Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 February 2004
"A Play What I Wrote" -- the catchphrase of the late Ernie Wise of that wonderful double act -- Morecambe & Wise. But I don't think that Ernie ever wrote a play or sketch.
However Ronnie Barker of that other celebrated and highly popular double act - The Two Ronnies - has written a couple of plays. And since the 1960s he has written hundreds of monologues and sketches, totting up some half a million words.
In his book "ALL I EVER WROTE" are, word for word, almost all the scripts that Ronnie wrote. Regrettably copies of some of his early writings were not saved at the time and have been lost forever. What remains is delightful and thoroughly enjoyable and amusing. Most were televised and whilst reading those that we have seen on the small screen they can quickly and easily provide us with a mental picture in our minds.
The quiet, unassuming Ronnie Barker was able to perform the dozens of parts for us by slipping into the characters not only in his ability to change his voice and dialects but also with the remarkable changes of appearance, so that sometimes we needed to look carfefully and closely to be sure it was him.
Buy the book, settle down in a quiet corner and be prepared for an enjoyable time reading and visualising these fascinating and humourous writings.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
I was lucky enough to obtain a signed copy of this book by my comedy hero; Ronnie Barkers' work on screen was inventive, nostalgic, satirical, wistful and saucy but never cruel or obscene. Most of this book is taken up with material from the hugely successful BBC series "The Two Ronnies" penned by Ronnie under a pseudonym. It features sketches and songs, Two Ronnies serials like "The Phantom raspberry blower" and the wonderful "Piggy Malone and Charlie Farley", as well as the scripts for the marvellous lost silent films "The Picnic" and "By the Sea" (with Ronnie Corbett) as well as the earlier masterpiece "Futtocks End". I can't recommend this book highly enough. Genius.
Review by Ian Stephens
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2001
Ronnie Barker is a national treasure. No question. From the bumbling Granville in "Open All Hours", via the wise-cracking Fletcher in "Porridge" to larger half of his classic double act with Ronnie Corbett, this man oozed comedy. Not only was he one of the most talented character actors of his generation but his abilty to write comedy was also extraordinary.
This book does exactly what it says on the cover: contains all Barker's scripts from his long career in television and they make joyous reading. Okay, some of the jokes are predictable and yes, some of the situations do seem particularly dated but everything is written with such verve and good feeling that you are willing to forgive these minor quibbles. This is an innocent kind of comedy, a comedy from a better time, life affirming and brilliant.
So whatever you think of the current crop of comedians, spend a few hours in the company of Ronnie Barker and learn how it should be done.
Four candles? No, fork handles!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
Those three words say it all, really. I have been a fan of R.B. for years, yet only recently got round to reading this book. In fact, I haven't quite finished it, it's massive. There isn't an item that will dissappoint, no matter how old a piece is, one can still see the humour even after three decades or more. Mind you that might be a reflection of my age!! There are many sketches that you remember and come to life as you read them and you can 'see' R.B. as you read. His comedy was down to his ability as a straight actor in his early working life and he never forgot his craft. Brilliant. What a genius!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
This book by Ronnie Barker contains everything it says on the cover,it's a brilliant book, and brings back so many happy memories. It arrived on time and worth every penny.All I Ever Wrote: The Complete Works
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2005
This book was absolutly amazing i personally think Ronnie Barker was an amazing guy and i have done numerous tributes to Ronnie Barker on stage in front of as many as 1500 people and each of them loved the comedy and Ronnie Barker!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2000
An excellent book which contains everything Ronnie Barker wrote, from most of the Two Ronnies sketches to his sit-coms and early performances. If you can't find a Two Ronnies video (as there arn't any - a serious crime on the part of the BBC) then get this book! It is wordplay at it's finest. It's so big that there is even a picture of Ronnie on the side beaming out to brighten up your bookshelf - what more do you want?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
Ronnie Barker was surely one in a million. This book is a treasure trove of one exceptional man's comedy genius. There will never be one quite like him - he is the benchmark of all comedy. Radio and television sketches, songs, lyrics, plays, monologues, and more - they're all there - each a gem, each to be savoured and enjoyed for the sheer brilliance of his skill. What a bargain!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
I am in stage production's,and I came across This book as it was used by the producer with perrmissin in the show. I played Ronnie Barker.
The dialogue,and book use proper english grammer, and it is up too the reader to work out what is intended in the script. Your own imagination.
No smut. Good clean fun.
I pick the book up,and read to feel happy. Buy it and learn how to laugh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
If you are at all involved in Old Time Music hall you MUST buy this book. It's a treasure chest of all the sketches and songs that made the Two Ronnies so great and many of them are perfect for performers to have a go at.
One star is missing because it would be even more perfect to have some of the sheet music included but hey, you can't have everything.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)