Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It brings Machu Picchu and the Incas into your home
This book is ideal for anyone who is thinking about going to Peru. It is an amazing read about the uncovering of Machu Picchu for the first time and really gives you a wonderful feeling of awe. You almost feel like you are there. This has to be one of the best books I have read about the Incas/Mayas/Aztecs concerning the Spanish Invasion and the aftermath - normally they...
Published on 5 May 2002 by Jayne Hammond

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading if doing the Inca Trail
This book was a hard read, and some bits of it i did skip out! However, i purchased it as was heading to the Inca Trail and wanted to read some background information. Im so glad i did as the book really gave me an insight into the history of the incas and the way in which they build their homes and monuments.

Very worthwhile if going to Peru and although...
Published on 15 April 2010 by L. Howie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It brings Machu Picchu and the Incas into your home, 5 May 2002
By 
Jayne Hammond (Lowestoft, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost City of the Incas (Hardcover)
This book is ideal for anyone who is thinking about going to Peru. It is an amazing read about the uncovering of Machu Picchu for the first time and really gives you a wonderful feeling of awe. You almost feel like you are there. This has to be one of the best books I have read about the Incas/Mayas/Aztecs concerning the Spanish Invasion and the aftermath - normally they are from a Spanish point of view and boring. This book has found not only an interesting way to describe the background history to the search for the lost city, but also makes you feel a part of it. Th unfolding of the city and the way it is described as it was found almost keeps you on the edge of your seat. I think this book has been written so you find it hard to put it down and I can safely say it has worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost City of the Incas - a gripping adventure, 20 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost City of the Incas (Hardcover)
This book tells the gripping story of the discovery of Machu Piccu. Although Bingham is an academic archaeologist he appears to be belong to the Indiana Jones school. As a travel book it is a gem - Bingham travels through uncharted teritory in the outback of Peru at teh beginning of the century. He risks his life climbing the steep hillsides to Machu Piccu after getting a tip from a local farmer. But the book is also full of detail on the finds he made at the site. It is an insight into the ways of the Inca, and the archaeologist. Although it can be a bit dry in places - the lists of finds at Machu Piccu - Bingham makes up for this with his absorbing adventure story in the earlier chapters. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 22 July 2009
By 
Soo Broo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this in preparation for a trip to Peru and found it fascinating. A really well written interesting account of the trials and tribulations leading to the discovery of what surely has to be one of the most amazing sites in the world, as well as an insight into Inca history.

Hiram Bingham is Indiana Jones incarnate; an academic and explorer/adventurer but with a wonderfully matter of fact way of describing huge hardships and fabulous finds. He comes across as being likeable and dependable.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone thinking of visiting Macchu Picchu as it really puts the enormity of what was achieved into context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why archeology is cool, 5 Feb 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves the thought of real life adventurers cutting through the jungle in search of the long lost secrets of past civilizations.

I went to Peru recently so this book brought back fantastic memories (thanks not only to Hiram Bingham's descriptions of the ruins he discovers, but also his depiction of the landscapes he travels through), and anyone who has visited Peru and Machu Picchu will love this book. However this fascinating tale will no doubt also captivate those who have not yet had that chance.

Hugh Thompson's introduction is worth mentioning, as it gives great insight into the context surrounding Bingham's expeditions and his writing of this book.
Although a few passages can get slightly descriptive (Bingham describes in certain detail the objects found during his excavations), this is a great book that'll have you captivated from page 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Indiana Jones, 27 July 2011
I just loved this book.

I'm not normally in to non-fiction, but this wasn't hard to read at all. Hiram is mad as an egg and I loved the introduction where the editor pretty much says this; it illuminated some of the more 'colourful' accounts later in the book.

Lots of cross-referencing in case you've put the book down a lot. I admit, I read it over 6 months whilst reading my other books. Didn't matter though, it was very easy to pick up.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is going to Peru (if only in their dreams). What an exciting read - wish I'd been there.

Now own a paper-back copy (so my husband can read it), my copy on my Kindle and a lovely hard-back with lots of photos. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars City in the sky, 17 April 2011
I read this book when I was in Peru along with WH Prescott's 'Conquest of Peru'. Prescott's book gives a great history of the Inca empire and yet it is amazing to think that at the time of his writing Machu Pichu had yet to be discovered by Bingham. This he did in 1911 and he explains how he came about this fantastic discovery in great detail. He covers the trial and tribulations of finding this great city in a rich and lively fashion and the descriptive detail of Machu Pichu is wonderfully written. The photographs in the book add a historical veneer to the whole context of the book, which in the end tells us how a scholar ultimately discovered one of the greatest historical sites built by man after laying undiscovered for over three hundred years. A really interesting read, sometimes laboured in places but overall an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading if doing the Inca Trail, 15 April 2010
By 
L. Howie "Scot bookworm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was a hard read, and some bits of it i did skip out! However, i purchased it as was heading to the Inca Trail and wanted to read some background information. Im so glad i did as the book really gave me an insight into the history of the incas and the way in which they build their homes and monuments.

Very worthwhile if going to Peru and although slow at times, im so glad i read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inca Trail must read, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read before you visit Macchu Pichu esp if you are doing the Inca Trail as I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Better than New, perfect! i definitely recommend these guys, I can t wait to read this book! Long time I waited to have in my hands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lost city of the Incas, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was an amazing book. It is difficult to comprehend how these civilisations existed all those years ago. Quite astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost City of the Incas
Lost City of the Incas by Hiram Bingham (Hardcover - 14 Feb 2002)
Used & New from: £7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews