Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for people starting from scatch & for updating
Great for people needing or wanting to make additional space when starting afresh but also for making alterations, when less space available.
More information would be ideal for those of us who do not have space for extending.eg. living rooms and kitchens.
A good book.
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Gloria

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations looking a bit dated already
A nice no-nonsense approach from a very personable and knowledgable TV expert. I liked how he opened up about his own experiences, good and bad, including the rarely offered advice not to take on a grand design/huge restoration if you possibly can avoid it! The approach of the book is basic, but sometimes basic is a great place to start from, particularly when your head...
Published 2 months ago by random_customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for people starting from scatch & for updating, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
Great for people needing or wanting to make additional space when starting afresh but also for making alterations, when less space available.
More information would be ideal for those of us who do not have space for extending.eg. living rooms and kitchens.
A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
An excellent book which is a good read even if you are not planning any renovations. Many books of this type are reference books only but he writes it in the style of following the journey of his house renovation from the beginning to where he is now (still working on his basement at the time of publication). Written in his relaxed likeable style I ordered another to send as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 9 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
This is a very easy to read, well written book with loads of useful information on how to improve your home. Mr Clarke gives us an insight into his own, private dwelling with beautiful photos and drawings. A very enjoyable and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for home improvement, 16 May 2013
By 
Mrs (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
I wish we had this book when we first moved into our home. It shows what thinking outside the box can achieve and how to look at the spaces in your house differently. Not much on construction detail but there are other books that do that. Knockd a star off cos I would have liked to see more floor plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's packed with ideas, 4 Oct 2010
By 
S. Davidson (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
I'd pre-ordered the book, I'm a huge fan of his show... It was definitely worth the wait. It's packed with ideas, and things to consider when planning/doing a renovation, including potential pitfalls.

It's well written and easy to read. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations looking a bit dated already, 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
A nice no-nonsense approach from a very personable and knowledgable TV expert. I liked how he opened up about his own experiences, good and bad, including the rarely offered advice not to take on a grand design/huge restoration if you possibly can avoid it! The approach of the book is basic, but sometimes basic is a great place to start from, particularly when your head is spinning from starting a refurb. He gives helpful grids and standard sized templates, which is very helpful.

However, the book is let down by the illustrations, which are now looking quite dated. Apart from those of his own house, none of the images inspire, and the rooms illustrated look rather dull. Also some of the advice is a tad repetitive, e.g. each section has an environmental section, which often states the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars helpful ideas/great information, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
I watched George Clarke on tv and loved the way he can turn a house from nothing into something amazing, so when i saw the book it was a must have. The book is a step by step guide to house design. Its broken down into chapters explaining the design process from start to finish and the bits in between. He gives design advice on the various rooms found in homes today, and ideas on what he believes each room should have. He places huge importance on natural light in the home and informs the reader ways to achieve this. You get a first hand look at George's own home with before and after views and reasons explained why various changes were made. A great book, useful, informative, and a very good guide on what to expect when you take a journey into the building game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and clear, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
It was gratifying to see many layouts that George had illustrated in his book, that we had proposed ourselves in many potential houses we may have bought. A lot we knew already, so the very good illustrations backed this up. For a newbie to the business of house renovation or informed knowledge of what to look for in buying a house that would give a purchaser the potential of a future remodelling has to said is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exellent, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
really helpful when considering renovating your home, would recommend anyone to purchase this book before starting a project. worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home Bible (Hardcover)
Interesting book, gives you some ideas about how to redesign your house. Some mistakes unfortunately, like the conversion between square feet and square metre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4985f18)

This product

The Home Bible
The Home Bible by George Clarke (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2010)
22.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews