Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colossal work, stimulating read, 21 Jun 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
First published in 1966 and weighing in at over 1100 pages, this is an astonishing piece of scholarship which combines learned enquiry with lucid exposition - it's a highly intelligent but very accessible, very readable work. Chandler is a highly respected historian who has lectured at Sandhurst and established a reputation as a military historian and specialist in the Napoleonic wars.
Chandler presents an epic study of Napoleon as military commander, following his emergence at Toulon to his final defeat in the Waterloo Campaign. Befitting such a giant of history, "The Campaigns of Napoleon" is a work on an epic scale. Chandler looks at the man as military leader, presenting a stimulating analysis of the processes and principles of warfare in the late 18th, early 19th centuries. The book is profusely illustrated with black and white illustrations, maps, diagrams, and plans of campaign and battle.
This is the sort of work which is essential reference material for anyone interested in the military history of the era. However, it is also a very readable account, and stands judgement as a quality piece of biography in its own right.
I first discovered this book in the 1960's, and it has remained one of my all time favourite studies of history: though I've never considered myself to have any great interest in the Napoleonic era, Chandler's elaboration of Napoleon's genius as military leader is thoroughly absorbing. This is a book which you can pick up to browse, casually, but which quickly transforms before your eyes into one which you must read.
An essential work for students of the period, a classic work for students of military history, but also a stimulating read for anyone who enjoys an intelligent, well-written study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not big enough, 2 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
I would happily take on another work by Chandler with twice the detail presented here - the book is highly impressive, clear and does not get bogged down in the precise military details that afflict other histories.

Whilst this book is probably one of the largest single work on Napoleon's Campaigns that exists, I still feel that more detail could be provided. Nonetheless, the use of maps and stats makes every campaign crystal clear and illustrates the precision with which each manoeuvre is carried out.

Definitely worth reading - for someone interested in military campaigns, this book should be studied in great detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, comprehensive guide to the genius of Napoleon, 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
David Chandler's examination of the military campaigns and tactics of Napoleon is the best one volume work on the subject. It may, in fact, be the best examination of Napoleonic Warfare, period. Employing thorough and painstakingly detailed analysis, Chandler encompasses Napoleon's entire military career in this easy to read volume. Napoleon's tactics, and those of his opponents, are carefully analyzed, allowing the reader to clearly see why they succeeded or failed. Overall, I highly recommend this volume to military enthusiasts, and anyone with an interest in Napoleon. On a final note, make sure you obtain a copy of the English version, which has a much better jacket cover and book cover (the American version is dreadfully ugly).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the campaigns of napoleon, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
Many years old now this has well been described as the Napoleonic bible and the definitive history. Chandler wrote well--the balance between vivid description, factual detail and explanation is ideal. I agree (having seen both) that the British edition is better-looking than the gawdy and ungainly U.S. one.
Chandler is still, in my view, the leader in his field and recent books debunking Napoleon and, even worse, trying to make him accessible to war gamers, certainly are of a lesser order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Napoleonic bible, 30 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
ATTENTION ALL NEW TO THE NAPOLEONIC ERA - THIS IS YOUR BIBLE

A large hefty tome packed with a potted history of the entire Napoleonic wars by one of the masters of the subject. Read this and you will know where it all fits together and which campaign you are going to get realy stuck into first. I cannot recommend this highly enough as the only real epic on the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to own, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Philippe Nafteux "phile69" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
This is probably the best book I have ever read on this topic. This is David Chandler at his best. Although pretty long it is a book that you can't leave at any moment. Very well detailled, clear explanations and to the point vision. really a book to own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not a quick read, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
Informative, but not quite as gripping as I had expected, after having just read Dominic Lieven's Russia Against Napoleon and 1812 by Paul Britten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 23 Feb 2013
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
The best book I have read in my life. It is my first serious book on Napoleon's art of war. Yet , everything is detailed and clear. The author is pretty much neutral and offers a well researched material. I recommend this bok for anyone who is interested in the secrets of Napoleon's art of war. Note: The books focuses on the military aspects of Napoleon's life with necessary entries in the other areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
OUR FRIEND LOVES IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, great, book., 17 Dec 2004
By 
arthur aldridge (Wilson, North Carolina, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Campaigns of Napoleon (Hardcover)
If I could give this book six stars then I would. Well written, and an excellent introduction to the period. If you only read one book on the Napoleonic Wars then it should be this one. David stands shoulder to shoulder with Creasey and Fuller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Campaigns of Napoleon
Campaigns of Napoleon by David Chandler (Hardcover - 25 Sep 1995)
Used & New from: 45.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews