Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure for the discerning reader
A fictional adventure and romance story based on the Indian Mutiny (British version) or Uprising (Indian point of view). Either way this is engrossing. A desperate situation faced by believable characters, none of them perfect, but each one acting according to perceived interest and, or, principle. The background of nineteenth century India is elaborately detailed and...
Published on 3 Feb. 2011 by John Barrett Rose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes time to get into the plot!
Still trying to get to grips with this book - but I will get there enentually. I expect it jusy doesn't grab you from the very beginning.
Published on 24 Nov. 2012 by Rosy-Posy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure for the discerning reader, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightrunners of Bengal (Story-Tellers) (Story-Tellers) (Paperback)
A fictional adventure and romance story based on the Indian Mutiny (British version) or Uprising (Indian point of view). Either way this is engrossing. A desperate situation faced by believable characters, none of them perfect, but each one acting according to perceived interest and, or, principle. The background of nineteenth century India is elaborately detailed and compelling. Indians and Englishmen are portrayed with deep understanding and real sympathy. This is a work that can be re-read many times without losing its impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Bloodcurdling, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never mind that it was a well-used penguin copy, the book itself was excellent. There was much savagery during and after the Indian Mutiny on both sides. John Masters writes from his experiences as a soldier in India towards the end of the 'British Raj'. This historical novel about the Indian Mutiny was John Master's first. It won high critical praise when it was first published in 1951.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master of storytelling, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
C. Hudson "blotty" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightrunners of Bengal (Story-Tellers) (Story-Tellers) (Paperback)
John Masters has a way with words, and a wonderful memory for the unusual, amusing, or sad incidents he has witnessed or been told of in his army career. He starts his story as a bit of a know all, but soon has his rough edges ground down by the people he meets, both in England and in India. A thoroughly engrossing book, especially if you have Indian or army connections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece from John Masters, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. J. N. Plant (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs.UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If anyone is truly grateful for the work Amazon do then I am . I had forgotten all about the work of John Masters. An organisation called Slightly Foxed reminded me about him. And through Amazon I obtained a long since out-of-print book. It is a masterpiece of storytelling, Masters knew his Indian history, He, and his family had served there for several generation. This story tells in superb detail the Indian Mutiny of 1657 It is truly a page-turner of the highest class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real John Masters classic, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightrunners of Bengal (Story-Tellers) (Story-Tellers) (Paperback)
I read this book many years ago at school. It must have stuck in my memory as a really good story and I wanted to read it again. In and out of print since, I was pleased to find a pristine copy secondhand, I've only just started to read it, but it is as good as I remember, a real John Masters classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of the events surroundinmg the Indian mutiny, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating tale, full of facts surrounding the mutiny in Bengal and the surrounds woven around a fictitious hero. An excellent read which portays much of the life and times faced by the British colonial administrators and the East India Company and its impact on the lives of the ordinary Indian people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very grippng book based on actual facts written by an author who understands India and it's past., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Masters was a very good writer with a full lifetime of experiences in India and the region. This book gives a true picture of the build up and occurance of an historic happening.

I would recommend it to anyone interested in India. I first read it during the 1960s when I was a deck apprentice on British merchant ships runing to India and Bangladesh that had Indian and Bangladeshi crews. John Masters' books capture the true feel of the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars India in the Raj, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
barjil (BEMBRIDGE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of a series of books by John Masters, who was in the Indian Army. They run from the time of the East India Company till the modern day. 'The Nightrunners of Bengal' is the one about the mutiny. I was surprised that one critic said the book was difficult to get into.... The plot is there from the first pages and the characters are well drawn. Another critic said it was the mutiny from the British point of view but it does give the reasons for the mutiny; these should have been obvious then but it's not surprising that they weren't. People are of their time and can't be compared with our attitudes today.
This is the best of the series and the next best is 'The Deceivers' about the worship of Kali. Can we please have this too in a Kindle edition, Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising and powerful book, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really surprised by the quality of the writing and the story-telling. This is a thoughtful and compelling account of the Indian mutiny, which is properly sensitive to the Indian side of the story. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john masters at his best., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightrunners Of Bengal (Paperback)
john masters paints a good picture of India with his excellent stories and this is a good one, a bygone era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightrunners of Bengal (Story-Tellers) (Story-Tellers)
Nightrunners of Bengal (Story-Tellers) (Story-Tellers) by John Masters (Paperback - 11 May 2000)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews