Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Illustrated Olive Farm.
This is the perfect gift for anyone that has enjoyed The Olive Farm, The Olive Season or The Olive Harvest. I had built up vivid pictures in my mind of René, the pool, Mr Q, the olive trees and the book confirmed that my imaginings were accurate. The photgraphy is wonderful and the book is a great insight in to life with the olives and all that that involves. There...
Published on 22 Feb. 2006 by Jo

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Homes and Gardens meets Escape to the Country
Lovely pictures, cements the story and makes it even more real. The only downside is that there are not as many interior shots as expected, but the dog pictures are wonderful!
Published on 13 May 2009 by Blue Dog Girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Illustrated Olive Farm., 22 Feb. 2006
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
This is the perfect gift for anyone that has enjoyed The Olive Farm, The Olive Season or The Olive Harvest. I had built up vivid pictures in my mind of René, the pool, Mr Q, the olive trees and the book confirmed that my imaginings were accurate. The photgraphy is wonderful and the book is a great insight in to life with the olives and all that that involves. There are wonderful pictures of the dogs, family, friends, even the dreaded wild boar. Recipes as well. I loved this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Jun. 2007
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
Having read the 'trilogy' Olive Farm, Olive Season and Olive Harvest, this book puts your minds images into photographs. Carols writing comes alive with the pictures as you can so clearly relate them to the tales and experiences she has shared with her readers. The book is definately worth the money as the photographs are superb and a credit to her husband. I've just bought her lastest book and can't wait to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly wonderful book, 25 April 2010
By 
Mr. G. J. May "Geoff" (Taunton Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of Carol Drinkwater, especially her 'Olive Books' then this book is essential reading.
Carol is an intimate writer and this book lets us into her home and allows us to meet the characters that she has so lovingly written about in her books. To be able to see the scene of the action that comes across as so special to her and share a little of it's beauty and magic, is a treat not to be missed.
Even if one has had the misfortune not to have read any of her other books, then this book stands alone as a coffee table book illustrating the magical light and beauty of this region of southern France.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank Carol for this book, which I have found to be the 'icing on the cake' of her 'Olive Books'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Companion to the 6 Books, 5 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
When I read the first 2 Olive Farm books, I was delighted with Drinkwater's writing style and of course with the topic, but somewhat disappointed that the books have no photos.
A friend told me 2 years ago about this coffee table book and I ordered it.
This companion to the 6 Olive Farm books is highly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish i had found it sooner, 25 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Plymouth England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
I have read the Olive Farm books and tried to imagine what it was all like. This is a lovely photo book with narrative by Carol. I just wish I had realised sooner that she had brought it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visual Confirmation, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
Carol paints pictures in the mind with her words.The photographs confirm exactly her descrition of her home so one tends to accept other concepts she encompasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent customer service - World of Books, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
The book is an excellent accompaniment to the olive farm books and brings it all to life. The service from world of books was excellent - I had a problem with the first book dispatched but they replaced it with no quibbles. Excellent customer service and I would recommend them. Oh and the book is very good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography!, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
LaineyTiffers "Lainey" (Brighton, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
I would highly recommend this glorious book! It is the perfect accompaniment to the Olive series ~ bringing all those mental images to life. I forgot to take it along to the recent France Show to ask Carol to sign it ~ definitely won't forget it next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see the fantastic places in the olive trees books, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
Read all the books now this put icing on the top to see the beautiful places Carol spoke about plus the lovely people and the beautiful scenery she really is living the dream a Fantastic life with super hubby and family of friends brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it or should I say the person I bought if for does, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Olive Farm (Hardcover)
This was a request presses for my friend, she loves Carole Drinkwaters books, and wanted to see just where the Olive Farm books were set, she was just so excited. And was not disappointed. Top of the pressie list. I was very popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illustrated Olive Farm
The Illustrated Olive Farm by Carol Drinkwater (Hardcover - 15 Sept. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews