deal with these problems and we neglect the Navy at our own risk. When the price of food and petrol go through the roof and we no longer have the ships to do anything about it, only then will the British come out of their sea blindness and appreciate the role of the Royal Navy. I would recommend the book to anyone interested in the history of English/British sea power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Good Read, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
Ben Wilson has managed to cover a vast timescale - Pre-Norman to present day, whilst maintaining interest all the way through.
Needless to say it is packed with information, the result of thorough research and understanding.
It gives a convincing argument as to how the nations commercial interests and maritime power were inextricably linked. It also makes comments on the present situation.
It dwells a lot on the ability, or in some cases lack of, of the Navy's leaders and makes it clear how great an admiral Nelson was.
This is a concise yet complete history of the British Navy that makes for a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower Fans, This is for you., 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Lewis Whiting (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
This book gives a vivid account of how Navies were made and how they grew,
How technology changed with time, and how this affected the lives of the sailors.
Sadly, this often meant more efficient means of destroying other ships, and other men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Mature User (Eynsford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
This book is almost impossible to put down, but it is so riveting that you also want to make it last!. Wilson brilliantly and concisely charts the Navy's development over a millennium, At times. it was in serious decline, but common sense and reason prevailed and a number of close calls worked out well in the end, chiefly through the unique British character and qualities. The Navy was indispensable and central to the development of the greatest empire the world has ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for naval history enthusiasts!, 16 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
Terrific! I am only about a quarter through this excellent book, but it really is a great read. The text is never dry, or wordy, or boring - and it reads rather like a good thriller in some respects. If you are looking for an all-in-one history of the British navy, you really could do a lot worse than acquiring this book. I am no expert - far from it - but I do love a good read, and this is exactly what this is. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
I thought the book well researched and well written. Ideal for anyone interested in British Naval history. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent survey with unusual detail, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting book. A lot of detail that I didn't previously know. The best description of the battle of trafalgar that I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book connects the dots. It gives context and clarity on many key battles and world events through history. An essential insight for any history student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the Deep, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
For anyone with an interest in the history of the RN this is a must for your bookshelf. A wide ranging & fascinating commentary of the rise of the RN with economic & political insights together with cameos of the leading figures of the times. It will provide a bedrock to widening an understanding of naval history and lead to further reading by way of providing a wide ranging list of sources. Ben Wilson has also pulled no punches in analysing the decline of the RN from the 60s to the present.
An accessible read of a complex and wide ranging subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy
Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy by Ben Wilson (Hardcover - 25 July 2013)
Used & New from: £10.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews