Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another scary and mysterious adventure
'The Watcher in the Shadows' is the 3rd of Zafon's YA novels to be translated and like 'The Prince of Mist' and 'The Midnight Palace' it is scary. Following the death of their father Irene and Dorian move with their mother to the Normandy coast and that is where the adventure begins. Their mother, Simone, has a job as housekeeper for the reclusive Lazurus Jann, who used...
Published 14 months ago by I Readalot

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for younger readers
Wish I'd known before I purchased this book that it was written for younger readers - a fact which was not well-advertised by its publishers.

For those of us expecting a story of the same calibre as 'Shadow of the Wind' and 'The Angels Game' this is a waste of money. I've given it a 3-star rating as it would probably be much enjoyed by 11 - 14 year olds, but as...
Published 13 months ago by R. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another scary and mysterious adventure, 9 May 2013
By 
I Readalot (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Watcher in the Shadows (Hardcover)
'The Watcher in the Shadows' is the 3rd of Zafon's YA novels to be translated and like 'The Prince of Mist' and 'The Midnight Palace' it is scary. Following the death of their father Irene and Dorian move with their mother to the Normandy coast and that is where the adventure begins. Their mother, Simone, has a job as housekeeper for the reclusive Lazurus Jann, who used to be a toy maker making wonderful automatons that almost appear to be alive. The story has a very Gothic feel, as fans of Zafon would expect, and just like his adult novels the narrative is compelling and atmospheric. Shadows and the thought of something lurking in them can very frightening, and Zafon plays on this theme to great effect with the inclusion of the idea of the doppelganger.

The story is full of adventure and mystery with plenty of twists, it is difficult to know what to make of Lazarus, is he good, evil, mad or just sad? This may be classed as YA but it is perfect for adults, particularly fans of the 'Cemetery of Forgotten Books' cycle. Once again Zafon has created a great story and told it very well, it is the kind of quality fiction that I would have loved as a child but am still able to love as an adult.

The good news is that his 4th YA novel 'Marina' is due to be published in October, the bad news is that will be the last Zafon until the final installment of 'The Cemetery of Forgotten Books', still I can always read them all again in the meantime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for younger readers, 20 Jun 2013
By 
R. Bailey (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watcher in the Shadows (Hardcover)
Wish I'd known before I purchased this book that it was written for younger readers - a fact which was not well-advertised by its publishers.

For those of us expecting a story of the same calibre as 'Shadow of the Wind' and 'The Angels Game' this is a waste of money. I've given it a 3-star rating as it would probably be much enjoyed by 11 - 14 year olds, but as I left that age group many moons ago, it was a huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CARLOS RUIZ ZAFRON, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watcher in the Shadows (Hardcover)
Great writer, whether for adults or teenagers. Could not put down the Shadow of the Wind and also the Angels Game. Read most of his books and all of them have been enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read for teens and adults alike, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enthralling and enjoyable read from Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I had the good fortune to read the novel on the northern Spanish coast which enhanced the read somewhat. I would enthusiastically recommend this book as a holiday read.

A good book for adults and teens alike. I have recommended the book to my 10 year old old son as a part of his summer holiday reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book in to evenings ,couldn't put it down.loved it.have read all his books now,shadow of the wind is my favourite book ever,read and you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carlos always writes a good book - I loved it!, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watcher in the Shadows (Hardcover)
I love his imagination and always get carried away in the story. Once you pick it up you can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master returns., 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although quite obviously from the outset written for young adults, The Watcher in the Shadows once again why Carlos Ruiz Zafon is a master of modern story telling. His wonderfully conceived plot, character and undeniable flair for writing combine to create a work that possesses that most desired status of literature: it is unputdownable. It is no wonder that revered writers and respected publications alike doff their caps to Ruiz Zafon's literary prowess.

Whilst the plot twists are less subtle than those found in The Shadow of the Wind, the journey through the novel is as immersive and addictive as any of his other works.

To conclude, Ruiz Zafon is without any shadow of a doubt (or the wind), a master of the Gothic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Carlos Ruiz Zafon, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watcher in the Shadows (Hardcover)
Such a good story teller- always holding you in anticipation - so atmospheric. You feel you know the characters.
My only criticism is that it just isn't long enough.
Looking forward to his new book in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zafon Fan, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Watcher in the Shadows (Hardcover)
Well I've read everything he's written that's been translated so far and I love it, but I am extremely biased so my rating is unfairly skewed. The book captures the same sense of spiritual mystery in The Midnight Palace and the story is told with the same easy read pace of The Shadow of the Wind. Zafon's language and description is captivating and really draws you into his world and I had moments reading this when I was genuinely scared! Very readable, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had me enthralled from beginning to the end another masterpiece can not wait until his next book comes out and had real moments of fear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Watcher in the Shadows
The Watcher in the Shadows by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Hardcover - 9 May 2013)
12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews