Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kevi Mc Cloud grand Tour of Europe
This book is well worth buying. The photographs and the whole content of the book make for some excellent reading
Published on 16 Oct 2009 by Mr. J. Lord

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good idea spoilt by carelessness
I enjoyed the Channel 4 series, but the book itself is a big disappointment. There are silly, basic and trivial errors in every chapter, often on adjacent pages. These are at the level of absolute schoolboy howlers--referring to the Royal Society 20 years before it was founded,calling Dorothy Wordsworth the poet's wife rather than his sister, and having Shelley die 'on...
Published on 7 Mar 2010 by Ribble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kevi Mc Cloud grand Tour of Europe, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. J. Lord - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
This book is well worth buying. The photographs and the whole content of the book make for some excellent reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Insights Marred by Silly Errors, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed Kevin McCloud's four-part television series. (Why is it not available on DVD?) I thought his marrying of certain architects and architectural movements in England with certain buildings and styles in Italy and Greece was an imaginative reworking of the traditional Grand Tour programme; the combination of times and places seemed genuinely here to have historical meaning, reflected in concrete examples found in parks and on high streets throughout the land. I was looking forward to reading the book, therefore, to learn some more. But unlike many books of TV series, this one told me little more.

McCloud is a designer and architect, so this is very much a designer's and architect's Grand Tour. For those with a more artistic bent, wanting to witness the painting and sculpture (as well as the architecture) of the Italian Renaissance, then Brian Sewell's series (on DVD) is to be recommended instead. For those without a focus on the arts but wanting to explore the idea of the Grand Tour, then the books by Jeremy Black or Christopher Hibbert are can be recommended in their different ways.

The book consists of an introduction and twelve chapters that are uneven in length. In his opening sentence, McCloud states immediately that he is no expert on the Grand Tour. Rather than present a basic history, "we took a more cursive and personal route ... [focussing on] four big ideas in the history of Big Ideas." So we have Inigo Jones's introduction to Palladianism; Christopher Wren's "domological detective story"; the marrying of archaeology and design by the Adam family; and the Romantics' rediscovery of Greece and of nature.

The book is co-written with Isabel Allen, but we are not told who she is or what her expertise encompasses. There is no map, no index, no glossary, no references, and no notes (but there is a list of further reading). These should immediately have put me on my guard, and indeed I was soon surprised to find that Mr McCloud admits Paris has power and composure but no passion or romance. Really? Seven pages later we are told that Inigo Jones was the "first proper architect in this country". Really? Later we read, "To avoid the mountains, ... Grand Tourists would travel south to Marseilles or Cannes." Really? Some maybe, but most went over the Alps. I can cope with errors of view, but when it comes to errors of fact, such as mistaking the sex of Hester Thrale, I almost gave up reading any further.

It's by no means all bad; I do give this book four stars, after all. McCloud has some perceptive things to say about Venice, for example, but I am more inclined to believe what he has to say about its buildings than about its social history; building bridges there deliberately so that men could look from below up inside a woman's skirt indeed! Having said that, I then read how Palladio "never built within the city of Venice itself." What a strange statement! How about San Francesco della Vigna or Santa Maria della Carita, or San Pietro di Castello? Even the Giudecca and San Giorgio are within Venice.

McCloud makes the valid point that British town planning has never in practice achieved the heights of the grand sweeping gestures of Paris or Rome because these latter cities relied on the absolutism of a Louis XIV or a Pope. Arguably, the closest London has come in these stakes was the work of John Nash for the Prince Regent. Post-medieval Britain always placed trade above art in that respect.

There is a welcome expansion of the traditional Grand Tour to Greece, and I liked the display of postcards showing views of the many and various museums and town halls in Britain that based themselves to a greater or lesser extent on the Greek temple form. But even here, the embarrassing errors keep coming, such as when we are told that Ancient Greece operated for most of its existence as a republic, or that it was "inundated" with Grand Tourists during the Napoleonic Wars.

And McCloud is good to have taken the Grand Tour further in time to the point where the Nature Sublime became reason enough for the journey: "In the quest for the Sublime the more Romantic travellers began to view man-made art and architecture as less important than the landscapes themselves." John Ruskin becomes the guiding light in this part of McCloud's book, under whose aegis "glaciology, the Sublime, buildings and art all meet ..."

Much of this book is more photograph than text, but many of the full-page shots have no caption to tell you what they are. I think if all the pictures were taken out of it, the remainder would be a very slim volume. But all credit to McCloud for the stirring words at his journey's end. It was a journey that I would willingly take with him again, because he is good company and he does have some very interesting and insightful things to say. It's just a shame that the truth of his story is marred by silly errors of fact and judgement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Coffee Table Book, 30 Oct 2009
By 
G. Bailey "Spike666" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
Kevin McCloud never fails to captivate on the TV screen and with this book he brings that same charm to print. The book basically follows the same format as the TV series giving some extra insight the subject, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it and every visitor to my home cannot resist flicking through it's pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quantity Surveyor's view, 17 May 2010
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
Having found the TV series compelling viewing, this book was quickly added to my Christmas present wishlist. Visually, the photo's are excellent and the whole book is really nicely presented demonstrating exactly the artistic levels architects can achieve at the top of their game. Whilst nowhere near as satisfactory as the Dorling Kindersley book on architecture which covers much of the same ground and more in greater depth, this book takes a broader approach reconciling the experience of 18th century travellers as they discovered the architectural marvels of ancient Rome and Greece, throwing in nice observations of the differences in society encountered in the UK at the time. The book then illustrates how these ideals were imported back to Britain by the likes oif Inigo Jones.

In my opinion, Kevin McCloud is a brilliant presenter, bringing the inticracies of construction to a broader audience whilst not being afraid to pass incisive judgement. Unfortunately, this book is not thick enough to includes all of his observations which I feel are always worth hearing even if you may not be in agreement. Coming from a profession that is prone to view architects with suspicion, I feel Kevin McCloud makes some very salient points in their defence and the wonderful photographs ably illustrate his point. In many instances, some of the observations are extremely witty and, in a number of instances, they did raise a wry smile. Only the last chapter regarding the exploration of the Alps seemed a little strained and I would have preferred that he had concentrated on building. Never-the-less, the whole good was a very good read and quickly polished off. My only reservations were that I would have appreciated more detail and the author's views so interesting that I wished there had been more to read of the same. Little more than 200 pages thick, the book does not cover all the topics discussed in the TV series - hence the point deduction. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
A well-written book: a much more enjoyable read if you have seen the Channel 4 TV series beforehand. (As mentioned by another reviewer-why isn't the TV series out on DVD here yet? It already is in Australia! A real mystery, that)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good idea spoilt by carelessness, 7 Mar 2010
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the Channel 4 series, but the book itself is a big disappointment. There are silly, basic and trivial errors in every chapter, often on adjacent pages. These are at the level of absolute schoolboy howlers--referring to the Royal Society 20 years before it was founded,calling Dorothy Wordsworth the poet's wife rather than his sister, and having Shelley die 'on his way from Italy to Greece' when he was simply on a boating outing that went wrong. The publishers--and Mr McCloud--should be ashamed of themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars grand tour by kevin mc loud, 28 Feb 2010
By 
J. R. Valentine (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
a very good book to back up the television series, a danger for any book trying to emulate a television series is it cant convey being there . But this book does try and cover the reasons why the grand tour was a necessity for those fun loving aristocrats who felt compelled to view the wonders of a by-gone age.The book has an abundance of relevant photographs to back up kevin's comments. I like his style of writing , not too stuffy, comical at times, but always backed up with historical accuracy. A good read for someone new to the ancient world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Tour, 9 Nov 2009
By 
P. Selby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
Purchased as a birthday present. Feedback from the recipient is that the book was enjoyed and the present appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars true to the programme, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives an excellent account of Grand Tours of Europe in an entertaining way.It is a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Purchase, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe (Hardcover)
This was a present it arrived on time and was just what the person wanted. This is a really good way to shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe
Kevin McCloud's Grand Tour of Europe by Kevin McCloud (Hardcover - 21 Sep 2009)
19.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews