Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, intimate story of Button's amazing season
Brilliant! Diaries of a season are too often bland accounts, but Jenson's story of his championship winning season is intimate, insightful and a fascinating 'time-capsule' account of what has turned out to be a historic one-off year for a small independent team, Brawn GP, prior to its buy-out by Mercedes.

The opening section, detailing Jenson's dismay at...
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by F1 Fanatic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible year for the driver and team...
..yet not that stunning to read about in this book. Written in a concise and pleasant style, but I really was hoping for more "nitty gritty" information.
Published on 25 Jan 2011 by David J. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, intimate story of Button's amazing season, 24 Nov 2009
By 
F1 Fanatic (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
Brilliant! Diaries of a season are too often bland accounts, but Jenson's story of his championship winning season is intimate, insightful and a fascinating 'time-capsule' account of what has turned out to be a historic one-off year for a small independent team, Brawn GP, prior to its buy-out by Mercedes.

The opening section, detailing Jenson's dismay at Honda's withdrawal and the prospect that he may never fulfill his Formula One dreams, is a real page-turner. You get a real sense of what he's like: driven, emotional, a dedicated athlete. The race-by-race chapters make you feel like part of Jenson's gang. He relates what he does off the track as well as in the car, and includes text messages from friends and family. I was amazed by how cool he is, even when the pressure turned up. With technical updates and strategy summaries for the petrolheads, this is a brilliant, meaty read and a great Christmas present for Formula One fans of all ages. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the Button, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Alex Williams (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
While everyone was losing their heads as Jenson Button's lead in the 2009 world championship was slowly eaten away, the man at the wheel was keeping his. There was little doubt in his mind that after six wins in the first seven races he would make it to the finish line - and land the title. Button's race-by-race diary of the greatest season of his life allows us to see things from his perspective. If we'd known what he was thinking at the time we wouldn't have been so jittery!

The book charts the unlikely rise from the ashes of the Brawn team through the eyes of the man destined to be world champion. With the technical stuff for the real petrolheads, alongside personal messages of support from friends and family, a superb array of photographs, plus Button's fascinating insight, it is a book that will appeal to anyone interested in life in the fast lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, would recommend, 23 Mar 2010
By 
G. R. Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
Many of these championship diary books are very disappointing, however, this is a good effort. Much better than 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton's 'My Story'.

A good insight into the period between Honda's withdrawal at the end of 2008, and birth of Brawn, and the emotions involved.

The inclusion of the text messages from famly and friends after each race was a nice touch.

Would recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Championship Year (Paperback)
Once my husband started reading this book he couldn't put it down. He said it was the best book he has read and highly recommends this book for all you petrolheads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible year for the driver and team..., 25 Jan 2011
By 
David J. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Championship Year (Paperback)
..yet not that stunning to read about in this book. Written in a concise and pleasant style, but I really was hoping for more "nitty gritty" information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If this were a movie script you wouldn't believe it possible, so how did it happen?, 9 July 2012
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
It takes the story from Honda's shock withdrawal 12 months before to Button and Brawn's double championship triumph. Remarks on the future are conspicuously absent (hence Button's switch to McLaren etc....).

The book adds a twist to the usual season review by narrating it in diary form and including some of the many messages exchanged between Button and his family and friends - from his mum to the tabloids' new favourite Jessica Michibata.

By far the most interesting passages are the opening chapter which covers the aftermath of Honda's shock withdrawal - and the second where Button describes his excitement at discovering how potent the BGP 001 was.

In other places it feels a bit by-the-numbers and lapses into the kind of prose you expect to find in a press release.

But it's generously illustrated and as such is likely to sell very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book chronicling the ups and downs and final high of Jenson's season, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Martin Bett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
I was some what sceptical that this would be a very rushed book cashing in on Jenson's success at winning the F1 Driver's Championship in 2009.

I was pleasantly surprised. It is almost a diary of an incredible year, but it gets well into the tensions and emotions of an amazing year for Brawn GP and JB. I would have liked a bit more detail on some of the updates that were bought to the car throughout the year, and probably fewer copies of the text messages Jenson received before and after each race, but this book captures the thoughts of Jenson, the team, Ross Brawn, the Bridgestone tyre people and many of Jenson's friends and supporters as they prepare and go through each race weekend, practice, qualifying & the race.

A lively tale of an amazing season. Makes you want to get onto the next race as quickly as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jenson book review, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Brian (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
A well written book ,very interesting guide to the true world of F1, without media hype and speculations, and how he became F1 World Champion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really perfect overview, 28 Dec 2009
By 
R. J. Drent (Lemmer, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Championship Year (Hardcover)
This book is a really perfect overview of the Championship Year of Jenson Button. I'm Dutch, but this book reads very easy. It's written by Button himself and it's funny to read how he experienced the 2009 F1-season from beginning to the end. Button tells everything. Also you can read some text-messages he received every race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Jackalovski (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Championship Year (Paperback)
Got this for my mum as she's a big F1 fan and loves Jenson, 2009 was one of her favourate years for the F1 of all time mostly because of the great JB. She's started reading it and has been unable to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Championship Year
My Championship Year by Jenson Button (Paperback - 19 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: 0.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews