Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Senior Service
Ben Wilson has written a magnificent book about the rise and fall of the British Navy. His previous books, for example, 'What Price Liberty' sold well.
The naval historian N A Rodger has written two massive books on the command of the ocean that cover the period 660 to 1815. The final volume of his masterly trilogy is eagerly awaited.

Meanwhile Ben Wilson,...
Published 8 months ago by Dr Barry Clayton

versus
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars empire of the deep
This book is based on secondary sources, hardly any primary sources. The quotes are are rarely referenced, there are many errors. When listing the ships at Trafalgar,the ships names start in italics and then for 3 have the prefix HMS. A Southampton port official has dates that would make him over 100 years old.Much of the context has been lifted from other books and taken...
Published 6 months ago by peter john


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Senior Service, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Dr Barry Clayton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ben Wilson has written a magnificent book about the rise and fall of the British Navy. His previous books, for example, 'What Price Liberty' sold well.
The naval historian N A Rodger has written two massive books on the command of the ocean that cover the period 660 to 1815. The final volume of his masterly trilogy is eagerly awaited.

Meanwhile Ben Wilson, originally a political historian, has written a major work of scholarship in a single volume of some 720 pages that focuses on the whole sweep of Britain's maritime history. He writes:'The British sense of national identity was in large part forged at sea'. He says we 'forget that at our peril'.

His book covers the period from the Saxons to the recent Defence Review, a review that has been widely criticised. He discusses, for example, in detail the Merchant Warriors, Defence of the Realm 1399 to 1509, the New Model Navy 1642-1652, The Science of War 1772-1779, Nelson's victories, naval matters in the World Wars, and the major naval events up to 2013.
His bibliography is superb and his illustrations and maps are of a very high quality.

Wilson tells us that Darwin was shown HMS Caledonia an enormous 120-gun ship of the line before he departed on his epic voyage in the Beagle. Darwin said that on coming near her:'her hum is like that of a town'. Darwin also described the state of below decks on HMS Beagle, 'everything was so clean that it put to shame many a gentleman's house'.

The author reminds us that the Royal Navy was, after Trafalgar,'an unassailable world force'. In his book Wilson concentrates on two major themes: firstly,the accumulation of centuries of training, fighting and tradition in the Royal Navy, secondly, on the many hurdles that Britain had to overcome in order to be the number one global sea power. He reminds us that Britain only achieved this status by a 'tremendous effort of political will'.

Along with the books by Rodgers mentione above and Sam Willis's excellent recent book:'Hour of Victory', Wilson's book provides a magisterial account of the Royal Navy.
It is to be hoped that at a time when its status is on the decline-maritime studies can no longer be studied at Cambridge University (in early 2013 the prestigious Vere Harmsworth professorship of Imperial and Naval History at Cambridge was awarded to an academic who specialises in the history of medecine and the environment)-Ben Wilson's book will stir national conscious about the importance of the sea to Great Britain.

This is a book to savour and linger over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the Deep, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Steve "Trajan" (Northern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
An excellent and comprehensive account of the English, then the British Navy. The only thing I would say that was skimmed over though was the War of 1812 as it just mentioned that there was a few frigate confrontations which the Royal Navy mainly lost. Apart from that, the book mentions most of the main admirals and battles as well as the times the fleet was laid up and often rotting away and neglected between wars. Lessons should be learnt by the politicians of this country as Britain is an island nation, dependent on the sea lanes for 96% of everything we import and consume. Around the world there are choke points such as the Gulf of Hormuz and the Suez Canal which can be blockaded. Only ships can deal with these problems and we neglect the Navy at our own risk. When the price of food and petrol go through the roof and we no longer have the ships to do anything about it, only then will the British come out of their sea blindness and appreciate the role of the Royal Navy. I would recommend the book to anyone interested in the history of English/British sea power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Good Read, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
Ben Wilson has managed to cover a vast timescale - Pre-Norman to present day, whilst maintaining interest all the way through.
Needless to say it is packed with information, the result of thorough research and understanding.
It gives a convincing argument as to how the nations commercial interests and maritime power were inextricably linked. It also makes comments on the present situation.
It dwells a lot on the ability, or in some cases lack of, of the Navy's leaders and makes it clear how great an admiral Nelson was.
This is a concise yet complete history of the British Navy that makes for a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent survey with unusual detail, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting book. A lot of detail that I didn't previously know. The best description of the battle of trafalgar that I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book connects the dots. It gives context and clarity on many key battles and world events through history. An essential insight for any history student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, readable and revelatory, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
I am a passionate admirer of the Royal navy and this book has deepened that admiration as well as shedding new light on so many aspects of Britain's maritime history. Strongly recmomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower Fans, This is for you., 9 Jan 2014
By 
Lewis Whiting (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
This book gives a vivid account of how Navies were made and how they grew,
How technology changed with time, and how this affected the lives of the sailors.
Sadly, this often meant more efficient means of destroying other ships, and other men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
I thought the book well researched and well written. Ideal for anyone interested in British Naval history. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nelson spirit, 11 Sep 2013
By 
A. Collins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Wilson has produced an exciting, thoughtful and most readable history of the Royal Navy. Anyone with an interest in this huge subject will thoroughly enjoy this meaty book. From the earliest days of Viking raiders on England's shores through the glory and majesty of Nelson 's navy, to the eviscerated service we have today, the pace never slackens.
And who would have believed that the deadliest enemy the Navy has ever had to face is ... our very own Treasury!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empire of the Deep, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy (Hardcover)
It took longer than expected but the postage was refunded which I thought was good. Having a husband who was in the Royal Navy for 32 years he was very pleased with the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb33292a0)

This product

Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy
Empire of the Deep: The Rise and Fall of the British Navy by Ben Wilson (Hardcover - 25 July 2013)
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews