Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable candyfloss
Gideon Defoe's sequel to The Pirates! In An Adventure With Scientists (which I haven't read). A good funny read, somewhat in the Lemony Snicket gothic vein but a bit more burlesque. The pirate captain foolishly purchases the fanciest pirate ship in the yard and as a result the pirates have to turn to increasingly desperate ways of making money such as treasure...
Published on 21 Jan 2006 by William Whyte

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's good.
But not as good as the scientists. Don't get me wrong I really enjoyed this, but it didn't make me laugh quite as much as the first one, which I re-read scientists the other day and still made an embarrassment of myself on the tube; so it's not a case of the joke itself getting tired.

Whales still prompted the sort of helpless outbursts of laughter that gets...
Published on 21 Sep 2005 by smahman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's good., 21 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling (Hardcover)
But not as good as the scientists. Don't get me wrong I really enjoyed this, but it didn't make me laugh quite as much as the first one, which I re-read scientists the other day and still made an embarrassment of myself on the tube; so it's not a case of the joke itself getting tired.

Whales still prompted the sort of helpless outbursts of laughter that gets you funny looks and a seat to yourself on public transport, just not quite as often as the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable candyfloss, 21 Jan 2006
By 
William Whyte (Somerville, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling (Hardcover)
Gideon Defoe's sequel to The Pirates! In An Adventure With Scientists (which I haven't read). A good funny read, somewhat in the Lemony Snicket gothic vein but a bit more burlesque. The pirate captain foolishly purchases the fanciest pirate ship in the yard and as a result the pirates have to turn to increasingly desperate ways of making money such as treasure hunting, putting on a Vegas show, and actual pirating. A "Learn More About..." section in the back suggests ways you can help yourself if you, too, take on unmanageable debt. I actually liked the incidental gags more than the main humorous thrust of the book -- the map in the front showing how the whale evaded the pirates by hiding among tepees in North Dakota, the "Learn More About..." seciton, and the list in the back of 150 non-existent additional books in the series, such as The Pirates! In An Adventure with Rabbits, The Pirates! In An Adventure With Catastrophe Theory, and Back To Pirate Academy, Pirate Captain! vols 1-7.
Weirdly, this is called The Pirates! In An Adventure with Ahab in America. Why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whales, whales and then they go, 26 May 2008
The Pirates! in an adventure with Whaling(or with Ahab if American) draws it humour from slapstick, Monty Python, Carry on and Blackadder. Its not for children, as much of the humour relies on an adult appreciation of cliché and irony, though children may well enjoy it. This one is one long mickey take on Moby Dick.

When they are not belting out a lusty sea shanty or arguing about the best way to prepare ham, there's nothing pirates like more than a rousing adventure. And this is what the Pirate Captain, (the best leader in the Pirate world because of his beard and rugged good looks but not the sharpest cutlass in the armoury) and his shipful of variously named pirates--the scarf-wearing pirate, the pirate with an accordion, are going to get.

It also only 180ish pages long in a hand size paperback so its not going to be a heavy read. Highly recommended second of series and according to Aardman Animations website, author Gideon Defoe is working with producer/director Peter Lord on the screenplay and with writers Andy Riley and Kevin Cecil Hyperdrive (TV series) to turn the first two books from the series into a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pirates!, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buy the entire series, they're so, so funny and a nice quick read if you're feeling in a bit of a rubbish mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing Read, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling (Hardcover)
I've never read a series of books quite like these - they're so refreshing amongst all the more heavy-going novels.
The whole thing plays out like an episode of Monty Python's Flying Circus - it's not afraid to be completely daft.
Despite most of the characters not having names, rather they're reffered to as 'the pirate in red', 'the pirate with gout' etc, they
become endearing as the series goes on.

I've enjoyed the first three titles in the series so far and most recently seen the Aardman film based on the first two books,
so if you're not sure if you like this sort of thing, I'd suggest watching the film first as it captures the feel of the books flawlessly.

I'd recommend it to older children and adults (although there may be some words or references children won't get).

A brilliant series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belly laughs galore, 18 April 2012
I will be honest I only read this having seen the Pirates in an Adventure with Scientists film, and wondering whether it was suitable for my young son. It is not suitable for him, but only because the humour would (probably) be above his head. The humour is literate, clever and quite silly at times. Perfect book for commuting on the train or underground, provided you don't mind the strange looks you get as you giggle away happily to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly funny, 25 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling (Hardcover)
I got this book for Christmas from my Mum and Dad and the next few days my Dad read it to me. As I say, it was perfectly funny! Brilliant characters, especially the pirate captain. I recommend it to all my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb28fbd2c)

This product

The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling
The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling by Gideon Defoe (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews