Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Fascinating
I couldn't put this down thoroughly enjoying Amanda Owen"s descriptions of life and work on a remote hill farm. She tells how life really is with humour and panache. The book is also an unabashed advert for large families pulling together as they used to, happy without the trappings of the consumer society. Do read and enjoy this book.
Published 4 months ago by Ann Gleeson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Readable Account of Life on a Remote Hill Farm in Yorkshire
Having walked many times in the Tan Hill / Swaledale area, and walked past Ravenseat, I was highly interested in what Amanda Owen had to say about life in that part of the world.
Although the book is basically quite readable, it tends to be a long series of anecdotes rather than anything more substantial. Some of these anecdotes are very interesting, particularly if...
Published 1 month ago by thegreypanther


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Fascinating, 25 April 2014
By 
Ann Gleeson "Musicus" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this down thoroughly enjoying Amanda Owen"s descriptions of life and work on a remote hill farm. She tells how life really is with humour and panache. The book is also an unabashed advert for large families pulling together as they used to, happy without the trappings of the consumer society. Do read and enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briiliant, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Free range children indeed. What a wonderful childhood, not to mention education. The book kept me interested all the way through. Entertaining, informative & a lesson to the rest of us that there is an amazing world out there in our own countryside beyond the tv & internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely book!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
Utterly absorbing and engaging - beautifully written insight to the real Yorkshire dales and a lovely family. Couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an ideal lifestyle (though I am well aware it is not all rose tinted). This book portrays exactly how children should be allowed to develop. If only more of us could take an example from this book, far better child rearing advice than some more disciplinarian advisers! Please write more Amanda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous., 6 May 2014
By 
Mrs. A. B. Graham "angebg" (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Took me back to my childhood, of which the first 7 years were spent about 10 - 11 miles away from Ravenseat as the crow flies, north easterly. Wonderful descriptions of life as it is rarely lived now - but what way for children to learn! I read it on kindle, and follow Amanda on Twitter - such a pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic and interesting, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
BRILLIANT BOOK great read .wonderful insight to the world of farming and bringing up a family. Hardworking and loyal to each other and to the animals and land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, written from the heart, 6 May 2014
By 
Mrs. H. C. McCash "brokennail" (Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book, I could not put it down.

Amanda has written from the heart, telling the inspiring story of her life, marriage to Clive and the arrival of there fantasic family.

What an inspiration to us all. I cannot wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On top of the world, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Yorkshire Shepherdess (Hardcover)
I read this book in 2 days - loved reading about Alison and Clive and their growing family in the wolds of Ravenseat. Alison's story shows both the highs and lows of farming and living in such a remote location.
Having seen Alison and Clive both on the Coast to Coast programme with Julia Bradbury and ITV's The Dales series presented by Ade Edmondson I was interested to read more about their lives and adventures.

Definitely a book for fans of the Yorkshire Dales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderfully way for children to grow up. Loved the book found it hard to put down., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book watched the telly program. already recommended to family and friends. would love to visit the farm and family in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Women, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed every page, didn't want it to end, couldn't put it down.it was so interesting, what a full and busy life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Yorkshire Shepherdess
The Yorkshire Shepherdess by Amanda Owen (Hardcover - 10 April 2014)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews