Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Debunking Inflated Metaphors
Everyone except the humourless snob snorts with derision at the fanciful language used by the bottlers of wine and the television 'experts', but it takes the witty art of Ronald Searle to reveal just how silly such talk is. He does it by taking its metaphors semi-literally; typically by applying them to a person (usually a woman) in his delightful politically incorrect...
Published on 11 July 2009 by Simon Darragh

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I bought this a present for my Dad who is a fan of a nice bottle of wine (or two). To be honest, I don't know what I was expecting, but I don't think this was it. The illustrations are good, and there's humour in there, but I feel like there's something lacking. That said, my Dad seemed to love it, so maybe you just need to appreciate wine to appreciate this book.
Published on 30 Dec. 2010 by Lulu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Debunking Inflated Metaphors, 11 July 2009
By 
Simon Darragh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
Everyone except the humourless snob snorts with derision at the fanciful language used by the bottlers of wine and the television 'experts', but it takes the witty art of Ronald Searle to reveal just how silly such talk is. He does it by taking its metaphors semi-literally; typically by applying them to a person (usually a woman) in his delightful politically incorrect way.
A book to be enjoyed by all who like wine and many who don't; it might even make a pretentious connoiseur laugh at himself.
Arresting and surprising, with a fruitiness that is complimented rather than negated by its acidity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winespeak, a book for all wine lovers, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. Alison J. Christie (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
If you love wine and have a sense of humour about some of the more pretentious descriptions of the fermented fruit of the grape, this is the book for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 30 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
I bought this a present for my Dad who is a fan of a nice bottle of wine (or two). To be honest, I don't know what I was expecting, but I don't think this was it. The illustrations are good, and there's humour in there, but I feel like there's something lacking. That said, my Dad seemed to love it, so maybe you just need to appreciate wine to appreciate this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
I wanted some small gift for friends who produce their own wines and this was just the ticket. The condition of the 'used' books was excellent - I would never have known they were not new. Certainly the reaction of one of the recipients was one of great enjoyment and I look forward his wine labels next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
Excellent entertaining book individual prints would make good framed pictures for display in a kitchen or similar room. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
M. D. (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
We came a cross this book while on holiday in New Zealand- it was left as a bathroom read in one of the holiday houses we rented. It is a very well presented book, with great satiric sketches and corresponding one-liners, all related to wine drinking.

Any wine lover would love flicking through the book and have a good chuckle with it. In fact we enjoyed it so much, I ordered couple as soon as we came back from our holiday- one as a present and one for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for wine lovers., 24 Mar. 2000
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
This is a compilation of brilliant illustrations accompanied by the standard "wine talk" phrases. An ideal gift for any wino!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
Always been a fan of Ronald Searle and thoroughly enjoyed his cartoons. Can certainly recommend. Buy it if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite funny. Quite rude. Wine required., 4 Feb. 2009
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
These Searle cartoons are quite funny - not really double-you-up funny, but quite funny. One imagines that, after a few agreeable glasses of plonk, however, they could become the funniesht jokesh I've *ever* heard!! Cheeky nose!!!!! A-HA-HA-HAAAH!!!

A bit close to the knuckle in a few places as well - in a quaint, slightly lovable, 1970s sort of way. A joke about their knockers there, etc.

We bought it to give as a Christmas present but felt it might not get the wholehearted reception we hoped for unless accompanied by several bottles of Chateau Sexist-pun 1969, fwah, fwah, fwah! So we kept it, and... you know... after a few glasses it is quite funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Winespeak (Hardcover)
great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illustrated Winespeak
The Illustrated Winespeak by Ronald Searle (Hardcover - 31 Dec. 1983)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews