Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monumental , sound and sobering
Anthony Beevor's book provides an excellent and often compassionate account of this most appalling human tragedy. It is written in his well established authorative yet readable style. I am not an historian as such but as far as I can tell, from other books I have consulted, Beevor has successfully brought together the account of this event and clearly demonstrates why...
Published on 26 Sept. 2012 by Ariadne

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Text Great, But!
I'm no expert. I assume the facts are accurate, and it is well told. Also has a lot of personal first-hand experiences and quotations. BUT the maps are TERRIBLE and far too few, most even lack a legend. To wit - even the end-paper map is almost totally useless! I'm surprised Mr. Beevor could allow this to occur. In contrast, his Stalingrad has better, more informative...
Published 17 months ago by Robert Thomas Macrery


‹ Previous | 115 16 1726 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second World War, 13 July 2012
By 
John Holland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well written and unbelievably detailed and exhaustive account of the Second World War. As such it is an invaluable study of an appalling period in the history of the twentieth century. However its very qualities could be considered a disadvantage to all but the most dedicated and able students who alone might be up to the demands of the study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alot of information but great., 18 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Second World War (Paperback)
This is a very intense read. I am only 1/3 through the book and gave it to my friend to read and he also found it intense. Alot of information but great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reads like a novel, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent account by this author, the prose is gripping enough to feel as if one is reading a novel whilst all along it is true, well researched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read & well written, provides a good high level overview of WW2 if you like the "dip in style" of certain key events to hang a book together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enlightening read., 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thorougly detailed in recounting the many aspects of the war, I learned a lot which will lead me to explore more detail of the individual elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. I do like Beevor, 13 Jan. 2015
By 
G. Hawkins (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second World War (Hardcover)
Very good. I do like Beevor, but I thought he could have dealt with the aftermath a bit more, including a brief bit about the war crimes trials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book about the Second World War this is it., 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second World War (Paperback)
A chronological account of the politics, actions and vivid accounts of the Second Wold War. It is both educational and entreating a 'must read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on every school library list, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second World War (Hardcover)
Every so often, the world goes mad and men and women fall upon each other with the intention of inflicting as much pain and misery as possible. Anthony Beevors latest tome makes that abundantly clear.

From the first rumblings of war to the last gasp in the East, this masterly telling of the horrors of the Second World War is hard to beat.

Many scenes will stay with me, from the animal like behaviour of ragged, starving "liberating" troops, raping and pillaging their own kind, to the tale of the nine year old boy, throwing Molotov cocktails at German panzers, then bursting into tears.

But for me, what really stands out is the sheer pettiness and small mindedness of many of the leaders, majors and generals, of all sides, who sneered at each other to score points, who manipulated the Press and hid dreadful mistakes from the public, who raced to be first to liberate a beseiged city, regardless of the cost to the already stricken citizens and their own troops, who lied about the number of "kills" they made or the amount of tonnage they supposedly sank. Each of these characters were very adept at thinking up different names for operations, however!

The appalling egos of these people are laid bare and have made me realise, like never before, that war should never be allowed to raise its ugly head again.

However, we'll never learn but go on slaughtering each other, regardless.

This book should be available in every school library, "lest we forget.

On the downside, the kindle edition contains campaign maps that need to be examined with a lens, even when "enlarged" by the kindle itself and Mr Beevors constant use of the word "horrified", does tend to pall somewhat.

But, those niggles aside, a marvellous, if depressing read. Read it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military History doesn't get any better than this!!, 12 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second World War (Hardcover)
An excellent book by a gifted miltary historian and a must for any collection. If you haven't already discovered Beevor for yourself, then may I suggest you do. Seveal good books already and the hope of many more to come. Well written, comprehensive, easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliantly conceived and expertly executed chronological narrative on the greatest conflict in human history. Read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1726 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Second World War
The Second World War by Antony Beevor (Hardcover - 7 Jun. 2012)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews