Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Empty Chairs
"No Empty Chairs" is an excellent personal history of those who fought in the air war during World War One. The author makes the point at the begining that he is not attempting to tell the whole history of that conflict so much as tell the stories of the individual pilots involved. In this he succeeds admirably.

I have read many books on the RFC but few...
Published 9 months ago by Neil Lennon

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
This is a sprawling, amorphous book which tries to do two things at once and does not quite succeed at either. The title suggests that this is a book on how WW1 fliers lived and died, but it isn't, or at least only partly. Much of the book is a history of the RFC/RAF on the Western Front, but an incomplete one, as it hasn't a great deal on the last year of the war. Much...
Published on 14 Mar. 2013 by J. Busby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Gives a good picture of the RFC and its prejudices for WW1, 19 April 2015
By 
Alan "Make things easy" (Pucklechurch, centre of the world) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives a good picture of the RFC and its prejudices for WW1. Very good on describing the hierarchy and their effects. Read in conjunction with ""Open cockpit" a complete rounded picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of early days of aviation, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really riveting history of the early days of aviation and its development during WW 1. I can't recommend this book too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast service, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very fast delivery at a very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Insightful written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Empty Chairs: The Short and Heroic Lives of the Young Aviators Who Fought and Died in the First World War (Hardcover)
Excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Empty Chairs: The Short and Heroic Lives of the Young Aviators Who Fought and Died in the First World War (Hardcover)
A genuinely captivating and enthralling book.Takes us back to the days when boys grew into men overnight. It gets into the minds of the young pilots and puts us right there with them. I couldn't imagine what it must have been like to experience the incredible excitement, the fear and the loss. But after reading this great book, I think I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My father was a. RFC WWI. fighter pilot captain A.L Monger. Who died in 1961. Cancer of the throat. It was good to read what my father went through E A Monger (son)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Empty Chairs;short review,nuff said!, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellently researched book and so very well delivered chronologically!
A must read!
I have read 25+ books recently on this subject and this could very well be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No empty chairs in WW1, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Empty Chairs: The Short and Heroic Lives of the Young Aviators Who Fought and Died in the First World War (Hardcover)
I have bought over 100 books on WW1 and about 50 dealing with the Air battles, Zeppelins, etc.This book is frankly about the best I have ever bought...was reading 2 books at the same time but this one took over. Very very well researched and was good to read of the survivors and their post WW1 life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Empty Chairs, 3 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Empty Chairs: The Short and Heroic Lives of the Young Aviators Who Fought and Died in the First World War (Hardcover)
An interesting and informative account which gives a brief but informative guide to the evolving relationship between the ground and the air during this terrible conflict.
Written in the same style as his other books, which I found held my attention for long periods.
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews