Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trip that started Michael Palin's new career
"Around the World in 80 Days" is the book based on the TV travelogue that Michael Palin made for the BBC in 1988. This travelogue was such a success that it started a whole series of TV programs over the following years: "Pole to Pole", "Full Circle", "Hemingway Adventure", "Sahara" and "Himalaya".
The trip was intended to follow the route traveled by Phileas Fogg in...
Published on 9 Jan 2006 by Rennie Petersen

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars travel
Disapointing as there is just an added updated chapter and nothing different to the original books script and fotos. I was expecting something more.For first timers though this is an excellent account of his travels around the world.
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by Anthony J. Gleave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Around The World In 80 Days Michael Palin, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the TV programme some years ago and already have the DVD, the book gives a more detailed account of his journey and is an excellent all round read. I bought it for my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and again, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought the original bbc paperback in 89 while still at school.......

bought a hardback and another paperback due to them getting lost mislaid over the years

saw this updated version and decided to buy - still good and with updated fore and afterwords by palin reflecting the changes since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bloomin' Good Read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nice relaxed easy going read.

It was particularly nice when he returned in search of the Al Shama and her crew, 20 years later.

Michael Palin has nice relaxed writing style and I would recommend this book to anyone interested in travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great buy, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first time I had bought a second hand book and was a little wary. However, it was as stated in perfect condition. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant update, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have thoroughly enjoyed the original book and series since released this on holiday a great read a excellent photos not expected on the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magical and timeless, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written a generation ago and much has changed since but a timeless account of a magical journey. Updated in 2008 with a short but brilliantly written section as Michael and the team retrace some of their steps in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Read, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a keen traveller and reader of anything travel-related, I found this book enjoyable mostly. It offered an insight into travelling perspectives that most, or many, conventional travel stories fail to mention, such as taking a barge along the canal corridors of Venice or on a ship crossing vast oceans. Though I prefer stories that are written in the third person, it kept me entertained, partly because I have always been a Palin fan, mostly because some of the countries he passed through I have visited myself and I was able to paint a clear picture in my head of the places mentioned. All in all, a great travel memoir...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still makes great reading, 13 July 2012
I read this book when it was first published, which was in the late 80's and re-visiting it was fun. I have always had a soft spot for Michael Palin and avidly followed all his travel TV programmes (as well as his nutty Monty Python days that came before)
The narrative is written as a day by day diary; there is only a snapshot of each country travelled as he moves with an increasing sense of urgency. Of course, this journey is against the clock.
The descriptions are fun, the people interesting and all observed and commented upon with the author's superbly dry wit.
When I went back to this book after so many years I had remembered it as primarily a picture book with captions so I was surprised (and absorbed) by the longer descriptive passages. It was also interesting to note how much the world has changed since the 1980's and the hugely sad circumstances that led to such differences as a modern world without the existence of Yugoslavia or the Twin Towers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Around the World in 80 Days, 10 Feb 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is another brilliant account of a Palin journey. It has the usual beautifully reproduced photography and is written with Palin's wonderful sense of description and humour. He visits such varied places and culture on this trip that there is something for everyone in this book. A great piece of travel literature.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 30 Jun 2003
By 
Cormac O'boyle "cjoboyle" (Wexford Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Perfect book for when you are holiday or dreaming of one. Michael Palins easy writing stlyle and narration make this a joy to listen to. The emphasis is on achieving his goal but not to the detriment of entertaining his fellow companions (ie you)
Excellent and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around The World In Eighty Days
Around The World In Eighty Days by Michael Palin (Hardcover - 4 Dec 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews