Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marina
"We only remember what never really happened."

This is a story of many layers and folds. One is the story of Oscar Drai, a young boy of fifteen in the late 1970s in Barcelona, a school student who spends his free time wandering the old and forgotten streets of the city. Another is the story of Marina and her father, and the love for a dead woman. And another...
Published 7 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit bland
there is really nothing special about this book. I have no real feelings towards it. nothing close to Shadow of the wind
Published 4 months ago by Y. Ren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars ... Gothic themes of Barcelona that Zafon used to such good effect in The Angel's Game series, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
This book continues the Gothic themes of Barcelona that Zafon used to such good effect in The Angel's Game series. It is not quite as engrossing as the Shadow of the Wind et al, but a good read nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Characters, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
Reminiscent of 'The Watcher in the Shadows' with similar themes of teenage love and unkillable monsters. The usual Zafon brilliant back stories about the characters that appear and their stories unfold. I'd read the book again just to enjoy these. Ultimately, not as satisfying as 'The Shadow of the Wind Trilogy' but that's because those 3 stories don't have a discrete end so you're left wanting more. With 'Marina' once it's over, it's over. A great read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars right on the money, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Crag "Crg" (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
A story as you would expect from CRZ. Chilling gothic horror, characters full of humanity and wit. Who could not fall in love with Marina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different twist from this excellent author, 4 May 2014
By 
John K. Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
Yes, Zafon does keep us highly fascinated by his abilities for writing good novels! Do read it and enjoy it for it will help make your reading still more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for young adults, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
As always with Carlos Ruiz Zafon once you start reading you don't want to stop.
A really exciting tale set in Barcelona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
Carlos is my favourite writer at the moment. What a great read!! The characters are as usual brilliant and the story excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and exciting, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
I've had this book on my shelf since I pre-ordered it back last year. I'm an avid Carlos Ruiz Zafon fan and wanted to make sure that I had time to really enjoy it. To savour it until the next book is released.

And this really didn't disappoint. The opening pages really spark your curiosity and begins with the ending. You don't really take on board the significance of the beginning until you come to the end, where it's a book that you feel like you have to reread.
Again, it's set in Spain which to me now is a place where I think there are picturesque ruins in the daytime and at night time, darker forces are at work. There are twists and turns, we are taken through sewers, grave yards and meet death at it's worse, when it's resurrected. We are taken back in time and thrown forward again. It is a tale that until you reach the end, you don't unite realise how much of your breath you've been holding.

There are many themes running through this book, keeping you on your toes and taking you through a range of emotions.

The tag line "A Gothic tale for all ages," really does sum this book up. Any age will enjoy this. And I just can't wait to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting yet beautiful!, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
Another spooky tale from Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Beautifully written and difficult to put down, a story to appeal to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit bland, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Y. Ren (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
there is really nothing special about this book. I have no real feelings towards it. nothing close to Shadow of the wind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious, thrilling and gripping, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
CRZ says it is his favourite novel and it is easy to see why. A story of young love and fascination wrapped in mystery, danger, terror and bizarre,
evil science. Not to be missed, it is the portal into the strange mesmerising world of Senor Zafon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marina
Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
12.08
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews