Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent insight into the back of beyond
Palin is the master of travelling to wonderful places that even the most ardent backpacker will never reach and yet he manages once again to bring life into the most inhospitable of locations. Whether it’s eating camel with displaced people, watching the Dakar Rally from a sand dune or sharing a meal with a national poet, Michael Palin writes and narrates in a...
Published on 6 July 2003 by ralabaf

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars sahara desert
This book records the authors circumnavigation and crossing of the Sahara desert visiting ten territories on the way.
The book is written as a diary of the 99 days the journey took and giving snippets of information on interesting places along the way.
Although the book became a BBC series it is a presentational mess as it has no bibliography or index both of...
Published 6 months ago by G.I.Forbes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent insight into the back of beyond, 6 July 2003
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
Palin is the master of travelling to wonderful places that even the most ardent backpacker will never reach and yet he manages once again to bring life into the most inhospitable of locations. Whether it’s eating camel with displaced people, watching the Dakar Rally from a sand dune or sharing a meal with a national poet, Michael Palin writes and narrates in a fashion that allows you to drift into complete absorption and feel like you’re right there with him. Don’t be surprised if you find sand in your socks.
Sahara is his latest expedition into the unknown and builds strongly on previous voyages around the Pacific Rim, from North to South Pole and the original grand journey, Around the World in Eighty Days. Best experienced as a follow up to the TV series of the same name, the book allows the reader to relive the places seen in more depth than TV permits and the opportunity to savour some fantastic photography. At Amazon’s reduced price, this book is well worth a buy.
Read it in long absorbed sessions, or read it in short chunks, but read it. Palin takes you to the back of the back of beyond. Far away from the world of the normal travel writer and right into the homes and lives of the people he meets. Whether they’re living in shacks make from old oil drums hammered flat, or sharing a library with a cockerel, all of the characters that he meets are real and full of life. Share their lives. Read Sahara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in form!, 14 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
While I was skeptical of Palin's last effort (Palin's Hemingway Adventure), this book proves not only a delight, but also reflects an unexpected maturity in his writing.
Gone are the quick quips of the early volumes -- welcome as they were then, they would seem like worn-out comedy sketches if he still used them today.
Instead, he's grown into a reflective travel writer of some note, who deserves to be on the best-seller list not only because of the TV tie-in, but on the merits of this book alone.
As a Yank, I won't see the series for a year or more, but after reading his good work here, I can hardly wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of a jolly good bunch, 21 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
The best of Michael Palin's travelogues by far. "Sahara" takes Palin and his filming crew though countries, districts and towns that feature little in popular travel writing. His explanation of, for example, the isuues and people of Western Sahara is very well done indeed.
Safaran Africa is most often featured in print and on television because of its negative aspects, for example poverty and conflict. Indeed these feature widely in the book but the overwhelming impression left is of amazingly the diverse and complex culture of the area.
Aside from Palin's excellent writing, this book could stand on the quality of its photography alone. It eclipses many "coffee table" art books.
My best Christmas present of 2002!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have coffee table book, 18 July 2003
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
I picked up this book after having watched the accompanying BBC series, so I wondered if there was anything left to know about Palin's epic journey across North Africa in 2002. I wasn't disappointed. For ninety-nine days Palin trekked through the world's most hostile terrains, whilst experiencing a diverse host of cultures. His encounters are documented in a vibrant, chatty style, which made me laugh out loud in places. You're also transported into Palin's world - a sentiment I lacked whilst watching the TV programmes. Superb colour photographs and a pleasant layout are the icing on Sahara's cake. Top marks to this book. Everyone should have one on their coffee table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sahara, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Sahara (Paperback)
This time Michael Palin is taking on the Sahara. I am a huge fan of the TV series but as in some of the other books I had read the book gives us a different slant from what we see on TV. In the book there is much more of a personal feel and we often get a glimpse of his thoughts on the good and bad days. We get a lot of political background along with the usual descriptions of places he visits.

Also there are lots of great photos by Basil Pao who has been the stills photographer on each of Palin's travels.

A great travel book. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars St Michaels Boxed Selection, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
D. Hodson (Torbay, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sahara (Paperback)
I love Michael Palin.I'd hate to meet him, I feel like a mate and I most probably wouldn't be.I am though his companion and confidant if only through his writing and TV series.I've been reading through a boxed set of his travel writing this year (not necessarily available at its cheapest price on this particular website) and this is the most engrossing book so far.On TV I missed the challenges of the earlier journeys,the covering of all the ground between two points without the use of air travel, but as a book Sahara works much better by hopping between the most interesting areas,events and most importantly people.There's also more background history and information,the feeling less of a travel diary and more of a written up well researched journey.More truth than the TV series as well, the industrial scale of the logistics the grumpy days the bouts of illness and discomfort.Beautifully written and uplifting to read.Thanks for taking me with you Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit outdated but enjoyable., 1 July 2013
This review is from: Sahara (Paperback)
Bearing in mind what has happened in the countries mentioned in this book over the past 10 years some of the aspects are a little outdated - the ease of access to gas producing plants, the joking about being kidnapped and Gadaffi.

However, there were some excellent anecdotes and I found myself smiling throughout - the englishman who lived with a cockeral that diliked women for example. The need for armed guards in Algeria, and the constant cowering when large groups of people walked past maybe shouldn't have been as amusing as it was, but it at least gives you an insight into life as a foreigner within the Mediterranean African nations.

The main downside was that I felt Palin focused a little too much on himself rather than the landscape and the plight of the people living in it and despite the frequent mention of bad hotels, he had it far to easy throughout his travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sahara, 10 Feb. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
This is another brilliant account of a Palin journey. It has the usual beautifully reproduced photography and is written with Palin's wonderful sense of description and humour, although I did find this book slightly more tedious towards the end than any of his other travel books, for that reason i'd recommend his earlier books first. Saying that there is such diversity in such a relatively small part of north Africa that you are left astounded at all the different cultures and customs. A great piece of travel literature.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sahara desert, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
This book records the authors circumnavigation and crossing of the Sahara desert visiting ten territories on the way.
The book is written as a diary of the 99 days the journey took and giving snippets of information on interesting places along the way.
Although the book became a BBC series it is a presentational mess as it has no bibliography or index both of which are essential for a book such as this but its greatest fault is the dozens of pictures of the author when he was not needed. One picture have been enough.
Definately not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, unputdownable!, 27 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Sahara (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful book. Michael Palin's evocative descriptions made you feel that you were travelling with him, at times rib tickingly funny, at times poignant, this book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sahara
Sahara by Michael Palin (Hardcover - 26 Sept. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews