Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2008
Campbell explores myths and religion in such a way as to challenge our thinking and our understanding no matter what our backgrounds. An incredibly relevant and important book to help us understand the world we live in - both physically and mentally. Campbell's style is lucid and entertaining and the moments where his own personality creep in (his love of the US for instance) they only serve to make the work feel more like a dialogue between friends and less like an academic treatise. I highly recopmmend this to anyone and everyone! Indeed in the 21st Century this hold be compulsory reading in all schools and collges all over the world!
0Comment23 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
A very clearly written account of myths compared with todays happenings. Chapters start with what is going to be dealt with and at the end of the chapter how the story relates to the start of the chapter.
A clear account of oriental and occidental comparisions especially Buddism.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
A penetrating review of world religions and corresponding myths. A brilliant exposition with clarity and insight.It compares the western concept of God as a seperate kingly entity as projective 'Father' who admnisters punishment and reward, to the Eastern of Gnosis - the christian 'heresy'. Jesus is seen as God in man, unique, but in the Orient God is immanent in all men, to be revealed as identification with the Divine and loss of the sense of self. But infintely more gained.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This series of essays/lectures on mythological themes is a delightful read in which Campbell's lifelong studies bear fruit in insight and understanding about who we are and our place in the scheme of things. It has not foxed with age (originally published in 1973) and with its clarity of style and thought, goes does like a great liqueur.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I really wish I had read this years ago. Clearly many of the essays have been seminal ones - and a great deal of thought and criticism has in fact had these essays in mind - but never clearly acknowledged them!!

I am really annoyed that no-one recommended I read this before now!!!

The first of these essays was written a long time ago now - but charts a path for the struggle between Islam and the West - almost as though it perceives the threat and is outlining instructions to try and deal with it!!

The language of the book is really lucid and accessible and I would really recommend that you all invest in a copy.

It will probably make sense of all the Hollywood family films you've ever watched since the 1960s......
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Purchased as a present for my wife who is into this type of thing and she seems to enjoy it
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
A beautiful (often challenging) journey through time, picking at those everlasting threads of truth etched into the fabric of mankind.

A great recommendation - which I plan to pay forward one thousand times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Heavy going and probably best read in tandem with another book to allow time to reflect and digest after each paper. That said it is an incredibly interesting topic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Joseph Campbell work never disappoints,I would recommend this reading for anyone into psychology / philosophy.
A true inspiring reading from a lot of research.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
worth reading. interresting knowlege of myths. well thought out. this book is for the alternative minded. the pictures are good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse