Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want a satisfying, natural birth?, 11 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
Read this book! Michel Odent is a wonderful doctor who realized the unnecessety of all the medical interventions and gadgets in birth and gave women back the right to do what they do naturally: give birth to their babies naturally, fully alert, following what nature and instinct tell them to do! And that was a long time before, when all the rest of the obstetric worl was introducing more and more medical interventions.
This books decribes his experience of starting a different birth approach in Pithiviers, France, in 70's as well as the whole process of pregnancy, birth preparation and birth itself. It is not complicated, it is not full of medical expressions: it is warm, it is reassuring, it is full of first hand experience. Book includes wonderful photographs of natural births.
A very inspiring book for every expectant mother who is considering unmedicated birth: either home or hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, I wish Dr's and Midwives would read it!, 13 Oct 2006
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
I read this book with a growing sense of anger as I discovered just how unneccessary and damaging modern western childbirth practices are. Why we still blindly do the same unnatural things to women over and over again is beyond me! Forceps, opiates, stirrips, none of these things have a place in childbirth. More women would enjoy giving birth if they read this, and even more if it was compulsory reading for all maternity staff!

It gave me the confidence to insist on doing things my way and as a result I had a beautiful natural homebirth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 16 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
This is a very good book - easy to read, gets to the point without the unnecessary 'fluff', is very informative - from a medical point of view, but also very 'personal' and warm.

I very much enjoyed reading it & would recommend to any parents-to-be who would like more information on natural birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book EVER, 22 April 2008
By 
Judith Willothewisp "Judith" (Maastricht, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
My mother was/is a Doula for nearly forty years, she has met Michel Odent and spent time a his clinic in Pithiviers. She applies all she has learnt from him to the births she attends and when women come to her with their third or fourth birth you must conclude that the application of Michel Odents practices is needed. .My wife (we are a lesbian couple) is a midwife here in Holland and also applies as much of his philosophy as she possible can and with 55% of her practices birth now at home and natural producing happy and clam babies and mothers with nearly zero incidence of post natal depression I suggest that you draw your own common sense conclusion. I am a physiologist and his views on birth hormones are so right.
He is a wonderful doctor who realised that all the medical interventions, technology and gadgets in birth caused as many problems as they solved, in fact look at the mother and baby mortality figures if you doubt his. Maeria, a country with the highest levels of medical `help' are 21st in the mortality tables, countries like Holland with a more natural approach are 3rd. He did this from good old fashioned observation and NOT by looking at what machines told him. He is in touch with the heart of women and that is a refreshing change in a basically misogynistic profession. He gave women back the right to do what they do naturally: give birth to their babies privately without a stream of strangers with medical credentials leering at your vagina, naturally, fully alert, filled with their mother's NATURAL hormones to bond them, following what nature and instinct tell them to do.

Women know how to give birth, it is NOT a medical event, it is part of a woman's natural state of being. The myth of medicine is that it saves lives when in fact for low and medium risk births medical intervention will increase the risk to your life and you and your baby's well being. This book will open your eyes not just to the gross presumption of doctors during labour and birth but to many other things.

Please read this book, demand and exert your rights, but most all learn for yourself and enjoy giving birth, it is amazing. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 May 2009
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
Birth Reborn was written a while ago, and its a testimony to the book's amazingly good sense that the childbirth practices Michael Odent was pioneering in the 80s are now being widely adopted by uk birthing centres and hospitals. This book is inspirational and has boosted my confidence about labour and giving birth. Its a fairly short read and worth every word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice story, uplifiting like any birth should be!!!, 28 Dec 2009
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
I love the book, its really uplifing. It makes you realised that is "normal" to give birth and any women should be bale to do it, without fear, without so much medicalization.
Every pregnant women should read it!!
Also very good for your partner so he can understand better his role.

I 100% recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Mother-To-Be Should Read It, 24 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for every mum (and dad) to be, In fact I think all the people attending a birth should be given this book too. It's an empowering, uplifting insight into how birthing should be, i.e.:a natural and beautiful process and there is nothing to be feared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and engaging. Great!, 9 Dec 2010
This review is from: Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be (Paperback)
I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about natural birth and looks for objective, honest information. Well written, engaging and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be
Birth Reborn: What Childbirth Should Be by Michel Odent (Paperback - 14 April 1994)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews