Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true legend is also full of humour, fun and modesty..
This is an absolutely delightful, engrossing book which is very hard to put down. Michel Roux jr details the various stages of his upbringing and culinary training, with revealing insights into his family life and how it integrated with the Roux family's ethic regarding food right from the start.

The book is a mixture of autobiography and recipes, and both...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by Mindpower

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Recipes different from Tv program Disappointing results
Got the book after seeing Michel Roux make the salt crusted chicken. I was watching the u tube film as my partner was making he chicken There were several discrepancies , when the salt was added which didnt want to stick to the pastry. The oven temperature and /or cooking time . The result was an under done chicken with a lot of the salt left in the bowl. We ate the...
Published 15 months ago by jmlw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true legend is also full of humour, fun and modesty.., 7 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely delightful, engrossing book which is very hard to put down. Michel Roux jr details the various stages of his upbringing and culinary training, with revealing insights into his family life and how it integrated with the Roux family's ethic regarding food right from the start.

The book is a mixture of autobiography and recipes, and both aspects reveal an honest, down-to-earth and humourous personality which one might not expect given the cool, disciplined magnificence of Le Gavroche. The recipes vary between simple and challenging, but in many instances one gets the feeling that the results are achievable, if the ability is present, rather like a musician interpreting a classical piece.

Michel's tales are full of fun and intrigue, outlining the antics of youth, the sexual tension in the kitchen, and of course the ongoing pursuit for the highest standards in food. The book is also revealing in its insights into how a restaurant is run, with interesting and varied accounts spanning the author's own career.

This is a fascinating and utterly joyous book, which succinctly represents the sheer talent and charisma of this wonderful chef and his love of food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen, 9 Dec 2010
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
Great book, bought for my brother as a Christmas gift. Arrived quickly, well packaged and as described. I had to have a sneaky read before wrapping it up and it was very good, a biograpy which was interesting and some lovely recipes intermixed. I would recommend for anyone who loves cooking and/or Masterchef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY GOOD INSIGHT INTO HIS PRE FAME LIFE, SOME NICE TIPS/RECIPES, 23 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
This was a Xmas present and although I wasn't sure at first, the memoirs and stories are very cool and made this man even more endearing that I already thought from watching him on masterchef. Having eaten at The Gavroche and enjoyed it, it was great to know more about the history. Being French myself, you will appreciate his very French point of view on life in UK and cooking in UK, which I agree with and laughed a lot.
Some nice recipes too, better than another one of his books I already have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
I love this book!!! When I recieved the book it was very well packaged and the book is bigger than i expected. The book is very good quality. It has many photos of Michel roux and his friends and family and during his biography he also suggests a lot of simple recipes. The book even has a ribbon thing to use as a book mark! I couldn't stop reading the book and it is very hard to stop reading

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED + Good value for money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life in the Kitchen, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
It is a very informative and interesting book, a sort of autobiography cum cook book. There are lovely recipes which don't look too complicated and which I am eager to try out. There is plenty to read and gives an insight into Michael Roux. The sections on his early life are very interesting. He has worked very hard to get where he is now. I would like to own more of his books as a result of buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading and cooking, 20 Feb 2012
By 
H. Fraser (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
A lovely book, allowing us to glimpse a warm and extremely hard working man hiding behind a facade of a formidable two star chef. The recipes are well worth trying even in an average domestic kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY Appetizing !!, 5 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. R. E. Mason (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
My first impression was that this book is much heavier in weight than I imagined it would be...and indicates how much it actually contains ! Sweet, gentle memories of all sorts, inter-mixed with recipes. To say the book is appetizing, is no understatement. It made me want to take the lady in my life to Le Gavroche, partly because I know she'd appreciate all that it offers. May I just say that Le Gavroche was one of the Greatest experiences of my life; and we will enjoy trying some of the recipes from the book even though you'd have to be pretty good to make them as incredibly delicious as Michel can. Even a novice would get great inspiration from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fine memoir, 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
This book is a love letter to food and the practice of gourmet tastes. Throughout there are personal recollections and insights from a very distinguished chef. I particularly enjoyed his recollections about cooking for Mitterand and the various idiosyncracies of his eating habits.

The recipes range from basic level (but insightful) to things too complicated for this amateur cook to try, but it's a pleasurable and insightful read.

Sherlock Holmes and the Underpants of Death
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
michel roux fans will love this it is great all about his life and his food so great for any fan of him or food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can one say?the man is a genius.,, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen (Hardcover)
If only i could afford a meal at Le Gavroche.Michel comes across as a nice man who maintains standards hard for many to live up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen
Michel Roux: A Life In The Kitchen by Michel Roux Jr. (Hardcover - 29 Jan 2009)
26.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews