Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found it good and interesting
I am able to understand what I've read and can put it into practice, found it to help me understand why I get the reactions from others and how to workout what to do next.
Published on 24 Feb. 2009 by M. J. Ryan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The reviews for this book were very favourable and the reader was led to believe that the book had been written for a lay person to understand. IT WASN'T! Very high brow - didn't get past the first couple of pages
Published on 6 July 2010 by Pooh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found it good and interesting, 24 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy: The Classic Handbook to its Principles (Condor Books) (Paperback)
I am able to understand what I've read and can put it into practice, found it to help me understand why I get the reactions from others and how to workout what to do next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for TA students, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a TA student you've probably been referred to this seminal text by Eric Berne on your reading list. If like me you've an all round interest in analytical psychology you'll be keen to explore how TA fits into the continuum of psychotherapeutic theory. This book does that. Berne recounts his Freudian roots and his own mentors before explaining his own development of the ego state model. His case history illustrations are short and humorous unlike many other writers. It's an easy read if your familiar with the TA principles but not suitable for those wishing for a self help or introductory text. If you're a student of TA you'll be glad you've read it and be reassured that TA follows a tradition of proper psychoanalytic theory and not a pop psych', 'reach for the sky', Californi-fad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TA and Eric Berne, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. Jl Saxton (East Midlands U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am shamed to admit that my knowledge and understanding of this incredible man is patchy and incomplete, I know somebody who is currently training in this expansive field and have learned a little about Eric Berne and TA from them.

As far as I can understand Transactional Analysis is a growing field in Psychotherapy, it deals with social relationships and interactions by helping clients to understand themselves and the world around them, this seems to me to combine client centred therapies with other mainstream elements of psychotherapy. I am not qualified to say for certain, and have only the conjectures of ignorance to offer.

I will therefore content myself to say that I am incredibly pleased with the service received, this item arrived in record time and in wonderful condition, your service was exceptional in every way and I thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a technical handbook, 15 July 2012
By 
M. Grende "Mark the Limey" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy: The Classic Handbook to its Principles (Condor Books) (Paperback)
It is the original classic and definitive Transactional Analysis sourcebook. Not an easy-to-read guide, more a technical handbook/casebook focused only on the transactional model and which does not acknowledge scope to integrate with other therapeutic treatments, but then that's not its function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Games., 20 July 2012
By 
Kevin A. Lazenby (Madeley, Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, as with its companion book, gives an incisive psychological insight to the way people think and behave, in the context of Mind Games, and how they are played and classified. A must for those that are interested in what makes people tick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy: The Classic Handbook to its Principles (Condor Books) (Paperback)
The reviews for this book were very favourable and the reader was led to believe that the book had been written for a lay person to understand. IT WASN'T! Very high brow - didn't get past the first couple of pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy: The Classic Handbook to its Principles (Condor Books) (Paperback)
Thanks very much. Enjoyed the book very much. Easy read, which is what I need. One again thank you. Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thanks a lot. send books always so easily. books are very important. i like to read very much. thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy: The Classic Handbook to its Principles (Condor Books) (Paperback)
Found this book to be heavy going and rather ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transactional Analysis., 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy: The Classic Handbook to its Principles (Condor Books) (Paperback)
Great book on T.A. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews