Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stuff....jolly dark.
This is a fascinating bridge from Zafon's early work to the Shadow of the Wind. You can see him taking his first steps towards the epic secret-unearthing, reality bending grandeur of Shadow on almost every page here.

The cool thing is, it's clear that Zafon cottoned on to what didn't quite work in Marina, and see how he tweaked it to it's full effect in...
Published 6 months ago by Capell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not exceptional
Oscar is a fifteen year old school boy, who has met a girl called Marina and her father who is a painter of some talent. One night Marina takes him to see a strange ritual at a local graveyard, where a woman dressed in black arrived by a horse drawn coach and leaves a single red rose on a grave marked only by a black butterfly. They decide to follow her to find out who...
Published 27 days ago by Half Man, Half Book


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usual compelling storytelling from Carlos Ruiz Zafon, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
Although a "younger" story than the Shadow of the Wind books, this is still a really good read. The characters are developed very progressively, and become very engaging.

A more fantastic storyline than Shadow, and very enjoyable. Keeps the reading appetite ticking over until the conclusion of the SotW series is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another thriller classic for all ages, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
CRZ has done it again! This book has the ability to take you into the soul of Barcelona and intrigue to keep you hooked until the end. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
This is the best story from such a great story teller. Zafon is a master of mystery and the macabre and this story is full of it. It is also something of a love story between the two main characters. I don't want to spoil it for you I just know you will love it if you are a fan of Zafon. Even if you have never read any of his books you will love this one and want to read his others. I believe this book is even better than Shadow of the Wind - that takes some beating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marina, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
i loved everything about this book.Carlos Ruiz Zafon is a great writer and usually i cant get on with translated books. I have read all his books and highly recommend The Shadow of the Winds trilogy set in Barcelona. I am about to read them again and cant wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maroma, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Joanne A. Clayton "Avid Book Lover" (Herrin, IL/United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
I couldn't put this book down. I felt desperate to keep on reading the book till the end and then when I got to reading the last word, it was devastating there was no more to read. It was heartwarming, mysterious, sad, happy, touching, everything you could ask for in a book that you could ever ask for. Carlos Ruiz Zafon outdid himself with this book. SOOOO glad it got translated into English when it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zafon at his best, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
Marina is typical Zafon at his best. Trecking around the old streets and districts of Barcelona with decaying buildings and long forgotten life styles. The mix of modern tradgedy and gothic. Numerous stories within stories beautifully interwoven and taken to a series of climaxes. The two main characters could have been any age, this is not just a book for teenagers. One of the sad things is that we will be unable to follow the routes taken in the book as they no longer exist, but are very real in the book and makes one want to simmilarly explore, without the consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it a Fairy Tale??, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
Zafon leaves you wondering just what is real and what is imagination. Can You seperate the two? Every pagae leads to a different dimention and even if you finf horrer on one page there is love and sympathy when you turn over ,almost unexpected ,Terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic story, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marina (Hardcover)
Within the introduction of this book, MARINA is described as the author's own favourite. Directed at young adult readers, he also states that he knew that it would be his last such book. Even if you don't normally read young adult fiction, please don't let this put you off. MARINA is a gothic, dark book which will have readers of all ages hooked. I was reminded of "Frankenstein, because of the main theme, but MARINA tackles other issues such as madness, obsession, malformation, love and friendship. This is a brilliant story with characters who will delight, shock and horrify you. And they will certainly stay with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gothic and wonderful Frankenstein-esque novella., 29 Sep 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
"Marina" is a novel Carlos Ruiz Zafón wrote before the classic The Shadow Of The Wind (which I enjoyed immenseley and which is the reason I started to follow CRZ and his works). It's a magical, gothic tale for young adults, yet CRZ never fails to add his trademark jokes to the narrative and populate the story with curious characters (I enjoyed the brief encounters with JF!). "Marina", originally published in 1999, is one of the four books specifically written for the young adult audience, which does not mean that it cannot be enjoyed by everybody. In fact, quite the opposite.

The novella is very visual and at times truly disturbing. Not once while reading it I thought that it would make a great horror film. Even now my nose crinkles when I recall great descriptions of stink of the rotting bodies in the Barcelona sewers - uncomfortable, graphic and truly sensuous! I never hesitated in recommending The Prince Of Mist to youngsters (even to under 10s), but "Marina" takes you on a truly scary ride, which can be too perturbing for the younger audience. But well done CRZ for creating such a horrifying world of a wannabe Spanish Victor Frankenstein, full of mad hopes to cheat death.

The storyline of "Marina" is a web of so many tangles and lies and truths interconnecting with each other, it is hard to guess who is the hero and who is the villain. Of course there is a tragic love story. And not even one, in this book. I thought I was able to guess who is who a few chapters before the truth was revealed by the author. And I guessed wrong. There were more twists in "Marina" than I expected.

CRZ's narration is simple and straightforward (and it's nothing in comparison to the "Shadow of the Wind" trilogy), and yet he creates such complicated world of Barcelona's sewers and abandoned gothic buildings. There is more to the book if you just look into the magic and the characters a bit deeper and think of the message "Marina' delivers. A message about friendship and the choices we make in life - good and bad.

And last but not least - don't read at night, you might find it difficult to fall asleep after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The spooky side of Barcelona, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina (Kindle Edition)
This early novel, written for 'young adults' has all the atmosphere and characterisation of the later big sellers, a spooky side of Barcelona linking it with the blockbusters. Zafon draws the reader into the darker side of the city through his two young protagonists. It is shorter than - but on a level with - The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel's Game, much like The Hobbit in relation to The Lord of the Rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marina
Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews