Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essex boy by Kirk norcross
Great book for fans was interesting to hear about Kirk and his life. You get the impression he craves a family of his own to make up for the one he lost when his parents separated. As a mum of two I hope he doesn't rush into having kids with the wrong woman as fatherhood may be disappointing if he does. Let's hope his dreams come true as he seems like a good bloke. His...
Published 15 months ago by SP

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear....
I enjoy TOWIE, but nothing can excuse this badly written book of self indulgence and bad grammar. I wondered when I bought it how someone so young can have enough stories to write a book, and my suspicions were confirmed.... We hear every tiny element of his completely normal and uneventful life (though he does a good job of making his life out to be better than everyone...
Published 13 months ago by Sam Trafford


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essex boy by Kirk norcross, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book for fans was interesting to hear about Kirk and his life. You get the impression he craves a family of his own to make up for the one he lost when his parents separated. As a mum of two I hope he doesn't rush into having kids with the wrong woman as fatherhood may be disappointing if he does. Let's hope his dreams come true as he seems like a good bloke. His dad wasn't there in kirks past but definitely shaped his future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a MUST read for Kirk fans (and haters), 28 April 2013
By 
BookAddictShaun (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Essex Boy: My Story (Hardcover)
I loved this book. I have been a fan of TOWIE from the start and am not ashamed to say I love it, less so after the most recent series which was abysmal, but the previous series had me hooked. I liked Kirk from the very beginning and felt that he was one of the characters that always felt the most real, it didn't seem like he was acting or playing up (much) and I thought he came across fantastically well. The same is true in this book, he is very honest, doesn't hold back and comes across as such a nice person.

I naively thought that Kirk had grew up like most of the TOWIE lot, with a privileged lifestyle and well off parents. Well, the opposite is true. I was shocked to learn that Kirk grew up in a broken home, moving from council house to near homelessness and then onto a hostel. His mum appears to have done everything she could to look after her kids, however his dad didn't seem to help out in the way that you would expect a father to do. Kirk says how he still doesn't understand why his father was like this. One Christmas he says about how they ran out of electricity and gas and how for four days over Christmas they sat in a freezing cold house. He also speaks about growing up in the rough area of Essex, the area that we never see on TOWIE. I'm sure most people just assume Essex is a glamorous place as that's certainly what the show sets out to portray.

Kirk speaks very openly about his childhood and teenage years and about the stuff he got up to as a kid. He was a proper little tearaway but at that age and in that situation there wasn't much else he could have got up to. But underneath it all he comes across as a lovely person. There are some fantastic stories here about him growing up not least the bit about him losing his virginity and how he then became a bit of a nymphomaniac. He also speaks about his anxiety and about how he acted out at school.

And then we reach the point where his dad becomes rich and Kirk at 18 lives the life most teenagers only dream about. To be honest Mick has always came across as a nice genuine person on the show but I don't think there are any untruths in this book, he was definitely making up for lost time by spoiling Kirk rotten. However Kirk isn't and wasn't the spoilt brat that people make him out to be, he then got a job at Sugar Hut on 300 a week plus bonuses and his dad made him work for what he's got today, which is not the impression you might get from watching TOWIE.

He talks about his relationships, one of which was - not a relationship - but occurred with a certain Celebrity Big Brother housemate who is certainly not whiter than white. Obviously this book is all Kirk's side of the story but throughout the whole book I feel he comes across as completely genuine and I believe every word he says. The bits about Amy I was surprised about but not massively so. He gets around a bit does Kirk but he isn't doing it in a nasty or using way, or so he says.

Overall I loved this book, easily one of the best books from the TOWIE lot and Kirk just went up even more in my estimation. Knowing where he came from and where he is today is fantastic, he could have ended up with such a different life. Drugs, prison, death? But instead he has made something of himself but never forgotten where he came from. The bits about his mum were nice too, she is the most important person in his life and he doesn't hold back from admitting that. Kirk might only be 25 but he has a fantastic story to tell and one that I wholeheartedly reccommend that you read. People often criticise or overlook books that are written by celebrities so young but why wait until he is 70 to tell this story? Some older people just write books that are them loving themselves, this book has humour, honesty and emotion by the bucket load. A fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear...., 30 Jun 2013
By 
Sam Trafford (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy TOWIE, but nothing can excuse this badly written book of self indulgence and bad grammar. I wondered when I bought it how someone so young can have enough stories to write a book, and my suspicions were confirmed.... We hear every tiny element of his completely normal and uneventful life (though he does a good job of making his life out to be better than everyone else's!) if you have any self respect do not buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put this book down, a really good read. Full blown honesty and at times i got a little teary reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book! gripping story, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story read this in 2 days! Couldn't put it down! Very interesting reading about how tough kirks life was growing up and before towie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worthing paying full price for, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Glad i didn't pay full price for this, as i found it rather boring, Kirk only thinks of himself im afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't put this down what a life !!!! So many highs and lows good to met the real Kirk :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Kirk and reading about his young life so far was a really interesting read. If your a fan you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good read, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real eye opener good book love the honesty look forward to the next one. Couldn't put it down once I started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for all those Towie fans, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real insight into how life is lived the Towie way, also shows it's not always as easy as it seems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essex Boy: My Story
Essex Boy: My Story by Kirk Norcross (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews