Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elephant in the classroom
I have just finished reading this book and it is fabulous. It brings to life the new Numeracy framework and is packed with lots of useful ways of improving the quality of teaching in the classroom. This book is also focused on the teacher - parent - child partnership and it explains how each has to play their part.

The book compares how excellent teaching in...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by P. Fogarty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just research discussing benefits of things like
Having been teaching 10 years this book just introduced some ideas which are now daily practise in schools. Was hoping as a summer read I would find some inspirational ideas for the new year but sadly not, just research discussing benefits of things like AfL
Published 2 months ago by Lindsey Ford


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Fantastic Maths Book.The enlightened Elephant, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
The Elephant in the Classroom is compulsory reading for all maths teachers, particularly those teaching the young or not so young pupils. My American educated grandchild who has just commenced teaching in a secondary school, was rather surprised at the lack of maths education the children had. "So boring" they said. She soon altered that. Now there is great interest in her classes, and I am sure that she has found Jo Boaler's comments most encouraging. This morning My grandchild said it was 'fantastic'.The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class!, 3 Nov 2014
By 
Tahir Usman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
I got this for my sister for her PGCE Teaching course in Maths. Therefore can’t really comment on the content (not that I would understand any of it anyway) but she passed her exams so it must have been useful. Was delivered on time and was well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring read, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
A really interesting read for any teacher or parent. As a primary maths teacher it is really interesting how this ties in with current research and theory. It inspires you to improve your practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the subject or think you hate it, maths is vitally important., 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this, and I have to say that as a parent and school governor, this is certainly the most important book I have read in the last five years. Professor Jo Boaler is a mathematician and an educator, and is currently the Marie Curie Professor of Mathematics Education at the University of Sussex. She has an impressive track record as a teacher and as a researcher into how children learn mathematics, how they are taught mathematics (often very badly), and why so many children sadly fail to engage with maths on a meaningful level.
I fell into that last category very neatly; maths made absolutely no sense to me at school and I failed my Maths O level dismally badly. At a young age I was written off by my maths teacher as having no aptitude for the subject at all, yet when faced with pages of molar equations which needed to be solved in my Chemistry O level, I came out with an A grade, because the algebra needed to solve them was important, fun and actually made sense - unlike the dull, virtually incomprehensible algebra I had been taught in Maths class. I have never really understood why this divide between theoretical and applied maths was so wide and apparently unbridgeable, but after reading this book, I have discovered that the teaching of maths in the UK and the US has been so narrow and proscriptive that it has doomed frighteningly large swathes of the population to unnecessary failure.

The almost universal belief that males are much better at maths and science than females has now been exploded. It is only in recent years, as maths results of male students have deteriorated and results achieved by females have improved that any real notice has been taken of how maths is being taught in our schools; Professor Boaler presents a convincing comparison of what she has observed first hand in schools with the research outlining how traditional methods of maths teaching fare when compared with the results and teaching presented in other countries. The disparity between the results is huge and rather frightening; she argues that it is essential that we act now in order to stop the rapid decline in maths standards and achievements in our students and reverse the trend. There is a substantial body of research which supports her analysis of the situation and she is at pains to provide extensive resources for interested teachers to use to enhance the learning and outcomes for groups of children or for parents to use at home with their children. Professor Boaler argues that maths should be taught as enjoyable problem-solving both at an individual and a group or class level rather than a solitary pursuit involving enormous amounts of learning rules in order to achieve the results needed by schools in the mandatory SATS testing of children.

I was particularly pleased to see that she makes reference to the important role that school governors can and should play in ensuring that the maths taught at grass-roots level in primary schools is working, and if not, what could and should be done to improve things. I would urge anyone who has an interest in education or who has children or grandchildren of school age to get a copy of this book and see how differently maths could and should be taught. If you struggled with maths at school, you could be in for a pleasant surprise as you find that you *do* have an aptitude for maths after all !

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic read - great ideas clearly expressed. Makes you really think about how you teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need for change!!, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
Interesting .. everyone should read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For heads, teachers and maths leaders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
Good read, very funny in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fasinating, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
Really fasinating read, was required to read this for my PGCE but it was really good and helpful for my preperation for teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars elephant review, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths (Paperback)
I wanted a book that was more hands on rather than theoreitcal. i will study it carefully and it may be some use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elephant in the Classroom: Helping Children Learn and Love Maths
£8.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews