Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another recipe book for babies
Brilliant read. Not only does it contain some lovely recipes and helpful hints about various foods etc, but it also goes into great detail as to how the foods you are feeding your child will help to develop them or hinder their development as well as many other useful bits of information. I found it very interesting regarding food allergies and where as other books were...
Published on 25 Oct 2003 by Jules Devonish

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great as a weaning starter book
What Should I Feed My Baby?: A Complete Nutrition Guide
by Suzannah Olivier

Here is your review the way it will appear:

3.0 out of 5 stars Not great as a weaning starter book, 13 Mar 2008
By Ms. Tamara M. Shand "tshand22" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
Though this book created more problems for me when I was first...
Published on 13 Mar 2008 by Ms. Tamara M. Shand


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another recipe book for babies, 25 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: What Should I Feed My Baby?: A Complete Food And Nutrition Guide: A Complete Nutrition Guide (Hardcover)
Brilliant read. Not only does it contain some lovely recipes and helpful hints about various foods etc, but it also goes into great detail as to how the foods you are feeding your child will help to develop them or hinder their development as well as many other useful bits of information. I found it very interesting regarding food allergies and where as other books were recommending using some foods early on in the weaning process, this book advised waiting a couple of months, which can make all the difference. This book was so useful, I found myself reading snippets nearly every night and my freezer bursting at the seems with various pureed foods. I highly recommend this book to someone about to start weaning their child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the healthy minded . . ., 20 Feb 2006
By A Customer
I found this book excellent. It provides a lot of information on how to give your child a healthy start to life. It made me realise how unhealthy a lot of food is. It is basically a guide to feeding your child whole food rather than processed foods. If you are feeding them rice why would you give them white rice when brown rice is so much better for them.
I found the information on allegies (especially wheat) and dairy very useful - you may not what to follow her advice to the T but it is a good reference if you have concerns in those areas.
This book is written in plain English, well laid out and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best food book for babies I have, 5 Jan 2007
By 
Holly H (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
I've found this book by Suzannah Oliver the most comprehensive of all of the books I have on food for my baby.

After receiving no help at all from my community health visitors on what or how to feed my first child, my sister-in-law bought me this book and I have used almost all of the recipes so far. It's been a godsend!!

The information on preservatives and pre-packaged food is invaluable and I now prepare all of my son's meals from scratch. He loves them and I have no worries about what has gone into them. All it takes is a little time and effort.

A truly useful book with fantastic easy-to-follow recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great nutritional advice and recipes, 8 Aug 2006
By 
L. Perkinson "Book Lover" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Should I Feed My Baby?: A Complete Food And Nutrition Guide: A Complete Nutrition Guide (Hardcover)
A comprehensive and wonderfully easy to read book on nutrition for babies.

Suzannah Olivier provides excellent information on how to introduce a wide and nutritious range for foods to your baby helping develop a strong immune system.

Many authors, of cookbooks for babies, rely heavily on dairy and wheat and it is difficult to find books which provide interesting alternatives for parents who wish to avoid or delay introduction of these foods. This book provides excellent recipes and menu planners to do just that.

I would recommend this book along with any book by Lucy Burney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is like having a wise friend around the house, 22 Nov 1998
By A Customer
I am just so thrilled that I was given this as a gift - better than bootees any day. It's become my bible and close friend - and best of all we've become much more concious about all the family's eating habits. I particularly find it easy to follow and 'dip into' when I need info. Both of us have health problems including asthma and eczema, so I am really interested in avoiding health hassles for my daughter and this book has, so far, answered all our questions. I really don't have any criticism except what happens afterwards - is there going to be a sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY WEANING BIBLE!, 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
The best 9 I ever spent! I ordered this book amoung 5 others when I decided to wean my son onto solids. I found the advice very informal and in plain english, it was like chatting to the author in my living room. I am determined to give my son as natural a diet as possible and this book is THE book for a healthy, natural, organic feeding routine. My son is happy and very healthy and alot of it is to do with this wonderful book. It is the only book I use now, the others are all stowed away in the loft. The recipes are quick and easy to prepare and best of all give my son a very well balanced and varied diet. I love this book and only wish there was one for the grown ups in the house who don't eat as well as the little one does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great as a weaning starter book, 13 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. Tamara M. Shand "tshand22" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Should I Feed My Baby?: A Complete Food And Nutrition Guide: A Complete Nutrition Guide (Hardcover)
What Should I Feed My Baby?: A Complete Nutrition Guide
by Suzannah Olivier

Here is your review the way it will appear:

3.0 out of 5 stars Not great as a weaning starter book, 13 Mar 2008
By Ms. Tamara M. Shand "tshand22" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
Though this book created more problems for me when I was first weaning I found it a useful reference when my daughter was ten months old.

The material is not organised in a way that makes it easy to find what you need to know when you are starting out. I felt I had to become an expert on nutrition before I could begin which made the weaning process stressful.

Olivier's early weaning recipes have a strong emphasis on wholefoods and fibrous foods like lentils, brown rice, sweet potato which are not particularly good for a young baby's immature digestive system.

That said, the nutritional advice is incredibly detailed and I am finding it a useful reference point four months on. The recipes for older babies and toddlers are imaginative and go beyond the meat and potatoes fare you find in other baby recipe books. Not all of them are tasty but they inspire thinking on spices you can use - mild curry powder, delicious fresh juices, walnut pesto for pasta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice - Mothers should read !, 9 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is very different from Annabel Karmel's books as it explains foods and nutrients in details, why kids should eat this and not that... I really found this diiferent and most useful. And the recipes are quite creative. My child eats a much more varied diet because of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must!, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Well I have to say this is a great book. Not only does it have recipes but the education to boot! As a nutritionist I recommend this book to my clients, friends and family with new borns. I hope there will be a follow up from one yrs old and up! Thanks Ms Olivier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Five Starr!, 11 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Forget about Anabel Carmel and all other books about weaning. This book I highly recommend for every parent, it is a MUST that will chage your understanding of food, if you have any. In this (English) society, where food is not considered of a particular imporance to health, and where people are 95% ignorant of food benefits, this book is a revelation. A closest you could find to macrobiotic way of eating and balancing diet. I just wish, there is a way thought media or education institutions to change the minds of British society and educate them about food they eat. They would be much more happier and healthier nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Should I Feed My Baby?: A Complete Food And Nutrition Guide: A Complete Nutrition Guide
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews