Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Fascinating
I couldn't put this down thoroughly enjoying Amanda Owen"s descriptions of life and work on a remote hill farm. She tells how life really is with humour and panache. The book is also an unabashed advert for large families pulling together as they used to, happy without the trappings of the consumer society. Do read and enjoy this book.
Published 2 months ago by Ann Gleeson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars comments
I enjoyed the book as light reading, I know the farm and previous owners, so maybe Iam the wrong person to comment. Iam sure most people will find it informative and give them an insight into rural life. Having been there and done that I think makes me a hard task master. Good luck to her with the book though.
Published 1 month ago by Rosie Stephenson


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Fascinating, 25 April 2014
By 
Ann Gleeson "Musicus" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this down thoroughly enjoying Amanda Owen"s descriptions of life and work on a remote hill farm. She tells how life really is with humour and panache. The book is also an unabashed advert for large families pulling together as they used to, happy without the trappings of the consumer society. Do read and enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely book!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
Utterly absorbing and engaging - beautifully written insight to the real Yorkshire dales and a lovely family. Couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briiliant, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Free range children indeed. What a wonderful childhood, not to mention education. The book kept me interested all the way through. Entertaining, informative & a lesson to the rest of us that there is an amazing world out there in our own countryside beyond the tv & internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an ideal lifestyle (though I am well aware it is not all rose tinted). This book portrays exactly how children should be allowed to develop. If only more of us could take an example from this book, far better child rearing advice than some more disciplinarian advisers! Please write more Amanda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On top of the world, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
I read this book in 2 days - loved reading about Alison and Clive and their growing family in the wolds of Ravenseat. Alison's story shows both the highs and lows of farming and living in such a remote location.
Having seen Alison and Clive both on the Coast to Coast programme with Julia Bradbury and ITV's The Dales series presented by Ade Edmondson I was interested to read more about their lives and adventures.

Definitely a book for fans of the Yorkshire Dales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic and interesting, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
BRILLIANT BOOK great read .wonderful insight to the world of farming and bringing up a family. Hardworking and loyal to each other and to the animals and land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fabulous insight into the fascinating life that Amanda and her family lead., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an ardent follower on Twitter this book was a long awaited and did not disappoint. The only downside was the relative lack of photos (in the kindle edition) of her lovely family and the amazing Ravenseat.

I was gripped from start to finish with this story of how a girl realised her dreams, I marvel on a daily basis via Twitter at how well she manages to juggle all her responsibilities and to read the back story was a privilege.

Thank you Amanda for sharing your remarkable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the Last Horsemen, this if for you, 26 April 2014
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
A funny, heartwarming and inspiring true story of life as a shepherdess in one of the most remote and beautiful spots in England.

Amanda Owen has been seen by millions on ITV's The Dales, living a life that has almost gone in today's modern world, a life ruled by the seasons and her animals. She is a farmer's wife and shepherdess, living alongside her husband Clive and seven children at Ravenseat, a 2000 acre sheep hill farm at the head of Swaledale in North Yorkshire. It's a challenging life but one she loves.

In The Yorkshire Shepherdess she describes how the rebellious girl from Huddersfield, who always wanted to be a shepherdess, achieved her dreams. Full of amusing anecdotes and unforgettable characters, the book takes us from fitting in with the locals to fitting in motherhood, from the demands of the livestock to the demands of raising a large family in such a rural backwater. Amanda also evokes the peace of winter, when they can be cut off by snow without electricity or running water, the happiness of spring and the lambing season, and the backbreaking tasks of summertime - haymaking and sheepshearing - inspiring us all to look at the countryside and those who work there with new appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, written from the heart, 6 May 2014
By 
Mrs. H. C. McCash "brokennail" (Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book, I could not put it down.

Amanda has written from the heart, telling the inspiring story of her life, marriage to Clive and the arrival of there fantasic family.

What an inspiration to us all. I cannot wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous., 6 May 2014
By 
Mrs. A. B. Graham "angebg" (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Took me back to my childhood, of which the first 7 years were spent about 10 - 11 miles away from Ravenseat as the crow flies, north easterly. Wonderful descriptions of life as it is rarely lived now - but what way for children to learn! I read it on kindle, and follow Amanda on Twitter - such a pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Yorkshire Shepherdess
The Yorkshire Shepherdess by Amanda Owen (Hardcover - 10 April 2014)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews